We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moody staff, mediochre food”

Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Thorpe Bay
Price range: US$8 - US$12
Restaurant details
Reviewed 22 June 2018

We had an early dinner, about 4.30pm. The restaurant was fairly empty, but seemed to be void of staff as well. We had to find someone to seat us, and then waited some time for the chef to appear to serve the carvery. He then proceeded to be rude to the woman in front of us. The food was ok, but the new potatoes were rock hard and the roast potatoes weren't very fresh. When we came to pay, we were given our bill and noticed that we had been charged for two meat carvery's, when one had been meat free. We politely told the waitress, who snatched the bill from us, through it across the floor and stalked off to get another bill. She wasn't happy. Doesn't make for a good atmosphere really, does it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Deborah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Thabkyou for your review , could you please contact me at thorpebay@tobycarvery.co.uk with a few details so this can be investigated
Where you were sitting
Date
Waiters and the chef please thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

Been here multiple times with my partner and family and carvery is always fresh and well stocked.

At first we noticed all tables outside were full of empty plates that the seagulls and other birds were thoroughly enjoying (not the best first impression considering how quiet it was). Then two staff members walked directly passed us to leave us standing alone at the bar. We were finally served by a polite barman.

Sarah was our server today. She was friendly, polite and chatty. She welcomed us and gave each and every table the perfect service, always checking back to see if there was anymore she could do for us.

Only advice I would give is for all staff to be as proactive and helpful as Sarah was, but overall a lovely meal. Thanks guys.

Thank Shola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thankyou for your review shola
We arenglad that you enjoyed your meal , and we will discuss your feedback with the team thankyou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We came out for a fathers day meal yesterday evening, we'd booked in advance, I was worried that we might have to wait as I'd booked the last slot, but we were seated straightaway. The waitress was with us within 5 mins to ask what drinks we'd like and checked if any of us were veges. The kids and myself had quorn sausages with the veg/yorkshires and my partner (vegan) went for the veg only option - the veg on the carvery were glazed (butter) so they did him a huge portion of plain veg. My parents had the standard meat carvery and they enjoyed that. Deserts were well presented and the build your own sundae for children a nice touch. The only bugbear would be the fizzy bottomless drinks being the only viable option as the kids just kept downing it and wanting to get more (£2.95 per person, but a can of 7up only 30p cheaper) - would have preferred squash as an option for them. Queuing time at the carvery was minimal and there was a full selection of condiments and gravies available. We didn't get our waitress's name, but she was fantastic, although it was very busy she sorted the drinks and orders quickly and correctly (without writing it down!) and made time to check everything was ok and if we needed anything else, plus we weren't made to feel like we had to rush, which you can't with a 5 year old anyway. We'll definitely return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank southendscooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thankyou for the fantastic review we are so pleased that we could acomidate all your needs , we also serve squash on the refill machine apple and blackcurrent aswell as orange for the kiddies so they can go mad on your next visit
All the best team thorpebay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Visited yesterday for fathers day. Was disappointed by the lack of choice of veg. Also found the boiled potatoe in skin extremely hard. Very hard to cut. Definitely not edible. Atmosphere was good. Reasonably priced.

Thank soniatuppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Thankyou for the review , if at any point you are unhappy with something please feel free to let a member of team know and we will get it corrected for you , unfortunatly the veg that we have on at the moment is what we serve seasonally and will change every month , we hope that you will try us again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Really is the best I have been to.
Food is excellent, the meats are cooked to perfection and the veg is superb. Deserts are wonderful too.

The staff are very good and friendly.

Value for money is excellent.

The breakfast is just as good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Hi david
Great review , we are very happy that you have enjoyed both breakfast and roast , we look forward to seeing you again sson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Toby Carvery Thorpe Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing