We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Superb Hotel "”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Benfleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Superb Hotel "”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

I had my wedding here yesterday 1st September 2011 and I couldn't of asked for more. The staff are very polite and friendly, and very helpful. The food was superb which all of my guests commented on. Everything went to plan , no hiccups, I would definitely recommend this venue for a wedding..................

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    295
    82
    29
    29
See reviews for
298
522
87
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed at the hotel for a wedding reception. Lovely hotel, nicely decorated in rooms and dining area.
Excellent food. Good service at the reception. Poliye staff.
Lovely location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

My husband and I hired The Roslin Beach Hotel for our daughter's wedding on 26th August 2011 and it was the most AMAZING occasion. In fact we can honastly say that it was the best wedding that we have attended, and happily all our guests kept telling us the same thing; verbally and in their Thank You cards.

The venue is ideally situated overlooking the sea and the food can only be described as excellent. Our sincere and very grateful compliments to the chef for a wonderful wedding breakfast and evening buffet; next morning's breakfast was also exceedingly good.

Our gratitude also to Jacqui Harris and the rest of her wonderful staff for such exceptional service, the day progressed perfectly seamlessly and we will remember it for the rest of our days.

We have absolutely no hesitation at all in HIGHLY RECOMMENDING the Roslin, for any occasion, large or small; book, relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are well worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SATG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadleigh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We choose to hold our wedding ceremony and day/ evening reception at the Roslin Beach Hotel mostly because of the stunning views and excellent food. However the service we received from all the staff especially Sarah the in-house Wedding Co-ordinator far exceeded our expectations. The Venue looked fantastic, food was delicious, all staff were friendly, polite, and nothing was too much trouble. The whole day flowed smoothly, making the experience totally enjoyable and stress-free!! To finish off the honeymoon suite was decorated with rose petals and we had champagne on ice waiting - perfect! We would thoroughly recommend having your wedding at the Roslin - it was the icing on the cake!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NXXX1093738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We rang the hotel to book as we were taking out 83 year old mum for an overnighter and wanted adjoing rooms, however as they dont have these we were offered 2 rooms 302 & 303 in the beach house, which had a joint veranda, this suited us very well. (but may not if there are just to of you) The rooms were decorated to a high standard and were very homely. The TV's even had a great picture. The beds were so comfortable, no aching back in the morning. Breakfast was great too, all the buffet hot food was actually hot and fresh too. Only one teenyweeny moan that the shower head in 302 needs a descale which meant the shower was not too warm. The view across to the beach was stunning especially when the sun went down.The resturant was incredible too, the food, the service and the choice of wine were all very good as was the value. Every member of staff we came into contact with had impecable manners and were alway happy to help, especially Georgina. If you want a weekend away from it all this is certainly the place to go. High Recommended by all three of us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keely W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Roslin's perfect location and style make it an obvious choice for us to invite our friends and family from London to share our celebration.
The sound of seagulls, the boats floating on the shimmering sea was a perfect backdrop to the stylish yet comfortable hotel.
We booked 20 bedrooms, and our friends commented on the firmness of the mattresses and the crisp white linen; no complaints. The en-suite bathrooms were sparklingl - a sign of good maintenance.
The party was held in teh banquetting room where tables were elegantly laid with white cloths and napkins, set off with glass towers of orchids and lit from beneath to a myriad of colours, changing during the evening.
The sequence of events was choreagraphed by Sarah, whose eagle eyes ensured that everything went to plan and on time. The food was excellent - no meat or shellfish and even catering for gluten free. Chef had plenty of ideas to satisfy even the most discerning of guests.
A Jazz band really made the party come alive with wonderful music to dance to. No-one could stop their feet tapping.
A special thankyou to the staff at The Roslin who dealt with demanding guests at the reception, to the guys and gals serving us, the bar staff who managed to keep smiles on their faces, politeness in their voices and dealt with the myriad of requests that were asked of them.
Breakfast the next morning with all our friends and family was just a further extension of our Golden Celebration.
Walking along the promenade blew all the cobwebs away. Great place, great party, great weekend at the Roslin.

Room Tip: Ask about ground floor rooms if you have a mobility problem. Otherwise ask for assistance getting u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank romajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I just recently held my 50th Birthday Party at the hotel. I hired the function room and had a sit down meal for 50 people. The whole experience was incredible. The service and the food were faultless. Amy Kelly co-ordinated the event and was an absolute gem with all the help and imput she contributed. Nothing was too much trouble. I can not thank the staff enough for helping me have such a memorable evening.
Many of my guests stayed at the hotel and loved their rooms, as did I. Breakfirst was very good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrMane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing