We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING - Why only 4 star???”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Where to begin.........I was lucky enough to have my wedding reception at the Roslin Beach Hotel on Friday 26th August. The guests, my new wife and myself were very impressed with the decor and clenliness, the views of the sea were sublime and the private function room made this a very private affair. The room was huge and the layout perfect. Art on walls and sculpures dotted around made the whole occasion very warm and welcoming. Private bar with many beers, wines, spirits and ciders made getting drinks easy for all the guests. Several friends and family members stayed the night in various rooms, with compliments the next morning about the views and comfyness of the beds. My wife and I stayed in the honeymoon suite (Mulberry) WOW WOW WOW, this room is without doubt the best hotel room we have ever been lucky enough to stay in, and we regularly staying in 5* hotels, enormous room, flat screen tv, sofa, huge wardrobe and the balconey to the front overlooking the sea, what a way to start the morning!! The bed massive and the bathroom/shower big enough to share. Overall the Roslin Veach Hotel really made our day extra special, we are so pleased we managed to book this venue, what an excellant location, fantastic staff - very helpful and knowledgable for the family members that didn't know the area, oh, and the food, oh my god the food, mouthwatering and amazing, the timelyness (all 80 guests were served together) the portions, the presentation and the taste were all 5* We really couldn't have asked for a better day (and night) Thank you so much to everybody that played a part in our day from the reception area right through to the forgotten people like the cleaners after our party, thank you thank you thank you. Book this venue, you will not be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: If you want a sea view to wake up to then the front of the hotel is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottiec10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review ,

We are happy you chose The Roslin Beach hotel as the venue for your wedding reception
It is a real pleasure to learn you had such a memorable day and that all our staff ensured all the small details and special requirements were covered to make your special day one to remember . I will be sure to pass on your glowing comments to all of the other staff members who contributed to making your wedding all that you dreamed it would be.

It is gratifying to know that we are not only gaining a reputation from the improvements made to the property and our beautiful location, but also from the services and food we provide.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon… perhaps even for a first anniversary celebration.
Your comments and business have been very much appreciated.

kind regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,491 - 1,497 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

We had never been to Southend before, but had to attend a function. We were a little worried, but this hotel is situated in Thorpe Bay - the 'up market' end of Southend. And, what a little gem it is! It is very tastefully decorated in a New England style, with lots of floor boards and wonderful pieces of driftwood, giving a genuine beach house feel.

Our room was extremely spacious - a family room I believe (even though there was only 2 of us) with a sofa and a king sized bed. Extremely comfortable too. The patio doors opened onto a private terrace with bench overlooking the esplanade and sea - fantastic view. The room was beautifully decorated with lovely touches such as beach scene cushions, and home made shortbread left for our arrival. We slept brilliantly, and had no problems with any noise.

Breakfast was excellent - buffet style, but beautifully done - not left to overheat as can be the case in many 5* hotels. Eggs were also cooked to order if requested. Only thing that could have been a little hotter was the tea & coffee - but no real complaints!

We decided to stay in for dinner one night - which was excellent, and the finger food at the function we attended was superb. The staff were lovely and extremely helpful - and never asked us to leave the restaurant or bar area, even if we were the last around! Jacqui, the manageress, is a lovely lady and was always keen to offer help and advice!

We will probably be visiting Southend again at some time in the future, and will definitely be staying at the Roslin again - won't even consider anywhere else!

Thank you to all the staff for making our short stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshinegirl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

On behalf of the whole team I am delighted that you had such a great stay and were thoroughly impressed by our services and quality throughout the hotel .It will be my pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and hope that it will not be in the too distant future
.Kind Regards jacqui Harris Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Although I live close by the Roslin Beach, I've never actually stayed there. A burst water pipe meant I needed to find accommodation for a few days, while the damage was repaired.
They could not have been better in getting a room for me at short notice and at a busy time for them. The rooms are spotless and well equipped, the restaurant food really is very good and fairly priced and the inclusive breakfasts are fine. Nice staff.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter, but ask for a seaview, because the car park at the back is a bit ordinar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcliff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Clean, bright, modern hotel with lovely sea views, delicious food and friendly staff. Just avoid small double rooms - see below.

Room Tip: Luxury doubles are lovely, especially with seaview. Don't go for small double - lack of room spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LizzieDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

We visited the hotel for a wedding reception - food was excellent and very good portion sizes. Function suite is beautifully decorated and staff were welcoming and helpful.

Breakfast the following morning was freshly cooked, plenty of choice and wonderful setting.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms!
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank DGandAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is an excellent venue for a wedding reception. Lovely rooms, beautifully set tables and delicious food.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank JML224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

this our 2nd time staying at this hotel a it just gets better the staff are amazing they are so helpful and polite. As for the hotel well the rooms are great we stayed in the estuary suite nice room big king sized bed lovely bathroom and really powerful shower not like some these brand named hotel that have little shower heads .Now when you get up in the morning and go down for breakfast i hope you are hunger as you will be in for a treat are very large buffet await you and again the staff are great. We have eaten at the hotel 3 times now each time as be a big family gathering as many as 14 persons and the food was great .Plus they do a Sunday lunch to die just to rap it up this is a great hotel to stay at

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#2 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
791 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £77 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing