We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great visit guaranteed every time!”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have just enjoyed our first visit on a Friday night ("Fish Friday"), based on many other great visits at other times, and we certainly weren't disappointed. Their USP is a chilled cabinet in the restaurant displaying all of the freshly caught fish available on the menu that night. This looked fabulously tempting and reassuringly fresh. Our party had the John Dory, Monkfish and Cod; all of which were cooked to perfection and outstanding in their presentation. The starters, desserts and wine were all excellent as well; as was the ambience and service.
Today we returned for Afternoon Tea (for the 3rd time!), confidently bringing different friends and family each time. Its lovely to be recognised now by the friendly, professional, efficient and happy team and this adds to our enjoyment each time. The Afternoon tea is astoundingly good value for money, with all pieces freshly prepared and homemade and traditionallly and elegantly presented. We look forward to attending the New Year's Eve Ball, staying in a suite and have just booked another Fish Friday and Sunday lunch in January! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,475 - 1,481 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Positives: Clean, comfortable and well appointed room. Friendly and helpful staff.
Negatives: Beware of the "discretionary" 10% "service charge" that will be added to your dinner bill. I am more than happy to tip for good service - and the service was excellent - but this arrangement means you have to opt out if you prefer not to pay the "service charge". It is a form of emotional blackmail and says a lot about the mentality of the hotel management. People like that won't be getting any more business from me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johntheboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Arrived Friday 30th Sept 2011, given room 206, very clean & well presented room, even though our view was of the car park.Had evening meal in the hotel ( you will have to book as it is very popular) at first we thought it was a bit pricey till the food arrived. £13.95 for fish & chips but this could have fed 2, excellent value for money.Room sevice & maintenance also good. Only problem we could find was getting into & out of the shower/bath. The side of the bath is very high & if you only have short legs then you will need help getting in & out.The full English beakfast was again well presented, with plenty to go around. If I am back in Southend then i will be booking this hotel. It lives up to being the ONLY 4 star hotel in Southend

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

just spent a great weekend at a civil ceremony arranged and professionally organised by the hotel. the staff are special people, nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are modern and light, the food was excellent and the full english breakfast spot on, plenty of on site parking and great views of the seafront from the rooms, restaurant and bars. well done to everybody for a special weekend.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but if you want a sea view the front of the hotel is the one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed in a seaview room at the end of August [a little while ago and have only just ordered the photos] for a relative's wedding and had a wonderful time.
The wedding reception meal itself has to be the best I have had with service to match and many thanks to the numerous staff waiting on us. The view from the function room [and most of the hotel] over the sea and bobbing boats was the icing on the cake.
I loved the decor of the hotel, in particular the wooden floorboards and driftwood. As we were only there one night we didn't try the restaurant etc but there was a lovely buzz wandering through the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Thank you for making Louise and my dad's wedding so perfect. The food and service was amazing. All the staff worked so hard to make this a special day.
Our family room was a good size with lovely views from our terrace.
A great weekend!
Regards, Claire

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

This is our third visit to the Roslin, we are carers who bring a young lad who has downs syndrome for his respite. We have always been made most welcome with your staff interacting with him, nothing appears too much trouble. On our recent visit earlier this month we would like to say a big thankyou to Becca, your new receptionist, who with a welcoming smile saw to all our needs. In passing we mentioned that a friend had recommended that we visit Hullbridge for a meal, Becca suggested The Anchor as it has a good reputation, with that she kindly printed off the route for us. Just to finish the standard of the food was excellent as usual.

Regards
Anne Franklin and Susan Wade

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

On behalf of the whole team and especially Becca I am delighted that you had such a great stay and were thoroughly impressed by our services and quality throughout the hotel .It will be my pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and hope that it will not be in the too distant future
.Kind Regards jacqui Harris Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,232 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
790 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £76 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing