We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business break with a difference”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This hotel is a very friendly run hotel offering overnight stops to business people and the summer hoilday maker with a perfect place to stay. The rooms are very well appointed, mine had a sea view, wi-fi, usual tea / coffee facilities, excellent touch of hand made shortbread biscuits placed on the bed each day, and more than enough towels, (stay and you will see what I mean)
The hotel offers a really good bar menu and resturant menu with local caught fish and other game. Excellent value as well. This is a place to stay on business if you want a break from the usual "chain" hotels.

Room Tip: You must ask for a sea view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,597)
There are newer reviews for Roslin Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,432 - 1,438 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2011

Stayed here on Saturday night as friends were having their wedding reception here. Reasonable rates and the small double we went for was indeed small, but perfectly formed and well kitted out, lots of plush towels and a lovely new bathroom.
Had a good nights' sleep in the comfortable bed, and breakfast - included in the price - the next morning was excellent.
All I would say is more bar staff on please for Saturday nights. The wait was lengthy.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerryad876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Arriving into Southend On Sea, not knowing what to expect, I was pleasantly surprised. Unfortunately the majority of UK seaside towns are in sad disrepair, not the case for Southend which was fresh and modern but still keeping it’s art deco character.

The hotel is situated about 15/20 minutes walk away from the central area, but is right on the promenade. Having parked in the free car park, I was greeted in the modern reception by friendly staff.

My room was compact (I had booked a standard single room), but was clean and extremely well prepared with: flat screen TV, coffee making, wardrobe, work table and chair, fabulous sea views and compact but workable en-suite. Nice touches such as bespoke toiletries, extra towels and gift wrapped shortbread on the bed added to the welcome.

Negatives where no room safe and no fridge (the latter could be requested).

I had a glass of wine in the bar, comfortable and modern with friendly staff, nice wine selection and fabulous bar food. Not cheap, but why should it be.

Breakfast was served in the modern bar / conservatory area, light airy and welcoming with sea views. It was a hot buffet, I prefer fresh cooked, but it was so well prepared I couldn’t taste the difference.

I had a bad experience of luke warm water for my morning shower (it had worked fine in the evening), but this may of been down to construction work which was being undertaken.

The acid test: yes I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_From_Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We have just enjoyed our first visit on a Friday night ("Fish Friday"), based on many other great visits at other times, and we certainly weren't disappointed. Their USP is a chilled cabinet in the restaurant displaying all of the freshly caught fish available on the menu that night. This looked fabulously tempting and reassuringly fresh. Our party had the John Dory, Monkfish and Cod; all of which were cooked to perfection and outstanding in their presentation. The starters, desserts and wine were all excellent as well; as was the ambience and service.
Today we returned for Afternoon Tea (for the 3rd time!), confidently bringing different friends and family each time. Its lovely to be recognised now by the friendly, professional, efficient and happy team and this adds to our enjoyment each time. The Afternoon tea is astoundingly good value for money, with all pieces freshly prepared and homemade and traditionallly and elegantly presented. We look forward to attending the New Year's Eve Ball, staying in a suite and have just booked another Fish Friday and Sunday lunch in January! Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David503790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Positives: Clean, comfortable and well appointed room. Friendly and helpful staff.
Negatives: Beware of the "discretionary" 10% "service charge" that will be added to your dinner bill. I am more than happy to tip for good service - and the service was excellent - but this arrangement means you have to opt out if you prefer not to pay the "service charge". It is a form of emotional blackmail and says a lot about the mentality of the hotel management. People like that won't be getting any more business from me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johntheboffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Arrived Friday 30th Sept 2011, given room 206, very clean & well presented room, even though our view was of the car park.Had evening meal in the hotel ( you will have to book as it is very popular) at first we thought it was a bit pricey till the food arrived. £13.95 for fish & chips but this could have fed 2, excellent value for money.Room sevice & maintenance also good. Only problem we could find was getting into & out of the shower/bath. The side of the bath is very high & if you only have short legs then you will need help getting in & out.The full English beakfast was again well presented, with plenty to go around. If I am back in Southend then i will be booking this hotel. It lives up to being the ONLY 4 star hotel in Southend

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

just spent a great weekend at a civil ceremony arranged and professionally organised by the hotel. the staff are special people, nothing is too much trouble, the rooms are modern and light, the food was excellent and the full english breakfast spot on, plenty of on site parking and great views of the seafront from the rooms, restaurant and bars. well done to everybody for a special weekend.

Room Tip: all rooms are good but if you want a sea view the front of the hotel is the one
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
778 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £80 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing