We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its accolades”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Over the past few years, the Roslin has been transformed from a traditional, family run, but ultimately ailing hotel, into a lavish, aspiring, and competently run four-star affair. Anyone visiting after several years absence will barely recognise the place, or how it performs.

A weekend lunch on the glass fronted sun terrace provided for some very good food in a very comfortable but absolutely full outdoor restaurant. Although service was a little slow and waiting staff slightly hurried, the end result was a great meal in delightful surroundings which all made for a delightful visit.

Go there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abercorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,602)
There are newer reviews for Roslin Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,332 - 1,338 of 1,602 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My daughter and son-in-law had their wedding reception at the Roslin at the beginning of September. The calibre of the service which we received from all members of staff could not have been better. Amy, the wedding organiser, ensured that the reception ran extremely smoothly, the waiting staff were efficient and attentive, the bar staff were friendly and good humoured and the food was outstanding. We had 95 sitting down to dine and numerous people commented on the marvellous meal. No doubt behind the scenes it was frantic, but to those attending the wedding everything ran like clockwork. We would recommend the Roslin without hesitation. Many thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

Our daughter lives nearby so when we visit it gives us an excuse to stay at the Roslin. Had another great weekend and the weather was kind to us on Saturday whereby we could sit out on terrace. Saturday evening we ate in the restaurant with my daughter and her boyfriend, food was yummy. Service and staff were on top form as usual and the hotel was extremely busy. Room was fab and spotless and brekky really good. Would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I have stayed at the Roslin hotel for a few nights now and I must say the staff are some of the most considerate and conscientious people I have ever had the pleasure to meet.
The food is good, the rooms are ok but everyone must experience the levels of service there. It reminds me of America where you tip heavily but at the roslin they refused my tip and even offered a drink of good will.
I am astonished that this level of personal service can still be had in the UK..
I thank everyone at the roslin for my stay but particularly James (bar man) and Michaela (the floor manager I guess)..
Thank you, I will defiantly stay again. X x

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie1974xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had our wedding at the hotel and it was perfect. The staff were really professional and helpful. The food was excellent. The setting is fantastic and the room was perfect. All clean and tidy. I would recommend this to anyone to get married at this venue or just for a meal. We will have very special memories from our perfect day. Thanks to all the staff at the Roslin especially Jacqui and Amy. From Julie and John

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

when we checked in we were informed we had been upgraded to a larger room with a balcony. we thought that was very generous of them. What they didn't mention was you shared it with the room next door!
The room was located in the house next door.thank goodness it wasn't raining.Once we found the room (up two flights of stairs) we could not unlock the door. The staff and other guest said they all had the same problem. Why not change the locks
The room was OK. the layout of the bathroom with the glass shower screen on the edge of the bath and the position of the toilet made it difficult to get in and out of the shower.
The breakfast was a buffet with a wide range of choices..But the food was cold.Such a shame as it was a lovely dining room

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharlieD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,221 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
629 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#3 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#5 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
779 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#13 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
310 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Gleneagles Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £79 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing