We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday lunch treat”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch treat”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

First visit to the Roslin and very impressed. Good choice and the food was excellent. This was complimented by the service. We will return and may stay at the hotel for a short break. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nostir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    324
    85
    30
    33
See reviews for
332
570
95
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This hotel is right on the sea front and it is worth paying extra for a sea view, courtyard rooms seem to look onto the car park. It is some way from amenities in Southend but if you want peace and quite with everything a little way away, this hotel is ideal. The room I stayed in was an executive sea view and it was beautifully decorated with a seating area and balcony. You could even sit up in bed and look at the sea. The breakfast buffet was very good, hot and fresh with plenty of choice, but the evening meal varied from an excellent steak to a poor cod and chips. Unlike many other nearby 4* hotels, the parking is free and there seemed to be plenty of spaces.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katykang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I was in the area to give a speech and so was rather uptight. I was soothed and treated with such consdieration. Fantastic room, great restaurant and such incredibly helpful staff. A definitie destiatnion if you want to be spoilt and treated like a queen.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melanie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, we could not fault it in any way. Our room was beautiful and spotlessly clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was of extremely excellent quality. I would definitely recommend this hotel 100%, shame we was only there one night. Will hopefully return in the future :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Hotel is a bit out of town. Good free parking. Hotel is well maintained and the food in the restaurant was very good as was the service. My room was small as was the bathroom. Would stay here again, hotel is right on the seafront.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
Many thanks for taking the time and leaving a review on the Hotel. .
I am very glad that we met your expectations and you enjoyed both the hotel and the food in our beautiful restaurant.
We do offer a wide range of rooms from our small doubles to large executive rooms and suites, and are constantly upgrading rooms to the highest standards.
Once again thank you for your positive comments
Kind Regards
Jacqui Harris, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collier Row
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My Wife and I spent an exellcent evening celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniversry.
All the Staff were so attentive without crowding us.
Our meal was 1st class from a great menu.
I can recommend the Roslin and will be sure to stayover on our next Anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
On behalf of the entire team , i would like to thank you for writing such a positive review. We are very passionate about about our guest experiences at The Roslin Beach and always strive to ensure the highest level of service is provided. Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary and we look forward to looking after you again soon
Kind Regards
Jacqui Harris, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Although I have not stayed at this hotel, the first point of contact is the person answering the telephone at reception, and if they are uninterested and rude then that says it all to me........I will continue to book somewhere else; thank you very much, manners cost nothing and it is the first impression that counts.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank sparkledeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
I would like to thank you for leaving this review, although i believe you must have posted it to the wrong hotel. I can assure you that all our receptionists are extremeley polite, courteous and passionate about the sevice they provide at the hotel. We have just recently won an award for Outstanding Customer Service of which we are very proud.
If you would like to call me directly on 01702 586375 i would be more than happy to speak with you

Kind Regards,
Jacqui Harris , Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#13 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
298 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing