We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Civil Partnership Kevin Sivell-Derbyshire”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Civil Partnership Kevin Sivell-Derbyshire”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We Booked the Roslin for our Civil Parnership on th 28 November with just 6 weeks notice ,Not that it was a shot gun wedding its just that i waited 30 years and could,nt wait another day.Having met The Wedding Planner Amy and The M.D Jacqui we were re- assured and left it all down to them .we also had the mulberry suite to get ready in and that done away with having to book a Benltey continential so a ,£900.00 saving .The whole day was perfect and very professional and not to mention Value for money . It was seamless through the transitions from the ceromony to the welcome drinks ,and to the sit down and to the evening buffet &Dicso It was amazing experience like the first time i went to Disneyland (magical),The Food was excellent and the friendly staff very professional making it the perfect day at a perfect venue, we felt like celeberities. we are even getting thankyou cards from the wedding guest saying how amazing it was and the best wedding they had been too even better than their own son/daughters one (Should have gone to the Roslin )Truley a wonderful experience ..... thank-you so much xxxx

Room Tip: Book a suite looking over the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Kevin and Terry,
Thank you so much for leaving such an extensive review . I am so delighted that we helped to make your day perfect, it is not hard when dealing with such lovely people. Amy and the rest of my team are so proud and passionate about the hotel and always want to ensure that our guests have the best service and food possible.
On behalf of the whole team at The Roslin Beach Hotel, congratulations and we wish you a long and happy life together
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    324
    85
    30
    33
See reviews for
332
569
95
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We occupied three rooms for two weeks. Rooms were comfortable and clean.The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The restuarant was truly first class.The staff are all so friendly and willing to help and assist. We felt nothing was too much trouble for them. Not a cheap place to stay but highly recommended. We have nothing but good things to say about this hotel. Well done, keep it up. If you want a good quality hotel with friendly, eager to please staff give the Roslin Beach a try..you wont be disapointed.

Room Tip: Take a room with a sea view. However expect to here traffic noise, The road is quite busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I would like to thank you for leaving such a glowing review on the hotel. We are a team of passionate individuals , committed to guest satisfaction and well-being. I am delighted that your overall expectations were exceeded and that you were very happy with the level of service, food and beverage offerings and accommodation .
I am very happy that have been able to move back to your house but hope that you will continue to visit us
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

I run a Lunch Club and today 30 of us had afternoon tea at this hotel. It was a great experience that we all enjoyed. The tea itself was delicious and plentiful, the tables laden with warm quiches, sandwiches, scones with cream and jam, cakes and mince pies. So much indeed, that we couldn't eat it all. The staff were helpful and cheery and the price, at £14.95, very good value and came, today, with a glorious view of the sun setting, all thrown in for nothing.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and leaving such a positive review. I am so glad that you brought your party to the Roslin for our wonderful Afternoon Tea and that we exceeded your expectations. We also serve fantastic lunches and dinners and I would be happy to arrange a menu for your group if you wish to visit us again.
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and what a wonderful experience it was.The room was stunning , the breakfast was exceptional and that is coming from my family and a husband who is extremely fussy about good food . The warmth and Xmas decorations making the atmosphere extremely inviting infact we all said how we would have loved too spend Xmas there it was wonderful . Would definitely stay there again it was a lovely experience and also spotlessly clean which was a must when away from home .

Room Tip: Our room was a corner suite it was quiet and very bright .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, General Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Many thanks for leaving such a lovely review , I am so glad that you all had a great time celebrating a 40th Birthday. We are very proud of our fantastic Christmas decorations and believe they are probably the best in Essex. I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Back in July we had booked an executive double here, in order to meet up with friends in Southend on way to a "do" in Maldon. 24 hours before arrival we were advised that "our" room had been flooded, and we were offered a tiny room in a nearby B&B - take it or leave it. (We later discovered that we could have found far better by phoning around.) Anyway, these things happen: after we made a fuss, the Roslin Beach promised us a free upgrade and bottle of wine when we next visited. This was our first opportunity to do so: with a bit of prodding, they were as good as their word (thanks Jacqui) and we had a very pleasant stay. Even in November, eating in the dining room is a very enjoyable experience.
Our friends, who know Southend backwards, suggested dinner here, rather than a restaurant nearer them: have to say the dinner was absolutely superb, for each of us: my wife's steak (she says one of the tenderest she's ever eaten), my sea bream excellent, and trad fish'n'chips cooked to perfection. A good wine list, and full marks also to the bar staff: some brilliant cocktails. We'll definitely return (hoping that room won't flood...)
Room well-equipped and impeccably clean. Staff mostly very helpful and friendly. Free car park a bonus.

Room Tip: For couples, the small rooms are best avoided. Worth paying a premium for an executive sea-facing, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear John,
I am very happy that you gave us the opportunity to show you what a fantastic hotel we have . We have indeed gained a very good reputation for our restaurant and I am very glad that we lived up to our reputation and you thoroughly enjoyed your dinner.
I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future and I would be happy to arrange the booking personally for you
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just returned from our second visit and had a great time . My wife loves a good room and it meets all her expectations. We had the Sunday special and it is truly amazing value £99 with Sunday lunch or money towards the evening al la carte menu. The first time we visited we had the Sunday lunch which was excellent. staff very friendly and could not do enough for us, we will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: For an extra £10 we had rooms 117 and 118 with as sea view which was n ice to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dicky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave such a great review. The Sunday Special that we do is fantastic value for money and I am glad you upgrade into one of our lovely king-size sea view rooms. Our Sunday lunch is renown locally and I am delighted that you enjoyed not only the food but our great service.
I hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
517 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#13 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
298 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing