We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect way to enjoy New Year's Eve” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“The perfect way to enjoy New Year's Eve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The weather may have been horrible but everything else about our two-day stay at The Roslin over New Year was wonderful. The biggest asset this hotel has is its staff - friendly, professional, helpful and going that extra mile to ensure that guests have a great time.

The New Year's Eve Gala Dinner was not only well organised but thoroughly enjoyable from the champagne reception, through a superb four course meal (and as someone else commented - the tastiest fillet steak I have eaten) to great entertainment. It was one evening that we didn't want to end - everyone )staff and guests) really entered the spirit of the occasion.

Not a cheap stay but you get what you pay for - so highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    284
    79
    28
    29
See reviews for
279
503
76
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Roslin Beach Hotel for 4 nights after myself and my family were left homeless after a fire at our family home. The Roslin staff did everything possible to make us feel comfortable and relaxed. Jackie (the manageress) and her team were first class in their approach , nothing being too much trouble. We were upgraded on arrival , and our smoke damaged clothes were dealt with immediately. The food was first class and we left for our new property totally relaxed and rested as a family. Thankyou so much! Alex and Sam K and Family.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aknight5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Alex , sincere thanks for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay. I am so glad that we could help you even if only in a small way to get over the devastation of your house fire . We always try to go the extra mile and exceed our guests expectations. On behalf of my entire team we wish both you and your family well and hope some normality can return soon
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed for a Sunday special, it excelled our expectations. We got upgraded to a executive room at no extra cost, which was lovely. Sunday lunch and breakfast were delicious and plentiful, room was large and clean. The staff were very helpful and attentive. Would recommend The Roslin Hotel in Southend to anyone.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the sea, lovely views, make sure you book for Sunday lunch it gets very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElM0C0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Many thanks for leaving a review regarding your recent stay with us. Our Sunday Specials have proved so popular as the represent such fantastic value for money. I am so glad that had such a good time and enjoyed both the food and the accommodation at The Roslin.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

My partner and I turned up ad hoc at the Roslin yesterday.
The receptionist, Lyndsey, was so welcoming and helpful it made the stress of a long rainy journey fade away very quickly.
The room had a great sea view and a balcony, and it was fantastic to watch the crazy weather of a windy January day from the comfort of a luxurious huge bed.
Room service was fast and the cod and chunky chips (we loved that it was served with traditional chip shop sides) couldn't have been better!
Unfortunately we have 24 hour stressful jobs and were called away to work so missed the breakfast we were so looking forward to.
I would highly recommend a stay here and Steve and I will be back, we promised ourselves the treat!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TaraMcDo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a glowing review. Lyndsey along with the rest of my team are passionate about The Roslin and the service we provide. I am so glad you loved your executive room and hope that next time you visit you will be able to enjoy the balcony in some sunshine and hopefully stay long enough to enjoy the breakfast.
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Due to work commitments at a nearby Governmental Site, myself three engineers from Japan and one, sometimes two additional UK engineers arranged staying at the Roslin Hotel - couldn't have arranged a better hotel and the staff were very good - amending my own hotel reservation almost each week (sorry girls) due to other work arrangements.

The breakfasts were universally acknowledged to be in a class of their own and just what we need each morning, before we struggled to the outside - pity the weather wasn't better in October/November but the view from "our" breakfast table over the Estuary was a real wake-up each day, especially when the sun shone through!

Just booked again for three days in late January, now where's the Factor 25 sun cream?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Edward, I would like to thank you for writing such a lovely review regarding you long stay with us. On behalf of the entire team I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were thoroughly impressed with our services.
we look forward to welcoming you back at the end of January
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Roslin is ideal, have been going there for years even before it was taken over! Wayne and his team - Ben, Jonathan, Angie and Malcolm are a real asset! Jacky - please get the male staff to wear shirts that fit at the collar, they look awful, ditto for the ladies who need blouses that fit, so that they don't look as if they are going to burst out at any moment! Aprons need to be just that, and not mini pelmets - just above the knee?

Room Tip: Don't stay at the rear of the hotel, or over the kitchen or by the function room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Stephen, many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on the hotel. I am very glad that you continue to come to The Roslin and have experienced the great changes we have made since taking over the hotel. We are constantly updating our uniforms and in fact all staff have received new shirts this week.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Roslin in the near future.
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

A place we visit for special occasions or when we need to spoil ourselves. Lunch time offers are good value and the food is equally wonderful. Staff always helpful, atmosphere is good and the views over the estuary are at times breath taking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian and Cas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jh123Southend, Manager at Roslin Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Ian and Cas ,
Sincere thanks for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. I am so glad that enjoy both the food and the atmosphere at The Roslin. We have just launched our New A La Carte menu along with our fantastic winter warmer menu which changes daily . I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future .
Kind Regards Jacqui Harris Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing