We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dave & Karen Oxford "Fantastic"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dave & Karen Oxford "Fantastic"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We booked late and when we arrived the staff where friendly and so helpful, checking in & out so easy. Hotel was so clean from top to bottom. The bar and restaurant well worth a visit, food delicious with fabulous views. went down for breakfast in the morning and again food was superb.
My wife and I will be changing are wedding anniversary plans to come back. "BIG THANKYOU" to Jackie and all the staff at the hotel. see you all soon...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    959
    291
    82
    29
    29
See reviews for
289
511
82
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while visiting a sick relative.
The hotel is superb, clean,comfortable with friendly and efficient staff.
A special mention to Lindsey on reception who's friendly and efficient manner made check in a pleasure.
Well worth a visit.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bcf_lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Celebrated my 40th birthday yesterday at this wonderful hotel. Staff were friendly and all keen to wish me a very happy birthday. Had a free upgrade to a kingsize room with a sea view which was a birthday bonus! Friends all joined me last night for a superb 3 course meal and breakfast this morning was equally as good and much needed after last night's wine consumption! We may only live a few miles away but we love the fact we were home in 20 minutes and wonder why travel further than you need to for a relaxing night away. Thank you staff at the Roslin for making my birthday extra special. We will be back soon :-)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southend-lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is probably the best hotel I've stayed in within the UK. The hotel is immaculate, the bed comfortable, linen crisp, towels fluffy and staff efficient and friendly but not overly gushing. Food was delicious - can thoroughly recommend the oriental pork ribs and service timely. I stayed in room 103 that over looked the sea and with such beautiful weather this weekend and a need to get away from the stresses of the week I was spoiled! Unfortunately I had a really noisy family next door on my second day but after talking to the staff I was quickly moved (my choice). I decided to stay another day I liked it so much. Breakfast was superb and a lovely walk along the Esplanade helped to work off some of the calories! This would be a lovely hotel for families as the beach is literally a stones throw away. I will definitely return.

Room Tip: Sea view room was room 103 but it faces quite a busy road so if you are a light sleeper it may be be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Roslin to celebrate our fathers birthday, we stayed in a family room which was lovely clean and spacious with lovely comfy beds, (sofa bed for the children) and a large shower room.
Staff were welcoming and friendly.
The hotel has a perfect relaxed feel to it.
There was only one criticism, at dinner we waited far too long for the meals, so long that the younger children fell asleep before getting theirs we asked for the children's meals to arrive along with our starters but it was over an hour before we received these and too long for them to wait.
We did mention this and they explained they were short staffed.
The whole weekend was great and will be returning

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank danilees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

A spontaneous trip to the casino on a Saturday night mean't we wouldn't have wanted to drive home to East London after a few drinks, I decided to check out hotels nearby. The Roslin struck me as on comparison websites it was the same as the Premier inn but looked a lot more welcoming and generally more homely. The Roslin's parking also appealed to me, as it is on site and free.
I called the hotel directly rather than book through a website and the guy on the phone said he could upgrade me to a superior room for the same price as the comparison website- Result!
We arrived late into the evening on Saturday to check in and get a taxi to the casino (too far to walk in heels and at £7 you can't go wrong). The restaurant looked busy although we didn't dine there.
The room was lovely, on the ground floor and had doors to a patio and garden area. Big bed with a table to do make up, wardrobe and tea making facilities. The bed was comfortable but I would say that it was difficult to pull the chair round to sit at the table and do my make up, you could not get past and instead would have to jump over the bed. The bathroom is a little small and the extractor is not fantastic if you want a really hot shower like us! Although it was very clean and there were some lovely Elemis products to use.
The only thing about the cleaner- she clearly missed someone elses sock underneath the chair in the corner, not a problem and quite amusing. A little more attention to detail needed possibly.
We were too hungover for breakfast but it did look lovely, the staff were great check out was no problem at all and we could leave our car in the car park that morning and walk down to the pier.
Would stay here again definitely.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelgirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

From checking in,bar,dining,staff were all excellent.Linen,towels,bed,excellent.Sea view room,great.Cant wait to go back and hope to try the spa.Loved it.Gale force winds so couldn't use our balcony but would choose balcony room again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing