We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We staying hear staff and acomadation excellent. clean.posh.sea views air conditioning. restaurant excellent.service freindly.good prices.breakfast ***** and this is good dog freindly .outside eating and Smokeing area .dog freindly is a bonus ***** hotel .Southend town shops shops shops and more shops laces to eat to take a dog large town

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    964
    292
    82
    29
    29
See reviews for
290
515
82
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Mainly go this hotel in the summer, but had tickets fora show nearby so thought we would visit for late lunch. We sat outside on the terrace but as it was slightly chilly the patio heaters were put on.
The view is lovely from there and is always seems so peaceful and serene.
The food which is always lovely and quite good value, was very slow in coming out and when we questioned this, were told by our very nice and pleasant young waiter that there had been a mess up in the kitchen and one of our main meals had been spoiled, so they were doing the whole lot again. When it finally did come out the three other main meals had obviously not been done again just maybe placed on a hotplate, so they were lukewarm. We were starving by now so my husband and I did not send ours back, and despite of being cold they were still delicious.
However my friend sent hers back to be redone and when it returned we could see had just been heated in a microwave. I had a quite polite word with the restaurant manager, who could not apologise enough and gave us deserts and coffee on the house. Despite of this hiccup will still be going back there, as the food service and ambiance are too good not to, and in all our visits this has never happened before.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had our wedding reception at the hotel and from start the finish the hotel worked tirelessly to meet our needs, we required halal meat- sourcing it and providing it was no problem for them. They assisted with all areas of the wedding through their links in the town with local business' and over saw the entire days events perfectly- it was a truly a stress free day! The hotel has an event manager who was meticulous and through in her work.

The hotel manager made us feel more like friends and guests and was accommodating and was there from start to finish.

The rooms were beautiful and the food served was outstanding. The hotel offered sea views, great hospitality and an experience to remember- on all counts, the Roslin Beach Hotel delivered!

My new husband and I cannot speak more highly about its staff, management and facilities.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shireen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Beautiful place to stay. It is very clean and well presented with a fabulous view from our room. Bed very comfy and large. Will definitely like to return. It is best to have a sea front room as it is a lovely view to wake up to.

Room Tip: We had a larger room and it was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays, Essex, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at the Roslin Beach hotel to celebrate our wedding last Friday 11th. The Receptionists were fantastic, extremely professional, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel very welcome. The bedrooms were fantastic, offering every mod con and was extremely clean and comfortable. We booked the hotel last year to celebrate our wedding and chose the hotel because of the wonderful sea views from the restaurant - we were not disappointed. Jorge, the manager, ensured our party of 12 were given an excellent table by the window and decorated the table with all our wedding decorations. The food was outstanding, as was the service in the restaurant and bar. The staff were friendly and extremely professional. We choose the hotel because of the excellent reviews and have yet to find a negative one, even the taxi drivers raved about how lovely the hotel was, saying it is the best hotel in the South East, not just Southend ! We would like to say a special thanks to Jacqui and Jorge for making our stay so memorable. The service at this hotel is second to none and we now know why they have so many happy guests who are regular visitors, everyone we spoke to couldn't praise the hotel and especially the staff enough. We would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so special and a time we will never forget. We are already planning our next visit !! If you want to stay at a fantastic hotel, with brilliant service and lovely sea views, you cannot do better than the Roslin Beach hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

From check in to check out all the staff we encountered were really friendly. We had two rooms booked for one night and the rooms were clean and modern and very comfortable. We ate in the restaurant and the food was superb. Breakfast also plentiful and beautifully presented. Would definitely recommend and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We live locally to the hotel and often pop in for a bite to eat from the Terrace menu. The food is always well cooked and beautifully presented. We have even popped in for breakfast for a treat and again, the food was superb. A particular favourite is the fish and chips which is always fresh and delicious. Desserts are just that little bit different and again, beautifully presented.

The staff are always welcoming and attentive, but not intrusively so. We also booked the Roslin for special family occasions - nothing has been too much trouble and we have not been disappointed. We have been so impressed that we have booked a family wedding for next year. The Roslin has definitely found a niche in the market - great for that little bit of luxury but not at West End prices!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmondEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing