We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lunch at the Roslin Beach Hotel”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I took our son and his girlfriend to this restaurant this week and we had a wonderful lunch served by very friendly and professional staff. The food that the chef produced was amazing. Each one of us had a different meal and every plate was exceptional. This is the second time we have been to this hotel for a meal and each time we have left feeling that we have had a fantastic experience. We have already recommended this venue to several of our friends and really look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,683)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,119 - 1,125 of 1,682 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

My sister and I had a lovely 24 hours! We were on a short overnight pamper break at £99 per person. On arrival our room was changed from a standard double to an deluxe, sea-facing, double on the 2nd floor and we were allowed to check in early (11:30 am). We were told that the shower had been reported as faulty but this was not an issue for us as we both liked having a bath.

We had a light-lunch as part of the package which should have been a sandwich in the bar area but we went to the restaurant and had two starters each instead!!! We were charged he difference in prices which we were happy with. Our spa treatment was good. My sister's therapist seemed to be more experienced than the one I had. However, we both enjoyed the Exotic Coconut Rub & Milk Ritual Wrap. We paid an extra £16 each to upgrade our treatments. Again, we were both happy to do so. The only issue with the Roslin Retreat is that if there are two clients who need the shower at the same time, it is difficult. The shower was in one of the treatment rooms. We did not mind as we are sisters but this could be embarrassing if you did not know the other person. However, we were told that there are plans to extend and up-date the retreat facilities. This would be a great bonus.

All the staff were very approachable and friendly. The food was excellent as we also had our evening meal in the restaurant (the Skate wing and Blackened Miso Cod were scrummy). We chose from the A La Carte menu and paid the difference in prices from the spa package allowance (£15 per person). The hotel was very clean and our room was great. The toilet cistern did seem to make a lot of noise through the night but after a bottle of wine we did manage to sleep well. It was warm in the room. The view over the estuary was definitely worth the upgrade - even though we did not pay for this! The terrace was open today but we did not have time for a coffee before we drove home. There are patio heaters which is great for those chilly, breezy, spring days. Loved the free and easy access to their WI-FI. We did not have time either to spend time in the gym but we did pop our head in to check it out. Looked OK but quite small. No-one in there this morning.

The bar and restaurant was busy throughout our stay. In fact, the hotel seemed to be very busy. I am sure this must be a favourite location for weddings or celebrations. Breakfast was a buffet style, help yourself affair. They will cook you fried or poached eggs if you ask for them. It was good.

Southend town and shops are a good walk away - we took the car and parked on the front. No problem for this time of year. We also walked along the beach this morning towards Shoeburyness. Lovely.

We both want to go again and cannot wait until our next visit. However, I feel that as a personal choice I would not want to be staying here in the height of summer - out-of-season seems to be a good time to go. Quieter!

A huge "thank you" to the staff for this upgrade and for such a wonderful break. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a wedding party.
I will start with the positives first:-
Had lunch and drinks on the terrace which was lovely, the heaters made a real difference as the wind was rather chilly. We also had drinks in the bar in the evening, although not cheap (usual hotel prices) the staff were really friendly and helpful. The night we returned after the wedding, well gone midnight the hotel looked closed, no lights on, however as soon as they saw the large party turn-up (approx. 40 of us) they opened the bar for us and it stayed open until 5.30am!!
Now the negatives: - the room! We paid £110 a night for a room that looked out the car park, yet others paid the same price for a sea view! The room was also very small, there was a wardrobe but draw space was lacking. The bathroom was really small, and the shower you could barely turn around in - although it was very clean. The room was boiling but I didn't feel comfortable having the window open as we were ground floor and by the car park, but the worst thing was the lack of soundproofing! If rooms around us turned on their bathroom lights I could hear the extractor fans, at one point I thought we had water leaking in the room, but it must of been someone's water running out the shower, but the noise was so loud! I sat to blow dry my hair and realized that I couldn't see myself in the mirror as it was far too high - things like this really annoy me with hotels.
The hotel has some good points and was really busy for lunch and I can see why, but the rooms really need some attention to enable people to have a good night sleep! Also I think the prices should be different for sea and car park views......

Room Tip: try to get a room on the first/second floor as you will have more chance of a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatalieBaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We staying hear staff and acomadation excellent. clean.posh.sea views air conditioning. restaurant excellent.service freindly.good prices.breakfast ***** and this is good dog freindly .outside eating and Smokeing area .dog freindly is a bonus ***** hotel .Southend town shops shops shops and more shops laces to eat to take a dog large town

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Mainly go this hotel in the summer, but had tickets fora show nearby so thought we would visit for late lunch. We sat outside on the terrace but as it was slightly chilly the patio heaters were put on.
The view is lovely from there and is always seems so peaceful and serene.
The food which is always lovely and quite good value, was very slow in coming out and when we questioned this, were told by our very nice and pleasant young waiter that there had been a mess up in the kitchen and one of our main meals had been spoiled, so they were doing the whole lot again. When it finally did come out the three other main meals had obviously not been done again just maybe placed on a hotplate, so they were lukewarm. We were starving by now so my husband and I did not send ours back, and despite of being cold they were still delicious.
However my friend sent hers back to be redone and when it returned we could see had just been heated in a microwave. I had a quite polite word with the restaurant manager, who could not apologise enough and gave us deserts and coffee on the house. Despite of this hiccup will still be going back there, as the food service and ambiance are too good not to, and in all our visits this has never happened before.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We had our wedding reception at the hotel and from start the finish the hotel worked tirelessly to meet our needs, we required halal meat- sourcing it and providing it was no problem for them. They assisted with all areas of the wedding through their links in the town with local business' and over saw the entire days events perfectly- it was a truly a stress free day! The hotel has an event manager who was meticulous and through in her work.

The hotel manager made us feel more like friends and guests and was accommodating and was there from start to finish.

The rooms were beautiful and the food served was outstanding. The hotel offered sea views, great hospitality and an experience to remember- on all counts, the Roslin Beach Hotel delivered!

My new husband and I cannot speak more highly about its staff, management and facilities.

Room Tip: Sea views are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shireen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Beautiful place to stay. It is very clean and well presented with a fabulous view from our room. Bed very comfy and large. Will definitely like to return. It is best to have a sea front room as it is a lovely view to wake up to.

Room Tip: We had a larger room and it was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
653 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
804 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Southend on Sea
Travelodge Southend on Sea
#14 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
321 reviews
20.1 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £76 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing