We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Quality (at 4 star prices)”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Although we are a couple we stayed in a family room with a sea view, bed settee and balcony. The room had a bay window which gave us a good sized sitting area. The bed was very comfortable and had a sprung base which is unusual in hotels (WHY?!!!). It was also 6 foot wide which is less intimate than 5 foot king size. We prefer King size.
2 small problems:
1. one small wardrobe in a family room
2. the wooden blinds were HEAVY particularly the one covering the door to the balcony. This makes the balcony a bit superfluous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealist999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,710)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,142 - 1,148 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

The staff were really friendly and helpful. They really made me and my young son feel at home and we left very happy indeed. The reason for four stars rather than five was that it's maybe a wee bit on the pricey side, but as for quality it was great. Many thanks to all.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Ian68372728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I recently returned to the Roslin for 9 days having stayed there for 3 weeks last summer. It was just as good as before. My room had great sea views, the food was excellent but most of all the staff were superb, particularly the Managing Director. Nothing was too much trouble and I am planning to return this summer.
Jessie

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My daughter and I took advantage of the spa package which included overnight stay, breakfast, light lunch and evening meal plus a 30 min treatment. and really made a special weekend of it. The reception staff made us feel welcome from the minute we arrived.We changed some of our booking times around, and nothing was a problem for them The Staff in the spa were so approachable and extremely helpful in tailoring the treatments to meet our needs. The room was excellent, The restaurant was first rate, food great. The restaurant staff were fantastic and couldn't do enought for us. and all of the staff were friendly, approachable and very caring. The bar area has a lovely atmosphere,feel so relaxed sitting there.
The hotel was extremely busy but we were made to feel special at all times and nothing was to much trouble. The treatments were very good too.We alse met Jackqui the Managing Director she was amazing can see why she is doing that job.Well done to all at the Roslin you should be so proud. What a great weekend. can't wait to go back.Thank you Patricia and Michelle.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59PGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed here for one night this weekend in a sea view exec suite. It was so clean and spacious, and we had our own private patio, which was a lovely extra touch.

Check in was smooth and seamless, the staff were really friendly and helpful and we were in our room in a few minutes. The bathroom was huge, with an array of Elemis toiletries and lots of fluffy white towels, and bathrobes!! We had a really comfy bed which would have fitted three, and a generous tray of tea, coffee and other hot drinks.

Dinner was amazing. Everything we ate and drank was perfect and the service was attentive without being in your face. I thought the prices were reasonable for the quality. The dining room was beautiful, in fact, the decor throughout the hotel is all classy and understated.

Breakfast was even better. A hot buffet with drinks and toast brought to the table, pastries, gigantic muffins and fruit. I was amazed that everything on the buffet was piping hot, which is often not the case with buffets.

Having vowed never to eat again, we left happy and content at the quality and service in this gem of a place. I couldn't fault it so if you ever need a hotel in Southend, look no further.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EnglandFrequentflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I took our son and his girlfriend to this restaurant this week and we had a wonderful lunch served by very friendly and professional staff. The food that the chef produced was amazing. Each one of us had a different meal and every plate was exceptional. This is the second time we have been to this hotel for a meal and each time we have left feeling that we have had a fantastic experience. We have already recommended this venue to several of our friends and really look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My sister and I had a lovely 24 hours! We were on a short overnight pamper break at £99 per person. On arrival our room was changed from a standard double to an deluxe, sea-facing, double on the 2nd floor and we were allowed to check in early (11:30 am). We were told that the shower had been reported as faulty but this was not an issue for us as we both liked having a bath.

We had a light-lunch as part of the package which should have been a sandwich in the bar area but we went to the restaurant and had two starters each instead!!! We were charged he difference in prices which we were happy with. Our spa treatment was good. My sister's therapist seemed to be more experienced than the one I had. However, we both enjoyed the Exotic Coconut Rub & Milk Ritual Wrap. We paid an extra £16 each to upgrade our treatments. Again, we were both happy to do so. The only issue with the Roslin Retreat is that if there are two clients who need the shower at the same time, it is difficult. The shower was in one of the treatment rooms. We did not mind as we are sisters but this could be embarrassing if you did not know the other person. However, we were told that there are plans to extend and up-date the retreat facilities. This would be a great bonus.

All the staff were very approachable and friendly. The food was excellent as we also had our evening meal in the restaurant (the Skate wing and Blackened Miso Cod were scrummy). We chose from the A La Carte menu and paid the difference in prices from the spa package allowance (£15 per person). The hotel was very clean and our room was great. The toilet cistern did seem to make a lot of noise through the night but after a bottle of wine we did manage to sleep well. It was warm in the room. The view over the estuary was definitely worth the upgrade - even though we did not pay for this! The terrace was open today but we did not have time for a coffee before we drove home. There are patio heaters which is great for those chilly, breezy, spring days. Loved the free and easy access to their WI-FI. We did not have time either to spend time in the gym but we did pop our head in to check it out. Looked OK but quite small. No-one in there this morning.

The bar and restaurant was busy throughout our stay. In fact, the hotel seemed to be very busy. I am sure this must be a favourite location for weddings or celebrations. Breakfast was a buffet style, help yourself affair. They will cook you fried or poached eggs if you ask for them. It was good.

Southend town and shops are a good walk away - we took the car and parked on the front. No problem for this time of year. We also walked along the beach this morning towards Shoeburyness. Lovely.

We both want to go again and cannot wait until our next visit. However, I feel that as a personal choice I would not want to be staying here in the height of summer - out-of-season seems to be a good time to go. Quieter!

A huge "thank you" to the staff for this upgrade and for such a wonderful break. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Sea-facing rooms would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,264 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
21.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £72 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing