We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel!”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I'm a bit late reviewing this as we stayed at the end of November 2013!
Having dined at the restaurant several times and loving it, my husband booked an overnight stay to celebrate our anniversary along with a massage for us both.
We arrived to see that the Christmas decorations were up - I love the way they decorate the hotel and restaurant, so was pleased to see the decs!
Our room was on the ground floor located by the spa and was lovely. Sort of modern New England style and the bathroom was fab. Huge bath with powerful shower and complimentary Elemis toiletries.
I particularly liked the room as it had french doors which led onto its own little terrace area(facing the car park but screened by a well landscaped courtyard area). My only gripe about the room would be that there was obviously a service alley beside it and it could be a little noisy at certain times
After checking in we had a couple of hours in the room just relaxing before walking the 10 yards to the spa for our massage!The therapists were welcoming and not too chatty and the massage was lovely.
We were booked in for dinner and, as usual, it didn't disappoint. Always enjoy the evening menu here.
The breakfast the next day was unfortunately not so good. The dining room was extremely busy and we had to wait for a table. The cooked breakfast was a little underwhelming and we had to wait for several items.
My husband booked me a facial after breakfast as a surprise and Florian, the receptionist, was lovely and changed our check out time to accommodate this.
Again my therapist was good and I had a really lovely facial.
Although not entirely perfect (is anything?!) we had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend The Roslin Beach - whenever we've been we've enjoyed it and the staff have always been extremely professional and efficient, always checking to see if we need anything/if everything is ok.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We had a 2 night stay.
Rooms were cosy with very comfortable beds! Lovely, soft bedlinen.
Room was sparklingly clean! Neat and tidy. The fish patterned wallpaper was rather shocking but fitted in well conaidering it's right on the sea front!
Our rooms had beautiful sea views.
Beautiful food at the hotel's resturant. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel was great, however there is not much around... unless you're happy to wall or use transport (car) into Southend.
Nice beaches!!
Highly recommended.❤️

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DweenaLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed there over the bank holiday , hotel staff made us feel so welcome , booked a executive room with sea view and the view was great , well worth the few extra pounds , hade a great massage , and a wonderful time .will definitely be back there very soon

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A wonderful hotel, with very friendly staff in all areas. Beautiful rooms and excellent food. The only difficulty we encountered was the lack of car parking space on arrival. We were informed that the restaurant is very popular with no residence, hence the problem.

Room Tip: The executive room was great, with lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rixy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed in the Roslin, for just one night over the bank holiday weekend. And we can't fault it at all. We had booked a standard double room, as thats all, that was left to book. But when we arrived at the Roslin, we were upgraded to a junior suite. And it was absolutely beautiful, very clean and spacious. It had a queens size bed, which was very comfortable to sleep in. Loads of storage space for your clothes and belongings. The bathroom was large and very well presented. Sky HD in the room with a large flat screen TV to watch it on. Free Wifi through out the whole hotel. A large free car park for all the guests. The guest lounge, bar and restaurant were all very clean and kept immaculate at all times. The buffet breakfast in the morning was wonderful. And all the staff were very friendly and so helpful. If we ever go back to Southend again, we will definitely stay here again. My only regret is.......we didn't stay for longer :-(

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinandDebbie391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for 1 night and really wished we could have stayed longer.

Our room was small but perfectly formed with a lovely sea view.

The bar had a great buzz about it and all the staff were really pleasant and helpful.

We didn't get an opportunity to eat in the restaurant but it was really busy, even at 3pm in the afternoon.

Breakfast was of very good quality but the staff were perhaps just a little unorganised, some guests were left hanging around for some of the items to be replenished and there was a long wait for clean glasses for the juice.

We were very lucky with the weather especially as the hotel is quite a walk from the town.

I look forward to a return visit at some point.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boofs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Although we are a couple we stayed in a family room with a sea view, bed settee and balcony. The room had a bay window which gave us a good sized sitting area. The bed was very comfortable and had a sprung base which is unusual in hotels (WHY?!!!). It was also 6 foot wide which is less intimate than 5 foot king size. We prefer King size.
2 small problems:
1. one small wardrobe in a family room
2. the wooden blinds were HEAVY particularly the one covering the door to the balcony. This makes the balcony a bit superfluous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheRealist999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
552 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
864 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing