We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at Roslin Beach Hotel”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Weekend at Roslin Beach Hotel”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Our visit to Southend was to attend a 50th Wedding Anniversary Dinner on Sunday 18th May. We arrived on Saturday with our bicycles on the car. There was a bike rack to securely attach them to.We were pleased to see cycle tracks along the promenade in both directions and in 3 days we explored the area in very hot temperatures.

Reception was helpful and we had an executive room on the top floor of the end building (no lift). It was a corner room with 2 windows which overlooked the estuary. The view was particularly attractive on Sunday when the tide was in and the yachts were out racing over the water. The room was pleasant and the bed comfortable. There was a bath with shower. There was no air conditioning but the room was kept comfortable by a mild breeze with the windows open. Bottled water was supplied and a fridge to put it in. There was no safe and surprisingly no paper tissues.

There were plastic blinds instead of curtains. These could be closed to keep out any light late at night but were ineffective in the early (very early) morning. The sunlight streaming in to the room through the blinds woke us up much earlier than we intended.

The restaurant was excellent and very busy. We had afternoon tea and scones shortly after we arrived in an open area facing the estuary. We had a late dinner (9.30pm) after a cycle ride and on Sunday the anniversary lunch in the same restaurant. Both meals were excellent and service was attentive. Breakfast was included and was a full English meal with bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms etc.

Would we stay at this hotel again - a definite yes.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view and possibly a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    312
    84
    29
    33
See reviews for
310
556
91
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

stayed for 3 nights in the Honey moon suite which we were upgraded to, its is a really beautifull room with own balcony and lovely veiw,Hotel itself is quite stunning i liked the attention to detail, ie lots of lovely flower displays , candles , it feels that a lot of thought has gone in to the decor, breakfast was very good all that you would expect and more, our son stayed in a small double which he felt was also very good, i personally cant wait to stay again, the staff were very freindly, and reception teem second to none

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jude55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covent Garden
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed for 1 night Sunday 18th May, which was the warmest day of the year by far. Southend itself was manic, so this had a knock on effect to Thorpe bay, which is a bout a mile down the coast.
We stayed in The Mulberry Suite, which was lovely and had a balcony with amazing sea views. The dinner in the evening, was very good too, especially when you consider the hotel was full to bursting during lunch and all night, due again to the gorgeous weather, but also as this is a cracking hotel (of course). Breakfast was a buffet, which I am never that keen on, regardless as where I am staying, due to the fact it is almost impossible to keep it warm enough to enjoy (as I tend to end up eating far too quickly, whilst it is still warm (ish), but none the less the service was very, very, good, as were all the staff. If I am being picky, the other 2 bedroom doors on our floor are very close and they do bang shut very loudly, which was a little annoying at 6.30am the following morning, as we had noisy early risers next to us, so maybe it's something the hotel could look into, as this it is an easy, quick fix. Finally as parking is a lottery, I would suggest the hotel could reserve the smaller of the 2 car parks, for strictly residents only, perhaps even with room numbers/names painted on the tarmac, as it was clear most of the spaces were taken up by casual diners and people on the beach. All being said, we would certainly return, as this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: As I mentioned The Mulberry Suite is amazing and is the only balcony room, with direct views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I stopped 3 years ago and it was fantastic then.
Nothing has changed it is still fantastic and the staff will bendover backwards to help you, always smiling. .
Would strongly recommended you stop here if in South End

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oranged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Yesterday in the sunshine, had the pleasure of walking to Thorpe Bay from Southend on Sea. Came across this hotel and stopped for a bit of light refreshment. What a great find ! The outside terrace, service and overall ambiance was first class. We hadnt intended to eat, but just couldnt resist a small tapas with our beer & wine. Overall the hotel seemed to be everything that others have mentioned in their reviews. Think we will return for an overnight stay sometime. Try it for yourselves !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank happycoupleBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We booked to go to the Roslin Beach Hotel for a weekend getaway from London, wanting to get out of the city. The check-in staff looked over-run with too many customers and not enough staff.

Our room was hugely disappointing for an "executive room. The bath was very plain, the room and furnishings fine, but the view as over an ugly section of roof and windows of others. For the amount of money we paid (169 pounds + for one night), it was not the romantic getaway we were hoping for. There was no sea view, nor even a private view, but rather one facing inwards onto the roof and other windows of the hotel, giving us no sense of privacy. It was exactly the kind of view you'd get in London, looking over a roof section.

It didn't look at all like the room used in the photographs. And spatially, the room orientation (and as the Chinese would call it - the "feng shui") could not have been worse.

Through the night, there was a repetitive noise which sounded almost like the bubbles of a fish tank, although obviously that was not its cause. No idea what, but constant bubbling sound that didn't stop. The room was hot, so hot we had to kick off the duvet all night. I got a very poor sleep.

The restaurant dinner was very good, and the staff did their best to keep up with what seemed like an over-packed hotel, and too many customers to staff ratio. They tried to minimise the queue by Express-checking out by charging credit cards before morning with receipts under doors. This also avoided no doubt unhappy conversations with any dissatisfied customers.

We loved the food, the beach outlook from the restaurant, but our room was not a pleasant stay at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetlagged_in_Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I had afternoon tea with my family, the service was very good, the sandwiches and cakes were excellent, the trifles were tasty too. Disabled parking available but very hard to come by as bays were unpoliced. Disabled access is good but a little cramped.

Great sea view from huge windows'

Lunch and Dinner are available with good Menus and Wines to non-residence

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valmcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
506 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
760 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing