We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Carlsberg did Hotels it would be the Roslin.”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg did Hotels it would be the Roslin.”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My first every TripAdvisor review, but felt compelled to write about the Roslin Hotel what is without doubt an absolute credit to Southend-on-Sea.

Myself and my wife had decided to use the Roslin to hold our Wedding celebrations this Friday (18th), and all we can both say is WOW!.

I had a room on the Thursday evening prior to my wedding as did several of our guests, and my wife and I stayed in the Mulberry suite the night of our wedding. Whilst my room thursday was a standard room, it was lovely. Comfy bed and modern design; but the Mulberry suite was really something else. the suite is big and offers stunning uninterrupted views out across the sea. massive bed, lovely bathroom and the staff had scattered rose petals in the room as we arrived. It was a great experience.

However as a hotel I have to say that the location is first of all superb. Thorpe Bay is a lovely part of Southend and the hotel is just opposite the beach; which came in handy for those friends whom come with Kids. Secondly the hotel has a great kitchen. The food is consistently of a high quality. My wife and I have eaten at the Roslin many times and have always been impressed with what is put on our plate, but it is the people who work at this great hotel that made our experience so memorable.

To say that they couldn't do enough for us is an understatement. Everyone from the reception staff to the bar staff, managers were simply brilliant. Polite, understanding of peoples needs (again especially those with kids) and nothing was too much of a problem.

Special praise needs to go to Amy;whom we worked with to organise the wedding day. She worked tirelessly and presented a smooth wedding experience from the moment our guests arrived to the point of departure a couple days later.

We cannot thank the hotel enough, you made our day that bit extra special and would recommend to anyone looking to stay in Southend to use the Roslin. The food, the rooms, the staff just lend to an outstanding experience.

First rate experience and we will certainly be back post honeymoon

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view room, it really does make all the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coombesy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    295
    82
    29
    29
See reviews for
298
522
87
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

For hubby's birthday, I decided to book us a night at this hotel, which has a great reputation locally. I booked us a sea view room because we both love the sound and smell of the sea, and the room, although a little small didn't disappoint - the tides helped by being incoming tides both as we arrived and as we breakfasted the next morning. We enjoyed a lovely Sunday afternoon walk along the front towards Shoebury Common with people making the most of the weather and the tides.

The room was immediately at the top of the stairs, which meant every guest who went on to other rooms opened and then closed the door outside out room, which was slightly annoying. It was a very hot weekend, and we struggled to find the sense in an air conditioning unit in one corner of the room - it would be better over the tv, which was central and opposite the bad. My major issue though, was with the bathroom. The bath was sloped towards the other end, and even with the bath mat in, you slipped getting in and out...and I ended up with a bruise on my inner knee. The shower was also disappointing - great big shower head, but no power in the force at all.

Arriving on a Sunday afternoon, the hotel was very busy with plenty of people partaking of afternoon tea. Our room was above the restaurant terrace, and it did get a little noisy as people became a little merry! Food was very good, both at dinner and at breakfast, however, I was shocked to see people smoking on the outside terrace where some people were eating dinner. The staff were all excellent and the room was comfortable, I'm a notoriously bad sleeper, and didn't do too bad here.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have to be the best, but be prepared for noise drifting up from the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel on 3 separate occasions between 2011-2012 when visiting friends in the area.

The rooms were always in great condition, clean and tidy, lovely bedding and furniture.

The hotel is located just outside of the central Southend area so is therefore a bit more quiet and peaceful. About a 30 minute walk into the centre of town.

Staff always friendly and approachable. Free on-site parking.

Only downside was bad mobile/telephone/data signal.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hpooljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just returned from a night at the Roslin Beach Hotel. We often go there for lunch, tea or a snack when the weather is good and we have a day at the coast but decided to stay a night. What a lovely surprise. The hotel is quite unassuming from the outside but once you go in, it is just lovely. The décor and attention to detail is excellent. The restaurant and terrace areas are bright and elegant and the place is obviously popular. We had room 502 which was a beautiful large room with every amenity you could expect from a 5 star establishment. Lovely big bathroom with separate shower and terrace with really good garden furniture. With the beach across the road, what room could you ask for? Oh, and the breakfast is terrific. Don't usually eat breakfast but this was unmissable. Staff and atmosphere really good. Don't know who owns or runs the hotel but well done. For all you other independent hotel owners, go and have a look at the Roslyn Beach to see how it should be done. Wonderful!

Room Tip: the large kind size rooms and if you can get a terrace, wonderful. room 502
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eveandmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights early July . What a fab place, lively full of fun , fantastic staff , meals were lovely. Room was great. Can't recommend this enough would definitely stay again, when visiting southend .

Room Tip: Go for the suites they are lovely with estuary views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I visited the Roslin Beach Hotel today with my Mum for a two treatment package for two bought through Groupon and then lunch on the outside terrace. I've never been before but friends had recommended the afternoon tea. The hotel itself is lovely inside, free parking for customers and residents, the receptionist was very welcoming and sorted us out with treatment questionnaires etc and invited us to sit in the bar area to wait. The bar lounge looked very clean and tidy, we were added on twice by different staff if we would like a drink but declined. Drinks menu is long and prices about average. The Roslin Retreat is small, two treatment rooms but both clean and comfy. Charli and Megan were lovely and made us both feel welcome. Treatments were good, no after sales pitch unlike some places which was good. Be good to see how things are after the extension which will have hydrotherapy etc. I had booked a table for lunch but we were half an hour early so were offered a table inside or outside but we opted to sit out in the sun but were warned there was a private party at 2.30 but that was ok, we had two hours. Lots to choose from on the main menu and set menu, we opted for the fish and chips which was huge! Really nice staff, attentive and quick to serve. All in all we had a lovely day and would definetly go back. Would like to see what the rooms are like. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Myself and my family recently stayed at this hotel and had such a friendly greeting by all of the staff especially Jacqui Harris that we felt at home in a 5 star establishment.
Rooms were excellent, atmosphere really good and food wonderful.
Will definitely return and looking forward to that visit

Well done to you all

Janet Watts
Old girl from shoeburyness high school.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robertwatts16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing