We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect afternoon”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A colleague held her retirement do here last week , afternoon tea.
Everything from wonderful staff andfood to beautiful venue made this a perfect choice.My words cannot do this experience justice , please go and treat yourself and you'll see what I mean

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juliegedLeighOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,103 - 1,109 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I just want to say a massive thank you to the staff at the hotel for an amazing night away. We stayed in the Mulberry suite, the room and view is truly breathtaking. The bed was soooo comfy!!! We also ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and worth every penny. I can't wait to go back.
Sarah Morgan

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah29062015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

2nd visit to Roslin Retreat. Full body massage both times. Head to toe treatment. Love the Elemis products. Hot oil used for this massage, Full hour so you do not feel it is rushed. Danielle was my therapist today. My massage was strong which is what I asked for but it is your choice. No unnecessary chatter, I liked the background music. Treatment rooms are tucked away and a nice reception area with products you could look at and buy would be nice. Expansion is planned so I will be interested in seeing these develop. In all I think it is good value and will definitely return.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank danielsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed August this year we like the seaside ( pair of kids 60s) had a good room sea view it was fantastic, we had a evening meal was expensive but you get QUALITY you are dinning in a
AA Rosette restaurant, you go there see Didier one of the waiters he's good, also we walked the pier you could get the train and walk back we had a good weekend we will stay here again, there was a Wedding there at the time did not hear a thing. O yes breakfast as much as you can eat and the service just great.

Room Tip: Sea view all the front rooms get the sun and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed over in family rooms after a fun packed day in Southend. Friends joined us for breakfast. Two Lovely family rooms, all beautifully decorated and clean. BC5 was an AMAZING Room102 was great but over the Wedding Disco music til midnight - hey oh we've all gotta have fun! Recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hotspots21st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I (from Norway) were part of a wedding party for which a number of rooms had been reserved. We booked an executive room with sea view several months in advance as they looked beautiful on the website and we were staying several nights. We were given a so-called executive room but it was certainly not executive standard (room 309). The room was quite small, the window with sea view was very small (under the eaves) and the other window faced five extractor fans from the kitchen. The room smelt of food when we arrived (early evening) and we had to keep this window closed during the stay. I phoned reception and asked for another room. They said there was nothing available but that they would contact us the next morning to see if a change could be made. We heard nothing more. This room cost us 145.00 pounds per night, (we were refused a rebate) and was of a far lower standard than many less expensive hotels we have stayed in in the UK. Note: The wedding itself was not held at this hotel.
J. Brook

Room Tip: Quite frankly, I would not recommend this hotel. Other family members also felt it was too expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We've eaten in the restaurant on several occasions and enjoyed it very much but this is the first time we've stayed and we weren't disappointed, the hotel is very clean, beautifully decorated with nice artwork and really great driftwood sculptures.

The room we had was large with an extremely comfortable 6' wide bed with equally comfy pillows and nice white cotton linen and throw.
We had a bay window with a sea view, table, chairs and sofas. A dressing annex with plenty of hanging and drawer space, a large bathroom with lots of white fluffy towels and Elemis products. The bonus of air con helped us sleep on a very muggy night. (We also had an iron and board, hairdryer, fridge and tea making facilities, just missing a safe, which would have been useful).

Our breakfast was served overlooking sea in the conservatory; the tables were laid with white linen with plenty of choice from (high quality) full English, continental incl cereals, yogurt, fresh fruit and fruit juices.

Efficient and welcoming staff in reception, high quality house keeping and good service in the restaurant means we will definitely stay there again

Room Tip: Choose sea view if you don't mind a bit of traffic noise (with window open, can't hear it wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
552 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
864 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#7 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £79 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing