We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I booked the Roslin Beach because I was picking up my daughter from 'London' Southend airport late on a Friday evening, didn't want to drive back to London late and wanted to spend 'quality' time and catch up with her. On the whole the hotel is good. I'd picked a busy time as the hotel was promoting the in house spa, nevertheless service was spot on. Our room was in the business centre, it was spacious and very pleasantly decorated. There is a bit of a glitch with television reception which didn't bother me enough to report but might annoy other people more. The restaurant and bar finish serving food quite early. Breakfast is excellent, so much is on offer and the poached and fried eggs are cooked fresh. The staff are all very welcoming and helpful. At breakfast the service was top notch.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    957
    291
    82
    29
    29
See reviews for
289
511
81
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had my wedding reception at the Roslin Beach Hotel on the 21 June 2014. I would thoroughly recommend the Roslin to any bride. It was amazing from start to finish.

A special thanks to Amy, Jackie, Alex and Jonathan. Amy (events co-coordinator) was methodical and ensured that everything ran smoothly. We had a thoroughly relaxed, stress free day.

The Mulberry Suite was fantastic with amazing views. Our guests commented that it was "the best wedding they had been to."

Room Tip: Sea View Rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I really love it here.
Great location
Friendly, kind and helpful staff
Good food
Lovely rooms
The only reason it didn't get five stars was the smell of rubbish upon leaving the room.
Having to walk past the smell to get to our lovely room again after a delicious dinner at the hotel wasn't pleasant..

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ammmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suffolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here in May 2014, whilst visiting for a friends 60th birthday nearby. We used to live in the area (23 years ago) but have never been in the hotel before. It was very clean, comfortable, staff efficient and pleasant and the bar good. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening as we were going to a party, but the breakfast was tasty if a little sparse and we had to keep revisiting the buffet area to get each item as it was restocked! (No sausage, bacon or eggs left when we first arrived!).
Would happily visit again and wold recommend as a base to stay in the Southend area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbgaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leigh on sea
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

A colleague held her retirement do here last week , afternoon tea.
Everything from wonderful staff andfood to beautiful venue made this a perfect choice.My words cannot do this experience justice , please go and treat yourself and you'll see what I mean

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliegedLeighOnSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I just want to say a massive thank you to the staff at the hotel for an amazing night away. We stayed in the Mulberry suite, the room and view is truly breathtaking. The bed was soooo comfy!!! We also ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and worth every penny. I can't wait to go back.
Sarah Morgan

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah29062015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

2nd visit to Roslin Retreat. Full body massage both times. Head to toe treatment. Love the Elemis products. Hot oil used for this massage, Full hour so you do not feel it is rushed. Danielle was my therapist today. My massage was strong which is what I asked for but it is your choice. No unnecessary chatter, I liked the background music. Treatment rooms are tucked away and a nice reception area with products you could look at and buy would be nice. Expansion is planned so I will be interested in seeing these develop. In all I think it is good value and will definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank danielsnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing