We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking and very happy with the hotel. Friendly staff, clean well appointed rooms and a very good quality breakfast. Usually buffet breakfasts leave me cold but this was of excellent quality and the scrambled eggs were superb.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MbrayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    933
    284
    79
    28
    28
See reviews for
277
503
76
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

This review relates to an extremely disappointing afternoon tea experience that my family had at the Roslin Hotel.

Upon arrival and prior to being seated we met in the bar area and I was disappointed to see a number of dogs in the area, however, the hotel is advertised as a dog friendly establishment so there is nothing I can do about that. What did concern me though was the apparent lack of dress code within the hotel. I accept short sleeved T-shirts and short trousers but what I did find disappointing was a male wearing a vest. I appreciate that it is a seaside hotel but is advertised as being 4 star so I would have thought there would be a more discerning dress code.

That said, my major disappointment was with the afternoon tea and I will outline my concerns as follows:

Firstly, when the original booking was made it was for 10 people, however, when we were shown to our table it was only set for 8 people so we were supplied with 2 extra place settings and squashed onto the table. This made it very uncomfortable.

Also, the waitress who brought up the extra settings smelt strongly of cigarette smoke which virtually all of my family commented on. This was quite distasteful and coupled with the fact that there was a used plaster discarded on the floor immediately behind where I was sitting made it quite an unpleasant start. All of this before we had even been served any food.

This brings me to my next issue. When the booking was made it was explained that 2 of our party had certain dietary requirements and when, who I assume was the senior waiter Jonathan, came to clarify this he was unaware of the exact requirement and these were not able to be met. I will say that he eventually managed to offer a suitable alternative. Before he left though he was asked if the hotel uses free range eggs, a simple enough question and one that I'm sure is asked in most food establishments everyday. He was unaware of the answer and rolled his eyes in what I felt was a very dismissive manner before leaving to find the answer.

Having now got the food issues sorted we were served an attractive display of food but it was disappointing to find that the tea itself was being served in coffee pots. Not good etiquette I suggest and when fresh tea was requested the same pots were refilled as opposed fresh pots being brought. Furthermore we had to have the same small milk jug regularly refilled and at one point Jonathan even brought the large refill jug to the table and poured it in front of us. My niece also had a small chip in her cup.

Having brought this to the attention of the staff both Jonathan and George made offers of apology and compensation which was appreciated but it still took the gloss of what should have been a relaxing event.

I have been fortunate enough to have taken afternoon tea at a number of different hotels and have never experienced anything like I did on this occasion. I had seen the hotel reviews and spoken to many people who have visited the hotel but either they have different expectations to me or we were just very unlucky yesterday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Came for afternoon tea with my best friend and was blown away by the quality of the food and service. There's a sign outside proclaiming the best afternoon tea in Southend - after our meal I'd happily agree!

Lots of food - including wonderful macaron, opera cake and a beautiful mini quiche served warm. Lovely dainty sandwiches (beef, salmon and egg) and of course the obligatory luscious scone filled with plump fruit and served with Essex's own Tiptree jam and lashings of clotted cream.

Simply wonderful - and that's before you factor in huge sea view while you eat. We'll definitely be going back, was interested to see posters offering short notice discounts on spa treatments - might book one at the same time for the ultimate girlie day!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank meleknaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Today myself and work friends had a cream tea. We were looked after by two fantastic young men. We couldn't have asked for better service and it made the delicious tea extra special. Thank you for a wonderful afternoon.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Garrisonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My chosen life partner and i,with the rents in tow decided to try The Roslin. Its billed as the best afternoon tea in Southend...from our local knowledge there is not much competition! We have tried all the top hotels in London,so we thought something closer to home would be a nice change.
The Roslin ticks most of the boxes for a traditional afternoon tea,but fails on the attentive service,and most importantly the offer of extra rounds of sandwiches and cakes. I cannot believe that any hotel who charges from £15 upwards ea for afternoon tea,would lose profit by offering another round...probably most patrons would decline anyway,so even more annoying for not doing so. It seems only the hotels in London do this, about time the burbs followed suit.
The surroundings are pleasant enough, and the food adequate but not the most challenging we have encountered.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed here for one night earlier in the year and enjoyed it so much that I returned last week for 2 nights. Again the staff were fantastic, everyone in the hotel is cheerful and helpful. The breakfast was lovely - just a shame that after eating such a good breakfast we were too full to have the afternoon tea which looked lovely!!!! The breakfast kept us going until evening and we ate in the restaurant on both nights. Between us we chose from set menu and a la carte and the food was delicious, atmosphere really relaxed and staff lovely. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Overall a wonderful hotel and I'm sure I'll be booking again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Spent one night at the hotel on Monday 11th August. On arrival the car park was very busy and we were 'lucky' to get a space. We chose this hotel because it catered for dogs and cater for them it did. Reception staff were excellant even telling us where we could sit in the main hotel areas with our dog.
Our room was separate from the main hotel, great for the dog, and was very clean - no doggie smells or old dog hair anywhere.
Our room had dog bowels and a dog bed with blanket.
The breakfast was excellant, great choice - just about everything you could think of, with a great view over the bay.
Would recommend to everybody, with or without your dog.
Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staffarnold99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
16.1 mi away
Pontlands Park
Pontlands Park
#1 of 1 in Great Baddow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing