We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Treat”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
essex girl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“New Years Treat”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We spent a fabulous evening at the Roslin Hotel on Sunday 2nd January as a treat after a busy Christmas, it did not disappoint....There were 10 of us , we all had dinner which was excellant, food and service were perfect, the Beef Wellington was one of the best i have had. Staff were very helpful and polite, Chris our waiter was brilliant and very patient with us. Our room was on the ground floor and we had a view of the Estuary which was lovely to wake up to . By the time we got in for breakfast , there was not much food left , however they did cook fresh for us. Alsthough we had to wait for a while, tables were not cleared very quickly, which did make the resturant rather untidy for the late commers to have breakfast . All in all I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honeypusspuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,003
    297
    82
    29
    30
See reviews for
301
530
87
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I had a most enjoyable stay back in October. The Roslin has been begging for someone to make it the lovely hotel it has now become. After many years of no investment the new owners have now turned it into the hotel it should always have been. Nothing has been spared, but in the upgrade it has lost none of its charm in fact it has improved. If you are not able to stay it is worth visiting to eat in the restaurant which is as good as any in the area. I and a group of friends booked a table only for their New Years Eve Dinner & Dance last month ( 2010 ) It was one of the best New Year events I have attended. You actually got more than the package offered, which is very unusual these days. A final comment the staff went out of their way to make sure the night went well. I highly reccomend a visit or stay.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whispering97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My wife and I together with ten friends went to the Roslin for this years New Year bash.The evening started with Champagne and canapes, we have never experienced such pre dinner drinking with nibbles, it was fabulous.During the meal, which was excellent we were entertained by a really good singer. The staff and the service they provided could not be bettered, one only needed to call ask for something and it was with you in a very short time.Our room was a bit small but adequate and very clean, the only problem we had was I suppose the position of our room because once the evening had finished the staff clerared away much of the additional furnitue, this tended to be a little noisy for about an hour after we went to bed at around 1 oc, apart from that we have no complaints, only praise for the management and staff

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashbourne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Arrived at hotel struggled to get parking space.
Check in good.
Room was extremly small
Room smelt of food which was overpowering window was open.
Room over the kitchen /conservatory.
Unable to get a meal in hotel as fully booked with a private party!! offred a meal in room which did not have table and chairs in to eat it on.
Kept up by the music from private function walls vibrating with music.
Breakfast showed to a table and it had already been allocated to another couple so we had to go and que up again to be seated. Service poor not offered coffee/tea
On a whole would find out if private party on before booking this hotel as you take second fiddle to these guests

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank milbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hullbridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2010

We had a wonderful (if but all too brief a stay) at 'The Roslin Beach Hotel'
(Our second visit).

The main purpose of our stay was a major birthday celebration function for my wife, which included a mixture of family and friends, totalling around 35 people.
With an overnight stay and lovely buffet breakfast for 6 of us in the morning.

From the friendly, modern styled reception, cosy coffee/lounge bar, to the function room itself. All were of a high standard, without any off the usual chintzy bits you normally associate with seaside hotels. This is a modernised, bright and friendly place.

Our function room with it's own private bar, was attended to in an excellent manner. The buffet content, which had previously been discussed and arranged with the assistance of 'The Roslin Beach' events management, was of outstanding quality. Presented and served in a superb and professional way to the satisfaction of 'All' who attended.

All staff constantly appear to be aware of their responsibility to guests, in trying to
attend to their needs and exceed ones expectations.

Being on the Sea Front with it's own Free Car Park. Outstanding Views over the
Thames Estuary. And with inside/outside glass enclosed patios for use in fine weather. We can highly recommend this hotel with confidence to the discerning visitor.

'The Roslin Beach Hotel' is just far enough outside the busier parts of Southend, to be relaxed and quite. Yet close enough for easy access to the main town, its car parks and surrounding areas with road, rail and airport links and comprehensive entertainment facilities including, theatres, multi-screen cinema, bars and bistros, night clubs, restaurants and a local golf club round the corner. Or just nice leisurely strolls along the seafront in either direction for miles, makes this an oasis for the business or holiday traveller.

Do you think our review to be over the top? Not at all! We speak as we find, and can assure you that in our experience and as our review title states, we have found
'The Roslin Beach Hotel' to be not just another hotel, but rather more like a comforting experience in this busy world.

Visit their website for more information: - www.roslinhotel.com

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaHullbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Had a great time on saturday night , the staff were friendly and helpful and the Hotel was a great spot to relax and enjoy the festive fun with a great disco after a lovely xmas meal that was tasty and enjoyable without being overdone and very reasonably priced . We had an executive suite as a special treat for xmas and we picked the best night as the Snow was heavy outside but it was lovely and cosy and the staff were exceptionally proffesional and helpful , thanks and We will Be Back

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2010

Having taken our staff (local Junior School) last year for our Christmas meal, to the Roslin, expectations were high...and once again fully met.
The Roslin staff were extremely welcoming and attentive and the menu satisfied everyone. On our warm reception we were teated to a refreshing kirsh-royale' whilst we arrived in dibs and drabs, gathering in the bar. Once shown to our seats, I had an interesting and delicious duck salad, the beef, perfectly 'medium' (as one would expect for such large parties of this kind) and finally a superb pear and ice-cream pudding, all washed down with some truly reasonable and scrumptious Merlot. There were definitely a larger number of revellers than we remembered from last year, but the layout of the dining-areas and the bar had changed to accommodate these numbers superbly. The atmosphere was festive and fun with dancing following hard on the heels of the fine dining and cordial conversation, led by a super young chap who got everyone involved. It was always easy to order drinks (as well as welcome jugs of water with plenty of ice, lemon and lime) and all too soon time had flown by. We had a wonderful evening. Thanks to the Roslin team for providing such a super end to the year! See you all soon.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupertsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#4 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
493 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
744 reviews
16.0 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
15.9 mi away
Orsett Hall
Orsett Hall
#1 of 1 in Orsett
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Property: Roslin Beach Hotel
Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing