We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, stylish & classy hotel!”
Review of Roslin Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roslin Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Had a wonderful time over the Christmas period at the Roslin, must say how accommodating the management & staff were, very friendly & attentive at all times. Both Jacquis & Colette went out of their way to ensure our time at the hotel was a memorable one! Would definitely return either for a long weekend, stop over or just for a top notch meal! Give it a go, you won't be disappointed....

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,618 - 1,624 of 1,711 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2011

We stayed at Roslin beach hotel on the 8th of jan, and found the service was fantastic.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.
We were staying here just for a night as we were having our enegagement party not far away. We came from round the area and most of our family are here. But suprisely never even eaten here.
As soon as we walked in the door you notice the decor, and we were also upgraded to a estuary view room which was gorgeous.
We had a lovely breakfast, considering it was just a buffet, everything was prefect.
If you don't stay here at least go for a drink and bite to eat, one of the best place on the estuary.
Just want to thank everyone there for a lovely stay we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeelyN86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2011

I stayed at the Roslin with a number of friends for a bit of after xmas relaxation, we had an evening meal and each course was delicious and cooked to prefection. All the staff, from reception to waiting to bar were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our waiter (Chris) even smiled politely while one of the group told him and long and boring story (the rest of us had actually stopped listening!)..............
All the rooms we had were lovely and the whole hotel was impeccably clean.
A great night was had by all, we are hoping to make it a regular treat.
A special mention to Jacqui who was fab.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dizraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We spent a fabulous evening at the Roslin Hotel on Sunday 2nd January as a treat after a busy Christmas, it did not disappoint....There were 10 of us , we all had dinner which was excellant, food and service were perfect, the Beef Wellington was one of the best i have had. Staff were very helpful and polite, Chris our waiter was brilliant and very patient with us. Our room was on the ground floor and we had a view of the Estuary which was lovely to wake up to . By the time we got in for breakfast , there was not much food left , however they did cook fresh for us. Alsthough we had to wait for a while, tables were not cleared very quickly, which did make the resturant rather untidy for the late commers to have breakfast . All in all I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeypusspuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

I had a most enjoyable stay back in October. The Roslin has been begging for someone to make it the lovely hotel it has now become. After many years of no investment the new owners have now turned it into the hotel it should always have been. Nothing has been spared, but in the upgrade it has lost none of its charm in fact it has improved. If you are not able to stay it is worth visiting to eat in the restaurant which is as good as any in the area. I and a group of friends booked a table only for their New Years Eve Dinner & Dance last month ( 2010 ) It was one of the best New Year events I have attended. You actually got more than the package offered, which is very unusual these days. A final comment the staff went out of their way to make sure the night went well. I highly reccomend a visit or stay.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whispering97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

My wife and I together with ten friends went to the Roslin for this years New Year bash.The evening started with Champagne and canapes, we have never experienced such pre dinner drinking with nibbles, it was fabulous.During the meal, which was excellent we were entertained by a really good singer. The staff and the service they provided could not be bettered, one only needed to call ask for something and it was with you in a very short time.Our room was a bit small but adequate and very clean, the only problem we had was I suppose the position of our room because once the evening had finished the staff clerared away much of the additional furnitue, this tended to be a little noisy for about an hour after we went to bed at around 1 oc, apart from that we have no complaints, only praise for the management and staff

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashbourne27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

Arrived at hotel struggled to get parking space.
Check in good.
Room was extremly small
Room smelt of food which was overpowering window was open.
Room over the kitchen /conservatory.
Unable to get a meal in hotel as fully booked with a private party!! offred a meal in room which did not have table and chairs in to eat it on.
Kept up by the music from private function walls vibrating with music.
Breakfast showed to a table and it had already been allocated to another couple so we had to go and que up again to be seated. Service poor not offered coffee/tea
On a whole would find out if private party on before booking this hotel as you take second fiddle to these guests

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank milbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thorpe Bay
1.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,268 reviews
2.1 mi away
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
Muthu Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camelia Hotel
Camelia Hotel
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Southend-On-Sea (Thorpe Bay) Hotel
21.7 mi away
Prested Hall Hotel
Prested Hall Hotel
#1 of 3 in Feering
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roslin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roslin Beach Hotel

Address: Thorpe Esplanade, Thorpe Bay, Southend-on-Sea SS1 3BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Southend-on-Sea > Thorpe Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thorpe Bay
Price Range: £72 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roslin Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With lovely views of the Thames Estuary, this Southend-on-Sea hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free parking. The hotel also has beautiful treatment rooms offering Elemis treatments and an OPI nail bar . The Roslin Beach Hotel is set opposite a sandy beach, just over a mile from shops and an amusement park on the vibrant seafront. Southend also boasts one of the best records for sunshine in the UK. The light, airy rooms each have a flat-screen TV, telephone, hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities and free toiletries. Some of the Roslin's rooms have a balcony and great sea views. Tides Restaurant offers seafood specialities and classic British dishes with a contemporary twist. Guests can dine in the restaurant's conservatory or on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the estuary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Roslin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Roslin Beach
Roslin Beach Hotel Southend-On-Sea/Thorpe Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing