We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food hidden in plain sight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raintree Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Raintree Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 61 Restaurants in Effingham
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Effingham, Illinois
1 review
“Great food hidden in plain sight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

First time I had visited the "restaurant" area of the Raintree.The herb-crusted prime rib was delicious,and the baked sweet potato was perfect.Salad bar was fresh and had a nice variety of veggies and salads.(except I saw no onion,which disappointed me).The new york strip steak was cooked to perfection.Our cheese sticks came out cold,but the fried chicken livers had a light crispy crust and were very good.The atmosphere is very plain,but it was quiet and clean.Our waitress was smiling,very pleasant and took very good care of us.I agree with other reviewers about the "bar" area.We dined their twice and got the same treatment,rude bartender,waitresses,and we were treated like an inconvenience to them while they chatted up the locals and truckdrivers at the bar.But don't let that discourage you,enter the restaurant,not the bar.I can't wait to dine their in the future.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank haylexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice sit down local place to eat.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The menu is not huge in selection, but the food offered is good and they always have a nice salad bar. The staff is friendly and it always seems to be clean. My in-laws like to go here, so I go along some times with them and they like what they can get and like the atmosphere.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CasualTravelSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourbonnais, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away later at night unless you want to be treated bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Walked in the bar area of this restaurant late at night while staying next door at the Best Western. The bartender on duty was RUDE, loud, and acted like she was doing us a favor taking our order. On the side, she was loudly discussing world affairs with locals and we felt like we were an inconvenience by ordering a drink. I seen enough to know I'd never stop here again!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janiec_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Effingham, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great food ,love the veges and crab legs ,have to eat there again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

my daughter just loves raintree ,already talking about going back again , she loves the crab legs ,I myself love them and the veges are so good, great buffet ,only the place, is too small though, they need a bigger restaurant, and they run out of crab legs quickly ,they go pretty fast.......

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank angie258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friday night seafood buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Pretty good deal for $16.99. When you first walk in the buffet appears pretty small but they have all the right stuff. Crab legs, frog legs, catfish, walleye, fried shrimp, peel your own shrimp, etc... Very good service and they make a good drink.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Walgreenguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raintree Restaurant also viewed

 
Effingham, IL
Effingham, IL
 

Been to The Raintree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing