We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Effingham
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I did not choose this hotel; it was the hotel of choice for a wedding party, and I was fortunate to be a part of that. However, if I stayed in this area again, I would definitely choose this hotel! We were treated to a "suite," which included a sitting area with sofa, easy chair, desk, TV, microwave, and fridge, then beyond the bathroom were two queen-sized beds with another TV. The only negative I would voice is that the bathroom is all-inclusive, with poor lighting over the vanity. I prefer a bathroom that has a vanity outside the shower and toilet area. Given the layout of this room/suite, that would not have been feasible. Just a personal preference, and nothing against the hotel.

The hotel is directly across the street from Wal-Mart, and my adult daughter and I felt perfectly safe walking across the street to stock up on some food items. There is a Cracker Barrel just down the street, as well as several other chain restaurants (Ruby Tuesday across the street, Steak & Shake, McDonald's, Burger King, and several others).

The staff were friendly and helpful; the indoor pool/whirlpool area was nice and clean; the rooms and hallways were extremely clean and quiet. We did not eat in the first-floor restaurant, but only because I typically find that restaurants within hotels are fairly expensive.

All in all, this was a very pleasant stay, and I would definitely recommend the hotel and stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jules1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamHI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Effingham, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your comments and suggestions regarding our Holiday Inn. We take great pride in maintaining a clean facility for our guests and continue to focus on providing you the most satisfying experience during your stay. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay during the wedding party event and were comfortable with our facility. All of our rooms are equip with refrigerators and microwaves for your convenience.

We hope to see you again for your next vacation stay, travel, business, or any other
event you may have upcoming and have an opportunity to try our restaurant as well.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

As mentioned in other reviews, this is a converted Hilton Garden. We came in late on a road trip and were surprised by this hotel. It's a clean, updated, slightly upscale hotel that has a more luxury feel. The staff at the desk were dressed more like what you would find at a Westin, W, or the like. Very impressed! Rooms had again a more up scale feel although the heavy decor may get outdated quickly.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lfferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamHI, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Effingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such positive feedback. We are very pleased that you were pleasantly surprised by the upscale feel of our property and impressed with our rooms and staff. You will be happy to know that we will be updating the décor and furniture to provide our guests with the luxurious experience they have come to expect from our hotel. Thank you again for letting us know that our hotel exceeded your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I’ve been through this central-Illinois “land of a hundred hotels” many times, but this visit was at the end of a LONG day, so I sought TLC! As I strode to the fancy desk in the rather classy lobby, I was immediately surprised by the welcoming words of a staff-member: “Welcome to the very first day of this new Holiday Inn!” I realized quickly that I had seen this large place before…but it was a “Hilton Garden” for several years…until yesterday! So the “new” place looked good, and I found:
Staff—professional, obviously welcoming, helpful, courteous, and eager to please brand new customers.
Price—perhaps it was a “grand opening” special, but I was fairly astonished by the excellent price, especially given the amenities, as well as the bonus points.
Room—very spacious and well-appointed, with virtually anything that anyone might expect.
Bed—king-size, firm, good to sleep on, with good selection of pillows.
Bath—full-size; excellent shower; thick towels; good hair dryer; complimentary soaps, lotions, etcetera.
Work area—comfortable desk/chair, multi-outlets, strong Wi-Fi.
Location—excellent and convenient: near the I-57 and I-70 access; LOTS of malls, gas stations, fast-foods, full-service restaurants.
Overall—very active area, but reasonably quiet; well-priced; convenient, welcoming. BONUS: a major hotel which actually had closed-captioning [for the hearing-impaired] on its television set!!! Yea for you…..

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TexasPadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamHI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Effingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Dear TexasPadre-

You are correct that we were formerly a Hilton Garden Inn. We have completed our name change in July during your stay with us. However, we have continued to maintain the luxury's you would expect from the Holiday Inn brand as well as some additional features that you have mentioned in your review.

We truly appreciate your feedback and value our guest comments in order to continue to provide you with exceptional service and hospitality. We look forward to seeing you next time your in our area. Our full service restaurant and dining area has enhanced it breakfast and dinner menu's in addition to expanding on its lunch options.

Our hotel contains 11 hearing assistance rooms as well as multiple ADA compliant rooms for our guests that request and desire these features.

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This has been our favorite hotel in Effingham. We always looked forward to staying here, having stayed close to a dozen times. Being a former Hilton Garden Inn it has a large attractive lobby, good sized well appointed rooms and a very friendly staff. This was our first stay since the name change and while the hotel is still well kept it has degraded some and looks a bit tired, nothing major but no longer up to what you would expect from a Hilton. The staff we spoke with were mostly the same and all of them were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The buffet breakfast hasn't changed since the name change. It's a hot buffet and worth the price. Our server was wonderful. We were told that the hotel is in the process of changing over to a full scale Holiday Inn so I expect in the future there will be positive changes but at this point they had not started the remodel. Again its a good hotel at a very reasonable price and I would recommend in spite my reservations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamHI, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Effingham, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your continued loyalty to our hotel and you will be pleased to know that we will be undergoing renovations which will be completed shortly. We strive to attain the same high standards you have come to expect from our hotel and restaurant. As a frequent returning guest, we look forward to your next visit and are confident you will continue to enjoy the same level of service and comfort you have in the past.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a friends wedding and I was blown away by the quality of the hotel! The room and bathroom was exceptionally clean (I always look at the corners and edges of the bathroom floor to judge!). The room was very spacious, beds were very comfortable with lots of pillows (soft and firm). And I love that the bathroom supplies were from the Bath & Body Works line! The convention center was beautiful as well!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jcr6fd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamHI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Effingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

jcr6fd-

Thank you for such kind words with regards to our hotel and the convention center. We truly appreciate our guests feedback. We appreciate your excitement about the quality of our hotel. We take great pride in keeping our quality property clean, friendly, and pleasant for our guests.
Feel free to consider us in the future when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Beautiful rooms, lobby and halls. Very well maintained. A gem in the country. The decor was lovely and the entire property was very clean. There was a business center and lots of tourist info. But why was it locked in the business center? Really special, one of nicest hotels I have visited.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bctravels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have been traveling the long length of Illinois 3 or 4 times a year for many years. We used to stay at and enjoy Drury Inns because they are pet friendly, reasonable, and have free food & drinks. Now pet-free, we've stayed 3 times in Effingham at a place that is a real jewel! Thelma Keller's, formerly a Hilton, soon to be a Holiday Inn, is a terrific place to stay. Impeccably clean, beautifully decorated - a very classy place. At Christmastime, it was more beautifully decorated than any place we saw all season. They have an excellent restaurant and a small bar with a good selection of draft beers. Both are frequented by locals. Walmart's across the street, lots of food choices nearby and they have a very nice military rate. Exceptionally good! Just wish it was exactly half way for us.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BPinMEFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamHI, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Effingham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

BPinMEFL-

We are honored to be your favorite place in central Illinois. We are anxious for you to return to see the complete enhancements that have been made now that we are officially the Holiday Inn. You will enjoy familiar faces while experiencing our Kids East Free Program with a paid adult order off our menu and all the amenities you're accustomed to from your previous stays.

We look forward to providing your 4th stay with us and many more down the road.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Effingham
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Effingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Effingham

Address: 1301 Avenue of Mid America, Effingham, IL 62401-4589 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Effingham)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Effingham
#2 Business Hotel in Effingham
#4 Family Hotel in Effingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
Price Range: £99 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Effingham 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Effingham, our Holiday Inn is the only hotel with an on-site restaurant and bar. Fully renovated in July 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Effingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Effingham Hotel Effingham
Hilton Effingham
Effingham Hilton Garden Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing