We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plan to have dinner here”

Niemerg's Steak House
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Plan to have dinner here”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This restaurant is busy but the 15-20 minute wait is well worth it.The staff are very attentive you are served a mini loaf of bread while waiting for your meal. Depending on which side of the restaurant you choose, the salad bar is included with your meal....and it is well stocked with 2 types of lettuce 3 soups/chili and numerous pasta and veggie salads. Fruit and mufins also are on this bar.The other side of the restaurant is same menu, you only get a salad with your meal, but you can order breakfast any time The food was delicious and came out piping hot and fast.. We just happened to be in the area and decided to try it. It was hard to get a parking place, inspite of all the people it did not seem crowded, and we did not feel rushed to eat and leave. Unfortunately we were so full from the main course we never had room for dessert ..We were heading south on our vacation, on the way back home we stopped in again. I have already reccomended this restaurant to friends.
.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amenitiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    150
    53
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, Illinois
1 review
“Too much swine used in their food”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

For those who don't eat unclean things. Make sure you ask what ingredience is in some of their foods. When you eat a piece of their homemade pies, your consuming lard in their pie crust. When you get white gravy with a chicken dinner, its white sausage gravy not chicken gravy like mom makes. Pork pork pork can kill you. Wake up & ask what's in the food your eating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrfscf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Down Home.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

If you want to enjoy some down home cooking with a full-on unbutton your pants salad and soup bar. The chicken is fantastic and known throughout the area as the best fried chicken in the land. Moist and delicious. The egg rolls are an odd menu addition, but are also excellent. Remember to save room for pie, or as we do take one home for later. A great stop for travelers on 57 or 70. You'll be in and out quickly. If you want a local favorite for your road trip stop here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durand, Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“You have got to stop!”
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome price, tenderloin sandwich, waffle fries and a dessert for under $5! The place was hopping because of the great food, price and everything!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat. And you should too.”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Great home cooking including homemade pies. Restaurant was very crowded for dinner. Rather than wait 20 minutes we ordered from the same menu in the bar.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Normknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Niemerg's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Niemerg's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing