We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Niemerg's Steak House
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Wyandotte, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Wow, what an amazing find right across the street from Comfort Suites. We went in the back door to the bar area and had wonderful service, drinks and a meal for the best value for money we have had in years. Congratulations and we hope to be back again soon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Traveller28754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    160
    54
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Gatlinburg, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Night on the town”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

we only waited about 5 minutes to be seated on a Saturday night. Good service, good food and the atmosphere is family-oriented. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Plan to have dinner here”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

This restaurant is busy but the 15-20 minute wait is well worth it.The staff are very attentive you are served a mini loaf of bread while waiting for your meal. Depending on which side of the restaurant you choose, the salad bar is included with your meal....and it is well stocked with 2 types of lettuce 3 soups/chili and numerous pasta and veggie salads. Fruit and mufins also are on this bar.The other side of the restaurant is same menu, you only get a salad with your meal, but you can order breakfast any time The food was delicious and came out piping hot and fast.. We just happened to be in the area and decided to try it. It was hard to get a parking place, inspite of all the people it did not seem crowded, and we did not feel rushed to eat and leave. Unfortunately we were so full from the main course we never had room for dessert ..We were heading south on our vacation, on the way back home we stopped in again. I have already reccomended this restaurant to friends.
.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amenitiesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Illinois
1 review
“Too much swine used in their food”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

For those who don't eat unclean things. Make sure you ask what ingredience is in some of their foods. When you eat a piece of their homemade pies, your consuming lard in their pie crust. When you get white gravy with a chicken dinner, its white sausage gravy not chicken gravy like mom makes. Pork pork pork can kill you. Wake up & ask what's in the food your eating.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrfscf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Down Home.”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

If you want to enjoy some down home cooking with a full-on unbutton your pants salad and soup bar. The chicken is fantastic and known throughout the area as the best fried chicken in the land. Moist and delicious. The egg rolls are an odd menu addition, but are also excellent. Remember to save room for pie, or as we do take one home for later. A great stop for travelers on 57 or 70. You'll be in and out quickly. If you want a local favorite for your road trip stop here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Niemerg's Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Niemerg's Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing