We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in Effingham”
Review of firefly grill

firefly grill
Reserve with OpenTable
firefly grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 63 Restaurants in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Keller Drive
Description: Firefly Grill is a modern roadhouse restaurant located on the shores of Kristie Lake. Chef Niall Campbell and his wife Kristie own and operate this oasis of American fresh cuisine in the heart of the Midwest. Firefly's menu changes daily and boasts fresh seafood, oak fired steaks and brick oven pizzas. Firefly uses local ingredients whenever possible and fresh herbs and vegetables straight from their very own garden! Gluten-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian & All Special Diets - because we make our food to order, many of our offerings can accommodate multiple dietary considerations. Please alert your server and they will guide you to a special choice while ensuring our Chefs take extra care with your dishes.
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I went here with my boss and coworkers. I loved it! The atmosphere is quiet and elegant. The food was wonderful. The service was comfortably attentive. They didn't hover, but they did take care of us. The bathrooms were clean. I highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Teresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thank you so much for your compliments of the firefly grill! We love it when our customer's give us feedback, especially when they've had a wonderful experience. We hope you'll stop back in again soon! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (812)
There are newer reviews for firefly grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 662 of 812 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

We found this restaurant here on TA; and it was all that it was said to be!

The atmosphere was modern and exciting with a classic and country twist. Their menu is wide ranging, with well paired food, and well prepared.

This place is a must if you are looking for a good quality meal in the Effingham area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CoyGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us! We truly appreciate the kind words about our food and atmosphere! We'll be sure to pass your compliments along to our staff! Come back & visit us again anytime! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Just had lunch at the Firefly grill, and it was delicious. With four of us, we were able to sample a few different items, but the winner was their burgers and fries. They use Allen Bros meat, which sells prime meat from Chicago. The blend for the burgers is prime rib, brisket and chuck, which makes the most juicy tender burger I can remember eating. Juice ran down my chin. The garlic fries are perfect, crispy on the outside and soft in the middle.
Best dessert was the Bread pudding, with pear compote on top and pumpkin ice-cream. The Chocolate ice cream was better, but the bread pudding was incredible.
Fantastic service, much faster than I was prepared for, and so friendly.
Don't miss it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank neroct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Wow! Thank you so much for your kind review! We love hearing feedback from our customers and we are so happy to hear you enjoyed your experiences with us. It's wonderful to hear that you were pleased with both the food & the service! Hope you'll stop back by again soon! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

We dined at the Firefly Grill while in Effingham for the FunFest weekend! The restaurant was suggested to us by the tourist information centre and although reluctant we were very impressed! The food quality was fantastic and everything was delicious and very fresh at a reasonable price! To our surprise we also found Australian Lamb on the menu which was delicious and by far the best dining experience we had in regional US! They also had many other fresh local & imported ingredients on the menu at a very reasonable price! Would definately dine here again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lkosch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2012

Thank you so much for your compliments! We are so happy that you enjoyed the quality of our food, especially the Australian Lamb! We will definitely share your comments with our kitchen staff – they will be delighted! Please come back and see us again soon! Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Main complaint, they do not allow substitutions. I did not like two of the items that came with my 34.00 entree. They would not substitute something else I would have preferred. Of course I could have paid more for ala carte but did not feel I should have to do so for the price. Most places 34.00 would have bought a salad, entree and vegetable and probably bread, but not here. Not enough food for the money, also presentation is lacking, food is on small plate with no garnishment or embellishment. My steak was good, but that was all I could eat on the plate. The customer is not always right at this establishment. What harm would it have been to substitue fries or regular mashed potatoes and corn for the asparagus and trucker mashed potatoes that came with the dish? Noisy place, feels like a barn. Left hungry and frustrated after a bill of about 100.00 for three people. Will not return there. It is not the wonderful place people write about, especially if you are a picky eater. I could only find one thing on the menu that I would even eat, and was frustrated.Congratulations for losing a customer over your substitution policy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank henry n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYPR22, General Manager at firefly grill, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2012

Dear Henry, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit with us & that there wasn't more on our menu that intrigued you. We offer 33 different, made from scratch to order, entrees ranging from $11.50 to $44 for our 10oz Allen Brothers Steak. Is it possible that you received the specials menu only? If so, we certainly apologize. Your experience is extremely important to us & we are always seeking to improve our offerings. Please contact me at 217-342-2002 with any information about dishes you would like to see on our menu. Sincerely, Cara Milewski, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed firefly grill also viewed

 

Been to firefly grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing