We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Room, Comfortable Bed, GREAT Value”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Reviewed 14 May 2014

In a recent trip to see my daughter we elected to stay half way between Chicago and Nashville. For us, Effingham Il. is directly in the center (time wise). When this was determined (by the wife), I immediately got looking. Starting with the stock SPG website, I found Starwood had nothing in Effingham. So we went to tripadvisor. Using the rating system from folks like us, we selected Comfort Inn and Suites.

The property was close to the interstate, but we experienced no noise issues. easy off and easy on. Location was great! several chain restaurant for varying types of food. We selected the TGI Fridays.

For us, value was very good. The room large and was clean. A continental breakfast was provided with our stay. no interaction with Staff, except for the breakfast.

Our stay was from 5:00 PM to 7:00 AM. Uneventful. Just a perfect stay for a layover hotel on a road trip.

I would recommend this property because of cleanliness, cost and convenience.

Room Tip: As always; request a room opposite of any major roadway, on a higher floor. Be sure to stay away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hacker0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamCS, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Thank you for staying at the Comfort Suites in Effingham and positive review. We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. Our staff strives to offer great service, clean rooms and a comfortable atmosphere. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the Effingham area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Comfort Suites in Effingham. The room was very clean and enjoyable. The front desk clerk was very nice, cheerful, and helpful when we checked in 10:30 at night. Although we did not have time, there is an establishment next door that serves until 2 am. I noticed they were also open for breakfast when we left. The breakfast at the hotel was good and enjoyable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamCS, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again at the Comfort Suites if in the Effingham area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Heading northeast from Tulsa towards Cleveland, we were looking for a convenient and easy place to stay in Effingham. Comfort Suites had received a number of good to excellent reviews, and so we decided to give it a try. Checkin was easy and quick, we had a large, clean room on the third floor and there was little or no noise. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. I will select this hotel if I return this way again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank on_the_road_still
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We've stayed at various hotels in Effingham and usually stay at one of the many that run along the highway 57 corridor. This time we booked the Comfort Suites and this is the hotel we will use in the future. It's about 1/2 mile from the freeway and easy to get to. There is very little road noise and the room was quiet. I must say the employees weren't overly friendly but it wasn't really an issue. The only two complaints I have are the toilet seat needs to be tightened up and WiFi was really slow. It was so slow we gave up trying.

The bed was comfortable with very nice bedding and several pillows. It was a nice room at a good price. Breakfast was the usual fare and adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Always stay here when in town and there was a new woman at the front desk who was Very friendly and outgoing! Used to the regular staff but she was a warm welcome back to the hotel I stay at when in town. What a great fit you have with her! The room as always was very comfortable, clean and warm in this cold, cold weather everyone is having, Thanks for another Great stay!

Room Tip: Only if you don't want to face the parking lot ask for a (even #) room. That's all I have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying here on Tuesday, January 7, 2014. We had spent the prior evening at a Red Cross station set up at the Effingham Park District Rec Center. It was from here that we made our reservations to stay at the Comfort Suites for Tuesday night. Although check-in wasn't until 3pm, we arrived at the Comfort Suites about 9am because we hadn't slept at all on the rec center floor. The front desk staff greeted us with open arms and apologized for not yet having a room available, but suggested we get some hot breakfast in the breakfast area and they would let us know as soon as our room was ready. Keep in mind, some of the staff had been at the hotel for over 24 hours due to icy road conditions. All hotels within a 100 mile radius were filled to capacity. By the time we finished our breakfast our room was ready. I couldn't believe it! They had asked housekeeping to put a "rush" on getting us a room. The room was clean, the beds were welcoming, the staff provided service with a smile and kept asking what else they could do for us. This place is truly a service oriented establishment that knows how to care for its customers. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Jan. 11th on our way home to Minnesota from Florida. This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel, and it has never disappointed. Very clean spacious room with small sink, microwave and small fridge. Comfortable queen beds with a Large Flatscreen TV). Very nice breakfast selection included eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy, waffles, cereal, juice, pastries, coffee. Nice, clean, large eating area so there was room for everyone. This is a dog friendly hotel, which is one of the reasons we first checked out this hotel. Conveniently located right off the interstate. Hotel has a nice pool area also. Rates are reasonable, with a AAA discount it is a about $100.00 a night plus tax. Dog fees is $10.00 per night. This is our first choice of hotel when staying in the area.

Room Tip: If traveling with a dog, ask for a ground floor room at the one end of the hotel close to the outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtcollin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Effingham hotels
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Effingham, IL
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#9 of 19 in Effingham
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Effingham
0.3 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 1310 W Fayette Ave, Effingham, IL 62401-1914
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Effingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
Price Range: £62 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Effingham
Effingham Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing