We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Pet Friendly Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Effingham
Certificate of Excellence
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
378 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Nice Pet Friendly Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel is conveniently located close to freeway. Room was a good size, but not 100% clean. Comfortable bed, crisp clean sheets. The room was extremely noisy with freeway traffic and a train which runs all night long and blows it's whistle. Breakfast was good, but the staff had trouble keeping up with demand as the hotel seemed full. Pet fee was $10.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamCS, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am happy to hear room was comfortable in size with good bed conditions but sorry to hear you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. I do apologize and have discussed this issue with my staff. We do try to achieve 100% satisfaction and it is disappointing to hear that we failed, but do appreciated you letting us know so we can continue to improve. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    55
    27
    2
    3
See reviews for
47
47
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

In a recent trip to see my daughter we elected to stay half way between Chicago and Nashville. For us, Effingham Il. is directly in the center (time wise). When this was determined (by the wife), I immediately got looking. Starting with the stock SPG website, I found Starwood had nothing in Effingham. So we went to tripadvisor. Using the rating system from folks like us, we selected Comfort Inn and Suites.

The property was close to the interstate, but we experienced no noise issues. easy off and easy on. Location was great! several chain restaurant for varying types of food. We selected the TGI Fridays.

For us, value was very good. The room large and was clean. A continental breakfast was provided with our stay. no interaction with Staff, except for the breakfast.

Our stay was from 5:00 PM to 7:00 AM. Uneventful. Just a perfect stay for a layover hotel on a road trip.

I would recommend this property because of cleanliness, cost and convenience.

Room Tip: As always; request a room opposite of any major roadway, on a higher floor. Be sure to stay away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hacker0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamCS, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for staying at the Comfort Suites in Effingham and positive review. We are happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one. Our staff strives to offer great service, clean rooms and a comfortable atmosphere. We hope you will visit us again the next time you are in the Effingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotts, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at the Comfort Suites in Effingham. The room was very clean and enjoyable. The front desk clerk was very nice, cheerful, and helpful when we checked in 10:30 at night. Although we did not have time, there is an establishment next door that serves until 2 am. I noticed they were also open for breakfast when we left. The breakfast at the hotel was good and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EffinghamCS, General Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you so much for your 5 star review and your wonderful comments. We are so pleased you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again at the Comfort Suites if in the Effingham area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Heading northeast from Tulsa towards Cleveland, we were looking for a convenient and easy place to stay in Effingham. Comfort Suites had received a number of good to excellent reviews, and so we decided to give it a try. Checkin was easy and quick, we had a large, clean room on the third floor and there was little or no noise. Breakfast was hot and plentiful. I will select this hotel if I return this way again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank on_the_road_still
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
352 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

We've stayed at various hotels in Effingham and usually stay at one of the many that run along the highway 57 corridor. This time we booked the Comfort Suites and this is the hotel we will use in the future. It's about 1/2 mile from the freeway and easy to get to. There is very little road noise and the room was quiet. I must say the employees weren't overly friendly but it wasn't really an issue. The only two complaints I have are the toilet seat needs to be tightened up and WiFi was really slow. It was so slow we gave up trying.

The bed was comfortable with very nice bedding and several pillows. It was a nice room at a good price. Breakfast was the usual fare and adequate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Always stay here when in town and there was a new woman at the front desk who was Very friendly and outgoing! Used to the regular staff but she was a warm welcome back to the hotel I stay at when in town. What a great fit you have with her! The room as always was very comfortable, clean and warm in this cold, cold weather everyone is having, Thanks for another Great stay!

Room Tip: Only if you don't want to face the parking lot ask for a (even #) room. That's all I have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellijay, Georgia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

My daughter and I had the pleasure of staying here on Tuesday, January 7, 2014. We had spent the prior evening at a Red Cross station set up at the Effingham Park District Rec Center. It was from here that we made our reservations to stay at the Comfort Suites for Tuesday night. Although check-in wasn't until 3pm, we arrived at the Comfort Suites about 9am because we hadn't slept at all on the rec center floor. The front desk staff greeted us with open arms and apologized for not yet having a room available, but suggested we get some hot breakfast in the breakfast area and they would let us know as soon as our room was ready. Keep in mind, some of the staff had been at the hotel for over 24 hours due to icy road conditions. All hotels within a 100 mile radius were filled to capacity. By the time we finished our breakfast our room was ready. I couldn't believe it! They had asked housekeeping to put a "rush" on getting us a room. The room was clean, the beds were welcoming, the staff provided service with a smile and kept asking what else they could do for us. This place is truly a service oriented establishment that knows how to care for its customers. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugzboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Effingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Lexington Inn & Suites Effingham
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Effingham
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#8 of 19 in Effingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Effingham
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Effingham
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Effingham
Holiday Inn Effingham
#6 of 19 in Effingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Property: Comfort Suites
Address: 1310 W Fayette Rd, Effingham, IL 62401
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Effingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Effingham
#6 Family Hotel in Effingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Effingham
Effingham Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing