We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business travelers RELAX”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I checked into this hotel thinking I could save a few dollars on per diem and spend more on dinners. They had good choices in the store for breakfast, it only cost $3. Quick and easy. The room had WiFi so I could get my work done and after work there is more than enough speed to watch my Netfliks. They had DVDs to borrow, but they are all kinda old. Laundry room is free and right next to the fitness center. Did my workout and laundry at the same time. Multitasking all good. Jamie at the desk was always pleasant to talk to about dinner options.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly, they have discounts that are not online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

My company sent me for training to the Elgin area. Since I was staying for a few days I decided to go to an extended stay hotel. I love the full kitchen to make my own healthy breakfast and dinner. All the clothes I had went home clean, they have a FREE laundry there, I just purchased detergent from Walmart down the street. Free DVD loaner collection, DVD players in all the rooms.
The staff are friendly and the hotel was clean and bright, made me feel safe when I arrived every evening. None of the hidden charges some full service hotels charge you. 100% non smoking is great! I am very happy with this hotel, If I come back to the area again this will be the place I will stay!

Room Tip: For added security, I would recommend ladies request the top floor, since the windows open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I just moved to the area and had to wait until my apartment was ready. The rooms are like mini apartments. If you stay for a few weeks, the rates are great and you get a full kitchen to boot. The staff is friendly and always smiling. Since this is linked to Holiday Inns, I got Priority club points. Loved it so much I will send my family here to stay instead of staying with me in my apartment.

Room Tip: Take a upper floor if it is available, Highway is not an issue with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Life circumstances required me to make a long-term stay at this hotel. The GM treated me with great kindness, the staff was exceptional to me every day for years. I really valued my time at Candlewood Suites and definitely recommend it to people looking for an alternative to apartment living. The rates are reasonable, they do housekeeping weekly, the Cupboard is handy. Great proximity to I-90 and easy access to Randall Road. Location was wonderful - close to shopping and restaurants. The layout of the rooms was exceptional with a wonderful kitchen, large bathroom and very comfortable king-sized bed. I was happy there.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor, treat it like an apartment and not a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ava113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed here with my husband for a few days while he attended a workshop. This seems to be a newer hotel or at least very well cared for. We had a studio type room that faced south and a king sized bed. Hotel staff was friendly and everyone was very accommodating. I have to take a star off for not having housekeeping daily, but we adapted with no problem. They do have a store here if you need anything and while the prices seem reasonable I would choose either the Walmart or target done the road. The fridge and the microwave were clean and I wasn't scared to store food in them. For the shoppers: There's a nice shopping center a few miles down the road both north and south of here.

Room Tip: I would choose a high floor, but I do in every hotel room I stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Hotel is clean and friendly staff. My only criticism is the upkeep of the grounds. Weeds and more weeds. Flowers and shrubs in need of water. Cigarette butts all over the patio area and the grills are badly in need of cleaning.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Sandra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Would be a wonderful place for business extended stays. Nice kitchens with dishwasher. Large closet and bathroom. Comfortable bed. If you forget anything like a comb, toothbrush, toothpaste or razor don't expect complimentary replacements. You must purchase them from the lobby "store".

Room Tip: Choose an upper room. Guests walking across the room on upper floors can be heard loudly on lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mepo_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
0.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago

Address: 1780 Capital St, Elgin, IL 60124-7890
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: £60 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Candlewood Suites Elgin Northwest Chicago, IL is conveniently located 20 minutes from Chicago s O Hare International Airport ORD and only 40 miles from downtown Chicago off Interstate 90. If you are coming to the area for business we are only minutes from Sears Centre, Sears Holdings, Kmart Corporation, Cabela's, Panasonic, JP Morgan Chase & Company and Nissan Forklift. While in the area be sure to experience world-class shopping at Woodfield Mall, Algonquin Commons, Huntley Prime Outlets and Springhill Mall or visit nearby Grand Victoria Casino, Hemmens Cultural Center or the Schaumburg Convention Center. We understand that extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your special needs. Candlewood Suites is designed from the ground up and our all suite hotel features full kitchens complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your oversized executive desk with free, high speed Internet or relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD player. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. Candlewood Suites gives you the amenities that make you feel at home. When you come to Chicago we know what you need. Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month or even a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago Hotel Elgin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing