We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget travel”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
CHICAGO IL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Budget travel”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed with my family for 2 weeks back in May/2013 (two rooms). The rooms were quiet and convenient but updated. The furniture was old but functioning well. The room service was excellent and even better than a lot of more expensive hotels. The breakfast was included and good. The Internet was free and fast (WiFi). There was construction work in some parts of the hotel but did not cause a lot of noise. I will definitely stay again in this hotel.

Room Tip: You need a car because of the location in the suburbs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NAVARO-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Mgr_Elgin, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Our staff takes incredible pride in the service and product they provide to our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    39
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
27
21
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I made reservations online thru Choice Hotels..was staying there from May 31 to June 2 for my granddaughters graduation. When I arrived there you couldn't get in thru the main entrance, because they were re-doing the entrance and the hallway, so had to go to the back. When we entered was all torn up and couldn't get to the desk. A man was sitting in hallway digging up the floor and I tried to get to front desk (where there was not a soul) but he grabbed me and pointed to a sign on the side wall, didn't speak English like he was telling me CAN'T YOU READ..gave me wrong room, new room smelled and had spiders. Was a mess, and was a FREE NIGHT, so I felt I had to stay or lose my points..am now at a MUCH BETTER HOTEL.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugs4misuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Mgr_Elgin, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. Unfortunately renovating and construction to update the hotel can be stressful to our guests and associates as well. Having had to relocate the front desk while the new floors were being installed when required. I'm most certain the construction worker was trying to help you get to the relocated from desk area and meant to disrespect in pointing it out to you.

We sincerely take pride in our hotel and try our hardest to portray that to our guests. Please consider visiting us again when you find you are in the area visiting family again.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
208 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The Quality Inn on Tollgate Road, Elgin, Illinois is nice, clean, well cared for. The shower head was terrific! I loved the settings and the fact that I could get that 'needle-like' spray that rinses soap out of long hair so efficiently.
The room was odor-free and clean, the sheets clean. The shower "body" towels could be a little bigger. Also the toilet in my room seemed to run for a really long time before the tank was full enough.
Other than that this was a decent hotel experience.
I have stayed at this hotel before and will do so again when I am working in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrktravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Mgr_Elgin, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. And I apologize for the delay in response. We are so pleased to hear your experiences with our hotel and staff. It is with great pride do I say we are sincerely fortunate to have the staff we do, who care for the product and service they provide.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MONROE
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We needed to be in Elgin for a week for a funeral. We really wanted an inexpensive but decent option. The Quality Inn more than met our needs. The staff is very friendly and helpful. (I left my Nook charger and Jim mailed it back to me Priority Mail - no charge to me!). They provide a decent breakfast that actually includes some protein! Very clean- excellent value!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Mgr_Elgin, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm very sorry for the loss you experienced in April. We are thrilled to hear that we met and exceeded your needs. Our staff is always going above and beyond to provide the most excellent care for our guests.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future should your plans brings you to Elgin.

Kindest Regards,
Nikki Del Rio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WGC - Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I choose this hotel because it was close to our office and all I needed was a bed for the night. Although low cost the reception welcome was quick and friendly and the room clean and spacious. WiFi connection worked and I had no issues with speed.
There is very little close to the hotel, so do not book this place if you do not have transport, unless of course you want to stay in all night.
Breakfast was simple, basic and self-service, but it is included in the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fauchards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2013

it had been about two years since my last visit to elgin and i was looking for a spot to lay my head, my camera gear and my two overnight bags.
had planned on staying in chicagoland for about three days and ended up staying there for 2 weeks. a much needed vacation/holiday after two years of all work in detroit.

the hotel night clerk, bill, and the general manager, james, are the utmost professional and great senses of humour. they are kind, courteous, accomodating. they are like family to me now. i consider them my big brother bill and uncle james.

my two cohorts - one model and videographer and i were in need of a shower and rest and found quality inn (per their suggestion from previous experiences). we just wrapped up a 12 hour photoshoot in downtown chicago and needed a place to stay for the weekend.

without a doubt, they service was stellar, the breakfast was exceptional. there is wifi in the lobby. the other guests are also business minded and friendly. children are welcome and they are conveniently located from the highway.

i highly recommend Quality Inn of Elgin over any of it's competitors, if you are in the Elgin Illinois area and need great service, rooms, and accomodations.

cheers,
xiang cclc
team sundance llc

Room Tip: ask the night clerk about discounts and what rewards programs you may have. also mention that you f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiang C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyce, Louisiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

For $59.00 with Expedia I had my suspicions -- but they were unfounded! VERY clean throughout! This is formerly a Budgetel Inn ( I can tell by the construction design) nevertheless they keep the hotel up nicely. Both desk clerks I dealt with we're very kind and helpful. Nice surprise! This is where I'm staying when I'm in the area again! If not for TA I would not have chosen this hotel. Thanks TA!

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coffeechoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 500 Tollgate Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Elgin
Elgin Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing