We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Elgin”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2010

We stayed while passing through Chicago and had a great experience. We were impressed with the reasonable price (without any discounts) and general cleanliness of this Quality Inn.

Beds are firm and comfortable. Free, reliable, wifi in the rooms. And if you need, there is also a computer in the lobby. Friendly & helpful staff. Microwave & fridge in each room.

They provide a nice breakfast bar that had virtually anything one would want/need. Yogurts, waffles, sausage, bacon, cereal, hard boiled eggs, and several other options. The breakfast area was a clean organized area and was pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aerete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2010

This is a nice hotel. Not sure it should be rated #1 in Elgin though? The location is right off the highway, but it was a quiet place. I was originally put in a 1st floor room on the end, but noticed alot of noise from people coming in from outside in that area. Was switched to the 2nd floor and it was much quieter there.

The room was nothing to write home about, but it had 4 walls, a roof, and a bed. Not sure what else is needed. Also a fridge and microwave as well as TV. The TV picture was rotten, but not a big deal since I watched it for about 10 minutes.

The hotel seemed clean, but dated. Parking was lit, but still had a scary feel to it .. if that makes any sense. That is really my only negative of the hotel.

Now to the continental breakfast. It consisted of sausage, bacon, cereal, several options of danishes and other unhealthy items, and then my favorite...the waffles. It was one of those make your own waffle things, but they were good! Breakfast area was a clean organized area and was enjoyable.

The front desk staff was also very friendly and accomodating.

So .... with all the pluses I mentioned, I can see how it can be #1 in the area, but the hotel is a bit dated and probably isn't as nice looking as some of its competition across the street, but the breakfast and staff alone made up for that in my eyes.

Overall...a nice stay!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

Came to Elgin to attend a wedding;location of hotel was conviently near the church;the room was clean,staff very helpful;the price was quite reasonable. I just wish there was a shuttle bus from the hotel to the Metra train,which travels to downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetpea1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2010

Great night stay in a clean affordable room. Great for 1 night stay. Sink did not drain the best. Was glad to have AC after a bad experince at Super 8 without it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelingfam15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2010

nice clean hotel, just up the street from the casino. Not alot to do around the hotel though.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaverickI974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

We were impressed with the reasonable price (with AAA discount) and cleanliness of this Quality Inn. We just needed a comfortable place to sleep on a family trip, and this place is not much more than that -- just a view of a parking lot and a brick wall. Not many amenities, but a computer and printer in the lobby were helpful for checking email. One piece of advice - the first floor room next to the elevator comes with frequent low mechanical moans, accompanied by lobby noise. Once we discovered this, the staff cheerfully relocated us to a quieter room. As with other lodging in Elgin clustered along I-90, you need a car to get around the area.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arbornet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

Great hotel in Elgin, we stay when visiting family and have always had a great experience.

Beds are firm and comfortable (a big plus for my husband with a bad back), free, reliable, wifi in the rooms as well as a computer in the lobby. Friendly & helpful staff, Microwave & Fridge in each room. This hotel has everything you need whether on business or a family visit! (except maybe a pool)

Most of the rooms look even better than what is on their website, granite in the bathrooms, fluffy pillows, you really get a great deal for the price they charge.

Also, I always book my room through their website, but I check rates on Kayak first, and then click through where it says "quality inn.com" that way you get the "internet user's rate" from the quality inn website, which does not always display if you go there directly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank intotrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
2.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Elgin, IL
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
2.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 500 Tollgate Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range: £44 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Elgin
Elgin Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing