We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stay Elsewhere”
Reviewed 19 August 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night based on feedback found here. Unfortunately the great reviews we read didn't hold up. When we first arrived, I was greeted by overflowing trash cans at the entrance to the hotel. Upon entering, I immediatley noticed the Computer Workstation was out-of-order, even though when I had called earlier that day, they said it was working. The pool was freezing as was their jaccuzi spa. My children wouldnt even enter either due to the temperature of the water. We found a dirty sock in the Bed between the sheets and a shoe behind the Television counsole.

My advise, keep driving. This is not the normal excellent Country Inn and Suites standards I am accustomed to.

Helpful?
3 Thank MikeHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    92
    24
    8
    8
See reviews for
137
35
12
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Clair Shores, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2006

Everything about this hotel was good. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, the pool was fine, the free breakfast was fresh, and the service was very helpful. We got a great last minute deal from hotwire. I think we paid only $34.00 a night. If ever in Elgin again, I will definately stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjkandik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2006

Based on stay earlier in month in Green Bay at a Country Inn we decided to have a "night away". As with the hotel in Green Bay, it was very nice, clean, and reasonably priced hotel. Country Inn so far has lived up to the positive reviews found on Trip adviser.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IllinoisAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2006

We traveled to Elgin due to a death in the family. Since many members of our family had to travel as well, we all stayed at this hotel. This hotel is very nice and in a good area. The rooms are large and comfortable with friendly staff. I believe it recently underwent a renovation and it shows. You won't find beat up walls, stained carpets, smelly odors and lumpy beds here. It has a small indoor pool and jacuzzi and a fitness room. In the lobby there were several comfy places to curl up next to the fireplace. Complimentary breakfast included waffles, bagels, donuts, selection of cereals and juices. Across the street is a nice steakhouse. A mile or so down the road is a burger king. If you are going to be staying in this area, this hotel is well worth the money.

Stayed January 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank lawdog57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 January 2005

Not a bad option for a basic inexpensive hotel room but few amenities. Large room - for $10 more I had a room with a jacuzzi!
Breakfast pretty basic. No restaurant on site (it's across the parking lot). There are more upscale hotels in Elgin for not much more $.
Staff was very friendly.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
0.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Elgin - Northwest Chicago
2.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Address: 2270 Point Blvd, Elgin, IL 60123-7862
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Elgin
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin Hotel Elgin
Country Inn Elgin
Elgin Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing