We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Party Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
“Best Party Ever!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Holiday Inn was the perfect place for our Sweet 16 daughter's party. We had about 50 guests in the Crystal Room. The room was beautiful and very comfortable. Everybody had a great time. They loved the food and the staff were efficient and friendly. I was reluctant to spend a ton of money on a birthday party, but the Holiday Inn was definitely a great value. Our event coordinator, Kaitlyn Rapacz, was totally amazing. She was a dream to work with. She managed to get us everything we wanted on a specific budget. She was honest, pleasant and professional at the same time. Mark took over during the event, he managed to go above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of during the party. He was great, he even pleased the kids to hang a butterfly piñata. They had a blast. There's nothing more we could have asked for our daughter's Sweet 16 party, and I would absolutely recommend the Holiday Inn to anyone who is planning to make a party.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for feedback. Our entire banquet staff enjoyed making your daughters 16th birthday a memorable one. Thank you for the glowing review and many thanks for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    68
    22
    7
    8
See reviews for
55
26
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Location was right off I-90. I was in area to attend baseball games at Judson University--only about a mile or two away. Busy area, but close to shopping and restaurants. Nice, clean and comfortable hotel. Great staff. Nice area. I will definitely stay here again if I'm in the area. The hotel itself had an upscale feel to it. I stay at a lot of Holiday Inn's and I classify this one as great!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Funandsun23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We loved taking care of you and are looking forward to providing another great experience on your next visit. Thank you for being our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very comfortable beds and pillows. I got this hotel on Priceline, so I don't know if it's worth the money normally charged, but for Priceline, this was a very nice deal. The only issue was there were a bunch of hockey kids (around ages 8-10) that were making a lot of noise in the hallways, and despite the front desk being told, it never really stopped.

Room Tip: Specifically ask to be away from any large blocks of guests who may be inclined to make more noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felixmadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. When hockey teams stay in our hotel we do our best to keep the parents and chaperones notified about the noise factor being generated, most chaperones are excellent in keeping their teams in line, I am sorry that was not the case during your stay. I have notified our security team to take stronger action to eliminate the noise in future events. Many thanks for your your generous comments about our hotel, and we're looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

A standard typical Holiday Inn. No surprise whatsoever. Poor, slow and weak wifi. Difficult to get connection that is stable.

Located too far away from airport. They have agreement with cab company for transport to Chicago Airport, around USD 45:- one way.

Not possible to adjust temperature in the room so if you are hot or cold you are stuck, no possibility to open the windows.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sredna1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are in the process of upgrading our free WiFi system and will be adding faster speeds and more than doubling the distribution hubs so the signal is even and continuous for easier use, I am very sorry that we did not complete the project while we were renovating the hotel. We are looking forward to serving you a better WiFi signal on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I got a room that had menstrual blood on my bed . I was so disgusted . It was dried on there so it ment that clearly the housekeeping didnt change any of the sheets . Thank GOD I got a extra bed for my son to sleep in so we shared a bed . The manger rhage took care of me as far as the room but never in my life has this happend to me and I travel a lot.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrstravelaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I have discussed the problem you encountered and brought to my attention with our entire housekeeping department and brought to their attention the importance of checking all beds for cleanliness even though they might seem to have not beed used. My apologies for the problem you encountered and many thanks for helping me maintain our high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for a single night while on business in the area. This hotel is right off I-90 in a nice area, with shopping and restaurants near by.

The hotel has been remodeled, and it is clean and bright, in the lobby, restaurant and rooms. Everything was comfortable, well maintained, and had an upscale feel to it. My room had a separate bedroom area, including two large flat screen tv's. Everything worked well, although the wifi was a bit slow later in the evening, and the air conditioner was loud. The Bennigins restaurant was clean and friendly, although the food was average.

If back in the area, I would definetely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased indeed with the high praise and are looking forward to serving you on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Union, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip with my husband. Was amazed at the reasonable rate, cleanliness & service. Our room was huge, with a sitting area equipped with sofa, table to eat at, micro, refrigerator, TV & sink. We had a king sized bed which was crisp, clean, & luxuriously comfortable. The sleeping area included a desk and TV. The bathroom was the largest we'd ever seen in a hotel, with a roomy, double shower. Hotel has a Bennigan's Bar & Grill attached, with great food!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hratch B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased to have exceeded your expectations, I might also add that you did a lovely job in describing our King executive suite. Thank you for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Chicago/Elgin
2.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elgin
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Elgin
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
2.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Elgin
0.2 mi away
TownePlace Suites Chicago Elgin/West Dundee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest
Address: 495 Airport Rd, Elgin, IL 60123-9356
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Elgin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Elgin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest perfectly located between Hoffman Estates, West Dundee, Barrington, Rockford and Huntley. Whether visiting Bystronic, SKF, Siemens, Judson University, Renishaw, Verizon, or General Electric our location directly off of I-90 and only 19 miles west of O'Hare International Airport makes us the ideal location. During your stay enjoy the many attractions of downtown Elgin including the Grand Victoria Casino and Hemmens Cultural Center or attend an event at the Sears Centre. The Holiday Inn Elgin Hotel & Suites Chicago Northwest caters to business and leisure travelers with deluxe amenities and services; including complimentary Wi-Fi, HDTVs, microwaves and mini fridges in all guest rooms. We offer several dining options featuring Bennigan's Irish Restaurant and Pub, breakfast in Crystals and room service. Our ballroom accommodates up to 300 guests for dinner, making us the perfect Elgin Wedding Venue. From intimate affairs to grand events, our 10,000 sq. ft. of banquet space can accommodate all of your needs. Our Catering Managers are here to assist with planning your Wedding Reception, Birthday Party, Reunion or Quinceanera. Our Sales staff is here to assist with any guest room block needs for offsite wedding receptions, reunions and sport groups. Your guests can enjoy the largest indoor pool in the area featuring an oversized hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Suites Chicago Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Elgin
Holiday Inn Chicago Northwest
Elgin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing