We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply...the Best”
Review of The View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elizabeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The View Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
“Simply...the Best”
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Everything you have ever wanted in a place to stay from the hospitality of the owners to the environment of the area. Period.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    25
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
92
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A very nice motel, close to Galena and Savanna. The property is neat, clean, and well kept. The room was clean and comfortable. The owners are very friendly, hospitable, and accommodating. Prices are more reasonable than many others in surrounding 'resort' area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The pride in ownership and customer service definately are at The View Motel. Andy and Joyce made our Memorial Day weekend very comfortable. The motel is clean and very well kept, the customer service is outstanding! Biker friendly you can park your bike right at your door, great outdoor space to enjoy the views. Will for sure make this an annual getaway for us!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle Grove, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Andy and Joyce are so nice and helpful! We had a group of 6 and The View was perfect for us. We were able to gather outside by the fire in the evening and enjoy each others company. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The landscaping and views are fantastic. Our family will definitely stay at The View the next time we are in the area!

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Susie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My husband and I just took a motorcycle ride to the Galena area for two days and spent our night at the View Motel, between Elizabeth and Galena. Manicured to perfectionist and lovely owners, Andy and Joyce! Room was large and very comfortable, just to mention how clean everything was! We will be back for another stay and hopefully for a longer stay. Breathtaking views also and price was not bad at all, compared to the prices in downtown Galena. Andy and Joyce, we will be back and wish you a wonderful summer season. (Beth & Bud)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EverSingleDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viola Il
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Our stay was great! We felt like long lost friends from the moment we pulled in the driveway. Andy & Joyce are so nice & invited us to sit outside with them & visit. The homey atmosphere was just what we were looking for. We were going to Galena & didn't want to pay the high prices in town. The rooms were clean & the water pressure was fantastic. When we got there, they showed us around the property. Also with your stay, you get a free bag of ice & complimentary drink: wine; beer, pop, etc. What a relaxing weekend we had! We will definetely go back. to The View Motel. Thanx Andy & Joyce,
The Bodeen's

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, IL
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

It may see unbelievable, but all those fantastic reviews of this motel are right on the money. While it is "on the beaten path" to Galena, it would be easy to miss. If you're going to Galena and are just a little put off by the prices of the rooms in town, try The View. You'll be glad you did, and it may just become your first choice for a place to stay when you return.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HappyVeganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
9.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
12.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
11.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
8.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
13.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Motel

Property: The View Motel
Address: 2500 US Highway 20 W, Junction of Hwys 20 & 84, Elizabeth, IL 61028-9481
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The View Hotel Elizabeth
View Hotel Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing