We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly view to stay”
Review of The View Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elizabeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The View Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The owner was very gracious and helpful regarding the area since we were not familiar. The room was very clean and comfortable. The price for the room was reasonable for the area. Highly recommend this motel but would be wise to call and make reservations in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

One of the best small motels I have seen. Loved the decor, and the service. This is not one of those places that looks different when you arrive, the pictures on their website are a clear representation of their establishment. I would not hesitate recommending The View.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamisonandJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is the type of motel that you stayed in when you were a kid on a family vacation. Andy and Joyce do a great job, and make you feel like a valued guest. They go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. It is 13-14 minutes from Galena. There is some traffic noise, but does not distract from the views and hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for the first time and enjoyed our stay. Andy and Joyce are everything everyone has written about them. The accommodations are very clean and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. A complimentary glass of wine or beer as you arrive, bonfire in the evening complete with music and towels just for your motorcycle to wipe down in the morning. If you want a weekend reservation though, call early because they can book up a month in advance. Have been coming to the Galena area for over 30 years and this place far surpasses any other motel in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LimaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Wonderful stay on Labor Day weekend. Clean, comfortable and very affordable. Andy and Joyce are REAL people that want you to enjoy your stay. The recommendations we were given for breakfast and dinner were perfect. This was my first stay at The View but it won't be me last!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Just outside the town of Elizabeth and 10 minutes before you get to Galena on Highway 20,is the delightful motel called The View. It is run by Andy and Joyce, a couple who truly know and exhibit the meaning of customer service. Whether its extra pillows or recommendations for places to eat, Andy and Joyce are always on hand to help. The shower is excellent (strong), there is superb WiFi, each room has an AC unit, and flat screen TV. The rooms are meticulously clean and great
value. There are Adirondack chairs out back to relax in and in the evening, Andy has an outdoor fireplace and tiki lanterns going. My husband and I stayed three nights and met some of the other customers as well as sampled Andy's homemade fries at the fireplace! There's also the always open Room 6 which had tourist info, brochures, a refrigerator, and microwave for customer use. Would I recommend The View to my friends and family? I already have!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calmac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent the Labor Day weekend at The View with Andy & Joyce. This is by far the BEST motel that I have ever stayed at. True customer service and caring that can not be faked and has nothing to do with profit. This couple really cares about the people who stay with them, from the complimentary glass of wine when we arrived, the excellent advice (that was always spot on) about where to go for fun, food, and whatever, to the S'Mores that Joyce brought out as we sat around the fire, for the couple who arrived late with a small child, I can not recommend this motel more! The rooms are spotlessly clean and you can see the attention to detail and true pride of ownership all around. You will be very pleasantly surprised and find yourself wanting to return again and again. We are already making plans to go back and enjoy more of the The View and bring our friends and family too. Forget all the big corporate hotels and motels and go to The View for a true relaxing vacation. Can't say enough about how wonderful our weekend was at The View!

Room Tip: They are ALL great rooms! We had the Anniversary Suite and it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tami C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabeth
9.6 mi away
Best Western Designer Inn & Suites
12.3 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
11.3 mi away
Stoney Creek Inn
Stoney Creek Inn
#2 of 11 in Galena
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena IL
8.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellevue
13.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites Stockton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Motel

Address: 2500 US Highway 20 W, Junction of Hwys 20 & 84, Elizabeth, IL 61028-9481
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Price Range: £45 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
The View Hotel Elizabeth
View Hotel Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing