We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service & comfortable rooms--feels like home.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Elizabeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Marcotte's Family Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Reviewed 3 May 2010

Although it's about 15 miles or so from Galena, this is a great place to stay. With 7 people in our party, we rented the "apartment"--it was perfect. We had our own little kitchen, two baths and enough beds to sleep 8. The owners loaned us their grill, started a campfire for us and let us use their hot tub and even provided robes. The country view is great and has some nice side roads for walking or running. I'd highly recommend this place and would certainly come back again. The morning coffee and muffins were fantastic.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonjo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2010

This motel has a great location just minutes from Galena.
The owners, Art and Donna, are great hosts who make you feel comfotable.
We stayed twice here and you can't beat the spot or the value.
Last year we stayed in a room that has it's own deck which was great to hang out on each evening. I recommend this for couples or small families since the motel does have rooms that are adjoining. Donna also makes great coffee and muffins each morning!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ggs1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2009

I grew up in this neck of the woods and I remember when this motel was built back in the 60's. It has been thru many incarnations since then, but its current one as the Marcotte's Family Motel is probably the best yet. My son and I motorcycled 500 miles to visit my mother in Elizabeth, and we decided to give this establishment a try because it was so conveniently located. We rode thru a lot of foul weather that day and arrived soaked, but we were warmly welcomed and the the proprietor let us put our bikes in her personal garage to get them out of the weather. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are quaint, you can't beat the price, and the morning muffins are wonderful! I travel extensively all over the world and am involved in television production. This establishment just has a great retro, step-back-in-time feel. Check 'em out!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wickedstash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2009

Quaint, friendly, clean and very affordable. A great place to stay. Feels like family!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnygirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2009

Great Hospitality. Comfortable cozy rooms.
We needd a ajoining room and it worked out great!

We had coffee and muffins at our doorstep in the morning.
We were traveling a night and the owner came out to greet us right away.
The rate was very affordable.
It's outside of Elizabeth, but worth the extra time if you are planning on seeing Galena.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soozz0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Every year our club travels to Galena. A couple of years back, the hotel where everyone was staying was booked and I "happened" across Marcotte Family Motel in Elizabethtown. This place was perfect. With plenty of nice paths/roads for those that run in the morning, to excellent views, comfortable and spacious rooms.... It was wonderful. I loved the stay and am now a continually returning customer. There is nothing better than going to bed after a nice campfire at night, then waking up to a pot of hot fresh coffee accompanied by a warm, fresh from the oven muffin sitting outside your door. I never slept better!! I have shared this wonderful place with many of my friends who love it and have returned just as much as I do.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwolfe101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

I lucked into this delightful mom-and-pop style motel at dusk on a Saturday evening. It was a pleasant departure from the chain-motel travel experience. My room was charming, very clean, and had windows that open to allow cool evening air and soothing night sounds. The view over the lush, rolling hills was lovely. A carafe of coffee with a warm muffin was delivered to my room in the morning. AND, my sweet well-mannered dog was welcomed as warmly as I was.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsWithDoggieToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Marcotte's Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcotte's Family Motel

Address: 2156 East Route 20, Elizabeth, IL 61028
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Elizabeth
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family-run motel dedicated to our guests' having the best motel experience ever! Whether you're staying in the Galena/JoDaviess County area for a few days or just passing through, we want you to enjoy your stay and recommend us to your friends and family. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marcottes Family Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing