We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Have plenty of time on your hands” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broken Yolk

Broken Yolk
Ranked #5 of 9 Restaurants in Elizabeth
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Great little breakfast (and lunch) place. Terrific food and friendly service.
Galena Illinois
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Have plenty of time on your hands”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

Food was very good..the hostess did warn us that it would be a while till we got our food
..she wasnt kidding. As they only do breakfast. ..I couldnt understand why they didnt have a handle on the timing...unless they have a tiny kitchen. .and if so. .then do something about it..but food was very good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Welcomed surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Since there is no more "Mac's" in Elizabeth this was a good recommendation of the Sunday housekeeper at "the view" to follow. Only a former resident of Elizabeth will understand that.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill53959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

My wife and I stopped here on our way from Galena back to Chicago. The front desk at our hotel recommended this as the best breakfast along the way. We were looking forward to a dive, home-style breakfast. The building and country-western decor gave us high hopes as we walked in, but from there on everything else was just average. The service was pretty slow and rarely checked on us. The food was just ok. I've had better at big chains such as Waffle House and IHOP.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
243 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“One of Illinois' best kept secrets!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We were returning home from a visit to beautiful Galena, IL. This beautiful historical community will be reviewed in another review, but, back to the "Broken Yolk"! We departed Galena early and were searching for somewhere to have breakfast, our hotel front desk suggested the Broken Yolk as we checked out. As we pulled into the parking lot, we were concerned because it really looked like a country store dive! However, when we opened the door we were greeted with a group of locals seated at the bar...."Good Mornin'...Come on in....How are you'all"......if we didnt know better, we would have thought we were in the south! Well you want to hear about the service and food! All I can say is it was GREAT....the service was excellent, the food was "country cooking" GOOD and the atmosphere was super! We will absolutely return and highly suggest you give it a try! You wont regret it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Broke-and-Hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebring, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great home town feel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had breakfast here and really enjoyed it. Clean & friendly. Locals hang out here for sure. The decor in this restaurant are western which is cool to look at while waiting for your food. Don't forget to ring the bell on the way out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broken Yolk also viewed

 

Been to Broken Yolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing