We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed every moment of our stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We enjoyed every moment of our stay!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Bob and Dixie are wonderful people who made us feel right at home. Not only are they close to Garden of the Gods, Rim Rock, Pounds Hollow, Cave in Rock, etc, they also have spectacular property with great hiking, as well. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNJohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2012

One of the best vacations I have ever been on! Cabins are amazing, not only fully stocked but beautifully decorated, built, clean and comfortable. The owners, Bob and Dixie are the sweetest, kindest people and a huge thank you to them for such an amazing place. The care they put into the property is clearly shown and I can not wait to return and experience all the wonderful activities to do in the area!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at Rim Rock in June for 5 nights and all I can say is . . . WOW!! Do yourself a favor and call them today. The cabins are beautiful, CLEAN, well-appointed, and charming. All you have to do is bring your food and drinks and you have all you need to enjoy yourself. I had never been in that part of Illinois before and was simply blown away at the terrific scenery - the hiking just across from the cabins at Rim Rock Recreational Trail is even better than Garden of the Gods (thanks for that bit of advice, Dixie!). My husband and I even brought our kayak and did the best kayaking we have done ever in the Cypress Creek National Wildlife Reserve along the Cache River.

Don't like to hike or kayak? Just want to relax? it is stillthe perfect place - my husband and I would like to come back in the fall or winter and just enjoy the peace and quiet. We loved waking up and listening to the birds or taking a little walk to Bob and Dixie's farm and enjoying the horses, goats, guineas, the rooster, and their delightful dogs.

In short, it's a great place to get away for not a lot of money. Pack your bug spray, sun block, food and drink and get going! You won't be sorry.

The Kalagians

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dereka3034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We wanted a home base for exploring SW Illinois - hiking, scenic drives along the Ohio River, visiting river towns and KY Amish country. We wanted a place that was peaceful and comfortable, where we could fix some of our meals and do a little grilling, but not loaded up with a bunch of extra amenities that we did not plan to use. Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins had everything we were looking for. We practically lived on the large screened in porch, but in the hottest part of the day we appreciated the A/C indoors. We stayed in Cougar Bluff, the smallest cabin, which was great for a couple. If we were going to go back in the colder weather and not use the porch so much we would probably opt for a slightly larger cabin to be able to spread out a bit more. It was too hot to use the fire pit, but that's another reason to come back in the cooler weather. Our cabin was on a part of the property with two other cabins nearby, but each one had a separate, semi screened sitting area with a fire pit, so you have your own space, even outdoors. Yet if a group was to rent multiple cabins, they are close enough to be conveniently walkable. I think the owners have made really thoughtful choices about what to include and what to leave out, maximizing value for their customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Me and a friend of mine are getting ready to make our third trip to Dogwood Cabins. The cabins are so cozy and clean, plus Bob and Dixie are wonderfull people, very friendly and caring. The scenery around the place is so relaxed and quiet. I cannot imigine anyone not enjoying their stay. Plus all the wonderful things to do in surrounding areas. This is an execellent place to go.

Room Tip: My favorite is Coyote Cabin, or Deer Run, but all are very nice, depending on how many people and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pam1827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I wanted to give give them 4 stars just so folks don't think the reviews are being stacked, but they are certainly in the 5 star category. The cabins are more than just clean and functional, you feel like you are at home in them. We stayed in Deer Run and Cougar Bluff. Deer Run is a nice spacious cabin with a loft for the kids and a private bedroom for mom and dad. Cougar Bluff was a bit tighter with no private bedroom but still a cool loft area for the kids.

The location is a huge plus with a quick drive to many hiking trails, fishing spots, and areas of interest. The Rim Rock trail is great, as was Garden of the Gods. They have stocked the cabins with all of the information you could possibly want for the surrounding area - hiking, riding, food, fishing, etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomatoVodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Charles
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This area in Southern Illinois is a special surprise. If you like the outdoors then you will be one happy traveler. Great outdoor places in Illinois include this area, Starve Rock area, and Galena. This one has actual wilderness. Now for the resort-ranch. It is a great place with modern cabins. The cabins are well spead out and this place has all the extras. The owners are great. They take great pride in the place and they provide true Southern hospitality. This place even has a extra service which I call the dessert lady. She offers home made dessert delivered to your cabin. Great place and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
17.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harrisburg
38 reviews
4.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins
#1 of 3 in Elizabethtown
184 reviews
17.0 mi away
Super 8 Harrisburg
Super 8 Harrisburg
#3 of 3 in Harrisburg
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
River Rose Inn B&B
River Rose Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Elizabethtown
26 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins

Property: Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins
Address: Box 124 RR 2, Elizabethtown, IL 62931
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five beautiful pet friendly Southern Illinois Shawnee Forest cabins near Garden of the Gods. These Southern Illinois cabins are all sizes and include full kitchens and all essentials, linens, coffee pot, electric fire place, outside fire pit including wood, outside grills (gas and charcoal), full bath with shower, heat and air, screened in porch, satellite TV and wifi. Eagle's Retreat and Deer Run have two bathrooms. Our Garden of the Gods cabins are located in the Shawnee National Forest adjacent to Rim Rock Hiking Trail. Our Shawnee Forest cabins are near Garden of the Gods and Pounds Hollow Lake. These Illinois cabins are near Cave in Rock State Park, Saline County Wildlife area, Glen O Jones Lake, Ohio River, Kentucky Amish Country, Bell Smith Springs and much more. Southern Illinois cabins are pet friendly and have various animals here on our property. We have a private 1.6 Mile hiking trail around our 77 acres and Rim Rock hiking trail is right across the road from the cabins. Hike without ever getting into your car. We are only 1/3 mile from River to River Trail. We are on the American Discovery Trail, the Ohio River Scenic Byway and the Shawnee Scenic Byway. Our Southern Illinois Cabins are in a very private setting on 77 acres surrounded by the Shawnee National Forest. All cabins have large water heaters and either queen beds or comfortable queen sofa loungers as well. We have various animals on our property for our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins Illinois/Elizabethtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing