We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Harrisburg)
US$88
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hometown Inn(Morganfield)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Super 8 Eddyville(Eddyville)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regency Inn(Eddyville)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Kuttawa(Kuttawa)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Patti's Inn & Suites(Grand Rivers)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
120
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitshawnee national forestgreat hostsgreat hikingfull kitchenfuton mattresseskids loved the animalsthe location is perfectpounds hollowgodsretreatloftpropertyprivacybunkstovecomfort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We just spent 2 nights in Deer Run cabin. This cozy cabin nestled in the woods was just what we needed to relax. It had more than enough room for 2 (it sleeps 8). When we come back our daughter will love the loft. Our cabin was absolutely spotless. Everything we needed was provided and then some. Don't hesitate visiting in the winter, not only do you get a great rate but the peacefulness of crisp winter days and the coziness of a warm cabin at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoosiergirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Wow...what a nice review. Thank you for taking the time to do it and for the wonderful things you said about our place. This area is so lovely and we enjoy sharing. Hope to see you again. Our guests are just the best. Bob and Dixie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This was our second stay at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins and my husband and I can not say enough good about this property. Both times we have stayed at Coyote Hollow Cabin and have left feeling so rejuvenated and connected again with one another. We have only been able to stay two nights at a time but we hope one of these days to stay for a week.

If you get a chance, hike their 1.6 mile perimeter trail around the property. It has the perfect combination of hills and flat land to get the blood pumping but without being too strenuous. We also love the Rim Rock trail that leads to Ponds Hollow lake, but opted not to take it this time due to a light snow fall and slick leaves.

If peace and quiet is what you need then this is it!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions on their website to choose the best cabin for your size family.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eagle2pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

"Perfect place to restore the spirit". Thank you so much. That is the way we have felt since moving here in 2001. Especially glad you enjoyed the trail around our property. Bob and I have enjoyed it for years and it suddenly dawned on us (duh) that others might as well. Perfect place to hike early in the morning or evening especially with four legged friends. Thank you for taking your time to do this review. Come back and see us. Bob and Dixie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Excellent location, nice clean cabins and helpful owners. Very quiet area. Surprisingly easy to find. For a long weekend getaway it was perfect.But remember to bring your own food / drinks as there is not much around.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank TAC1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2013

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our place. Very much appreciated. We do strive to make the cabins clean and thank you for saying something about it. Come back and see us some time. Area is beautiful in all seasons. Thanks again. Bob and Dixie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

My wife and I have been coming here for many years. We usually stay for 3 to 5 days, for a wonderful, relaxing, winter break. We've stayed in the Cougar's Den and Deer Run cabins, and they both were great. Cougar's Den is small but cozy, while Deer Run is more spacious, but both are well-equipped and comfortable. Dixie and Bob Dart are helpful, friendly and accommodating, and the cabins are always clean and ready for us when we arrive.

There is terrific hiking right across the road from the cabins in the Rim Rock area (with some really nice rock cliffs and views), with another trail that leads from there to Pound's Hollow (a pleasant lake, where there is swimming in the warmer months). A short drive will get you to Garden of the Gods, or High Knob, both great places to hike, and a bit further (10-15 miles, I think) to One Horse Gap and One Horse Gap Lake.

We've stayed at a lot of cabins in the Illinois-Missouri area, and this is the one place we keep coming back to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The minute I stepped into our beautiful and cozy cabin (Deer Run), I commented to my husband that I felt as if I was warmly hugged. Spending time at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabin over Christmas was our second stay there, and what perfect timing! The cabin had been joyously decorated with Christmas decorations! No need to pack a tree or lights! The grounds have a lovely trail and a barnyard full of animals. It's fun to watch our city dog deal with the goats, horses and chicks! A Shawnee National Forest trail is a quick jaunt across the street and if you want to hole up, your wilderness world is complete. For those craving more adventure, a plethora of activities from more trails to wineries and chocolate shops await.

Bob and Dixie love their land and want you to love it too. We do and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews