We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Illinois.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elizabethtown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place to stay in Illinois.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

This place is magical. From the horses on the farm to the clean cabins and fresh cuts flowers on the porch. It was the perfect getaway for our 10 year anniversary. We loved it and will be back in August.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyWoodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Best of all, so glad you want to come back and see us. This area is so beautiful. Am glad you enjoyed your stay. B&D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
44
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful stay in their Cougar Bluff Cabin in February. It is tiny, but perfect for two with a climb up a ladder to a very comfy loft. Very clean, well kept and such a friendly atmosphere! When we arrived there was an ice storm so we holed up in our adorable cabin and watched movies. We really appreciated the fact that the owner called us to be sure we were safe and sound. In the morning the melting ice made for beautiful hiking: Right across the street from Rim Rock trail, a really fun easy hike and right down the road from Garden of the Gods where the trail hiking is intersting and the wilderness hiking is limitless!
We hope to come back this summer!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynTheThird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
Just a note to say THANK YOU for your review. Bob and I appreciate you taking the time to do this. Come back and see us. Spring is finally coming on....dogwoods will be blooming shortly and hopefully some mushrooms will pop out. Take care and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We spent two nights in Deer Run cabin and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabin is private, cozy, and nicely appointed. We're hikers, so the first thing we did was walk the 1.6 mile perimeter trail. It was late afternoon and there was a coating of snow in the woods. The well-marked and well-maintained trail made for a delightful introduction to Shawnee National Forest. The next morning we walked through the nearby cemetery, crossed the highway, and walked 5 minutes to the head of the Rim Rock Trail. It was a little nippy but the trail is paved in stone, and while there was an inch of snow elsewhere, the trail was perfectly dry. Dixie had instructed us on just the right way to approach the trail, which takes you around an escarpment (rocky bluffs). We followed her directions and enjoyed an enchanting winter morning hiking through unusual rock formations and babbling streams, then on to the lake at Pounds Hollow. Not a soul on the trail besides us. After about two hours on the trail, we headed back to Deer Run for lunch. The close proximity of the cabin to the Rim Rock Trail is a big plus. That afternoon we headed over to the Garden of the Gods and saw terrain that was quite different from Rim Rock and amazing in its own way. All in all, the accessibility of those first-class hiking opportunities from Dogwood Cabins makes this an excellent choice for getting to know Shawnee National Forest. We'll be back for spring and fall, and we know just where we'd like to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
THANK YOU for taking the time to review our place. So gratifying to Bob and I to see our guests truly enjoy their stay in this beautiful country. And, especially gratifying when they like our cabins. Thank you so much and we will look forward to seeing you in the future. Bob and Dixie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We just spent 2 nights in Deer Run cabin. This cozy cabin nestled in the woods was just what we needed to relax. It had more than enough room for 2 (it sleeps 8). When we come back our daughter will love the loft. Our cabin was absolutely spotless. Everything we needed was provided and then some. Don't hesitate visiting in the winter, not only do you get a great rate but the peacefulness of crisp winter days and the coziness of a warm cabin at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoosiergirl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Wow...what a nice review. Thank you for taking the time to do it and for the wonderful things you said about our place. This area is so lovely and we enjoy sharing. Hope to see you again. Our guests are just the best. Bob and Dixie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphysboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

This was our second stay at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins and my husband and I can not say enough good about this property. Both times we have stayed at Coyote Hollow Cabin and have left feeling so rejuvenated and connected again with one another. We have only been able to stay two nights at a time but we hope one of these days to stay for a week.

If you get a chance, hike their 1.6 mile perimeter trail around the property. It has the perfect combination of hills and flat land to get the blood pumping but without being too strenuous. We also love the Rim Rock trail that leads to Ponds Hollow lake, but opted not to take it this time due to a light snow fall and slick leaves.

If peace and quiet is what you need then this is it!

Room Tip: Read the descriptions on their website to choose the best cabin for your size family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagle2pet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
"Perfect place to restore the spirit". Thank you so much. That is the way we have felt since moving here in 2001. Especially glad you enjoyed the trail around our property. Bob and I have enjoyed it for years and it suddenly dawned on us (duh) that others might as well. Perfect place to hike early in the morning or evening especially with four legged friends. Thank you for taking your time to do this review. Come back and see us. Bob and Dixie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Park Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

Excellent location, nice clean cabins and helpful owners. Very quiet area. Surprisingly easy to find. For a long weekend getaway it was perfect.But remember to bring your own food / drinks as there is not much around.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TAC1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karbersridge, Owner at Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking your time to review our place. Very much appreciated. We do strive to make the cabins clean and thank you for saying something about it. Come back and see us some time. Area is beautiful in all seasons. Thanks again. Bob and Dixie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, MO
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

My wife and I have been coming here for many years. We usually stay for 3 to 5 days, for a wonderful, relaxing, winter break. We've stayed in the Cougar's Den and Deer Run cabins, and they both were great. Cougar's Den is small but cozy, while Deer Run is more spacious, but both are well-equipped and comfortable. Dixie and Bob Dart are helpful, friendly and accommodating, and the cabins are always clean and ready for us when we arrive.

There is terrific hiking right across the road from the cabins in the Rim Rock area (with some really nice rock cliffs and views), with another trail that leads from there to Pound's Hollow (a pleasant lake, where there is swimming in the warmer months). A short drive will get you to Garden of the Gods, or High Knob, both great places to hike, and a bit further (10-15 miles, I think) to One Horse Gap and One Horse Gap Lake.

We've stayed at a lot of cabins in the Illinois-Missouri area, and this is the one place we keep coming back to. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
17.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harrisburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
19.7 mi away
Riverview Mansion Hotel
Riverview Mansion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Golconda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
17.0 mi away
Super 8 Harrisburg
Super 8 Harrisburg
#3 of 3 in Harrisburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
River Rose Inn B&B
River Rose Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Elizabethtown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins

Property: Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins
Address: Box 124 RR 2, Elizabethtown, IL 62931
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Elizabethtown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five beautiful pet friendly Southern Illinois Shawnee Forest cabins near Garden of the Gods. These Southern Illinois cabins are all sizes and include full kitchens and all essentials, linens, coffee pot, electric fire place, outside fire pit including wood, outside grills (gas and charcoal), full bath with shower, heat and air, screened in porch, satellite TV and wifi. Eagle's Retreat and Deer Run have two bathrooms. Our Garden of the Gods cabins are located in the Shawnee National Forest adjacent to Rim Rock Hiking Trail. Our Shawnee Forest cabins are near Garden of the Gods and Pounds Hollow Lake. These Illinois cabins are near Cave in Rock State Park, Saline County Wildlife area, Glen O Jones Lake, Ohio River, Kentucky Amish Country, Bell Smith Springs and much more. Southern Illinois cabins are pet friendly and have various animals here on our property. We have a private 1.6 Mile hiking trail around our 77 acres and Rim Rock hiking trail is right across the road from the cabins. Hike without ever getting into your car. We are only 1/3 mile from River to River Trail. We are on the American Discovery Trail, the Ohio River Scenic Byway and the Shawnee Scenic Byway. Our Southern Illinois Cabins are in a very private setting on 77 acres surrounded by the Shawnee National Forest. All cabins have large water heaters and either queen beds or comfortable queen sofa loungers as well. We have various animals on our property for our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rim Rock's Dogwood Cabins Illinois/Elizabethtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing