We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to Timber Ridge was wonderful. Right in the heart of the Shawnee nat'l forest and conveniently located to the famous Garden of the Gods therein. Timber Ridge is well known for its treehouse cabins (and rightly so) but we stayed in the Sassafras cabin which is one of their standard cabins. Fantastic!! It is a true log cabin with all modern amenities. Beautiful and spotlessly clean interior with a rustic feel. Outstanding kitchen, bathroom (with claw foot tub,and shower), and living area. The upstairs contained two beds and a daybed. Each floor had ample climate control. The beds were quite comfy. Large quantity of wood nearby for fires in the firepit by the hammock and camping style chairs. Pet friendly! Extremely convenient. Truly a hassle free location. Elizabeth and her staff have thought of it all. All you have to do is show up! Bring all the food you want and cook and serve on the ware provided or drive a short distance to your favorite restaurant. I will be returning without a doubt!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank majburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Maple Oak Treehouse provided by Timberridge Outposts and Cabins and it was everything I could have ever imagined! My boyfriend and I, along with another couple stayed duringg Memorial Day Weekend. Great star gazing field, hammocks everywhere, and short drives to other main attractions. We saw Garden of the Gods, Rim Rock, and from Rim Rock we hiked to Pounds Hollow Lake. Beautiful scenery and the treehouse was very clean and well kept. Elizabeth answered all of my questions quickly and thoroughly and was very helpful. I hope to return sometime!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in the maple treehouse, it was such a great experience. The treehouse really sleeps two but with younger children maybe four. The area around the treehouse is very nice and some what private. You do feel like it's your own campsite. They have a fire pit, camp style charcoal grill. The fire wood is provided and charcoal in not. Mind you this is a small treehouse, but your outside more than in the treehouse itself. The location is very close to the Garden of the Gods, which is a must see while visiting. They also have a game area with bags, horseshoes and tether ball. All and all a great place to stay...if your not into tree houses, the also have log cabins if you want to keep yourself closer to the ground. They also allow dog...so we took ours on his first vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timandjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent four days/three nights in the smaller of the two treehouses (2 adults and 2 kids, age 4 and 7). Although a little small at times (the other treehouse is larger), we did not plan to - and did not - spend a lot of time in the treehouse with all the recreational opportunities in the area (Garden of the Gods, Cave in Rock, etc.). With good weather, no reason to not be outside on the grounds or out and about. Hosts are extremely friendly and helpful. Come prepared to make do for meals with the outdoor grill (could use an upgrade to one with a cover) and microwave/cooktop in the treehouse, as provisions are a good drive away, and best to not have to spend too much time in a car once there. Very unique setting and very fun for kids.

Room Tip: Go for one of the treehouses if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSandJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were the first guests to stay at Walnut Hill. It was absolutely beautiful! The owners bent over backwards to make sure we had all we needed and wanted. The setting is perfect, so close to Garden of the Gods and Rim Hill. The property is maintained very nicely. I just wish we had more time. The best part had to be the tub in the Master bath, and the King size bed, we really enjoyed both. We LOVED our time in Southern Illinois, we would definitely go through Timber Ridge again, would love to stay in a tree house. Looking forward to our next visit! Thank You!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kbean3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed in the White Oak Treehouse for one night and did so much in a short amount of time that it felt like a full weekend of fun and relaxation. We drove a short distance to a couple of hiking trails and even seen the sunset while sitting in the Garden of the Gods. Amazing place! We cooked burgers on the grill just outside of the tree house and made a fire in the fire ring at night. It was a perfect getaway that i won't soon forget.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ZachW1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I stayed in a treehouse with my 21 year old daughter and her bestie for two days. We had a terrific time. The tree house was cozy, fun, relaxing, and equipped with everything we needed from kitchen gear to bedding. The local scenery was amazing and easy to get to. The staff were friendly and helpful. This was a nice combination of hiking and staying in pleasant, novel accommodations. We all had a great time!

Room Tip: The cabins are nice, but go for a tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elizabethtown
16.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#2 of 3 in Harrisburg
39 reviews
15.8 mi away
Riverview Mansion Hotel
Riverview Mansion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Golconda
25 reviews
16.3 mi away
Super 8 Harrisburg
Super 8 Harrisburg
#3 of 3 in Harrisburg
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
River Rose Inn B&B
River Rose Inn B&B
#2 of 2 in Elizabethtown
26 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins

Address: RR2 Box 34A, Near Karbers Ridge Road, Elizabethtown, IL 62931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Elizabethtown
Price Range: £100 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins is Illinois' 1st and only Tree House and Log Cabin resort. We are located in the Shawnee Hills/Illinois Ozarks region in southeastern Illinois. Enjoy luxurious accommodations in a pet and kid friendly resort atmosphere. Stay in an authentic Antique Log Cabin, Circa 1852 featuring a 16' x 24' TreeDeck! Come see what all the buzz is about! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins Illinois/Elizabethtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing