We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Never one to pass up the unique, I found this place while looking for cabins in Southern Illinois. First, the pictures online do it no justice. We stayed at the White Oak treehouse and it is awe-inspiring in person. The owners thought of everything you need in a great cabin and put that in a tree! Speaking of owners, they are warm and friendly, ready to assist as needed. It's so close to the Garden of the Gods and there's a swimming lake nearby.
One caveat, but not about the resort: bring your own food since this is country living and closest grocery store/restaurant is 30 minutes
away.
This place lets you remember what it was like to be a kid who could dream under the stars in a treehouse.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabeutell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

My family of five stayed in the White Oak Tree House and we were all completely amazed. The entire experience was unbelievable. This is a must do if you have kids or even if you just want to have your morning coffee in the the canopy. Marty and Elizabeth were fantastic guides and helped us navigate the area. The kids loved the Garden of the Gods, Rim Rock, Pounds Hollow Lake and the rope swing. The tree house has everything you need, including coffee and tea. There is a Super Wal-Mart about 20 miles away for cooking supplies. The area is very quiet and peaceful, overall just a lovely relaxing place to spend time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Seriously, if staying in a treehouse sounds like something you would like to do...you will want to check this place out. We planned this trip about about 4 months in advance and I'm sure you'll find you will need to do the same.

Upon arrival, we spoke with the female owner who was very friendly. She explained the basics. White Oak is the larger of the two treehouse's available, and the more secluded. We surprised our kids with this trip and they were so excited once they saw where we were staying!

There really is everything you need for your stay...bathroom with shower, two-burner cooktop, two beds in the loft plus a sofa which converts into a bed and wifi. Outside a hammock, two balconies, a tree swing and fire pit with chairs make it easy to relax a number of ways. You may even hear the cows or horses that live nearby.

Things you should know about the area: Be prepared and bring all the food you will need for the duration of your stay. We stayed two nights and planned on finding a dinner spot our second night. This was a mistake, as we spent a long day out hiking and exploring, so by the time we were ready for dinner we weren't interested in trying to find the one restaurant in the area, and instead made due with sandwiches.

When we return, we will bring more than enough food and we will book more than two nights!

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank Stefanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the White Oak treehouse with my husband and two young boys (ages 6 & 10). The treehouse was perfect! The treehouse was very well designed. My boys loved climbing the ladder to the loft. Outside, my boys loved the smiley face swing! We had everything we needed for a wonderful stay. During our stay, we used the grill and fire pit provided to make dinner and roast marshmallows. We played board games and went fishing at the owner's well stocked pond. We will be back again soon. We may try a cabin next time because they also looked very nice.
Recommendations if you stay..bring groceries, charcoal, lighter fluid, fishing bait, etc with you. (nearest store is approximately 25 min away) The TV channels are limited, so you may want to bring a couple DVDs in case the weather keeps you inside. Oh, and be sure to read and sign the treehouse's journal!! My kids and I really thought that was neat!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy_family2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Had a great time here with my partner. We stayed in Sassafras Ridge cabin for 2 nights. We were made to feel very welcome, and the owners really have thought of everything. If you want to cook all you need to bring is food and drink - silverware, plates, saucepans etc are all here.
I've lived in a city for 15 years, but grew up in the countryside - it was so nice to see so many stars at night for the first time in forever.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Spent 3 nights with my significant other and our dog in the smaller treehouse cabin. The outpost was quiet and laid back. The property is gorgeous and we had fun day adventures at nearby attractions (rim rock, garden of the gods, metropolis 1 hour away).

The treehouse was fully furnished and we had everything we needed. Although the price may seem a little steep, we saved money by cooking all our meals, and had a much better experience than staying at a traditional holiday inn.

The treehouse may not be for everyone, those with bad hips/knees may not appreciate the stair climb up and the ladder to the loft. But for those willing to make the trip it is very much worth it.

If you're headed to the area, even just for a night, this is most definitely the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BradySinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Our first trip to Timber Ridge was wonderful. Right in the heart of the Shawnee nat'l forest and conveniently located to the famous Garden of the Gods therein. Timber Ridge is well known for its treehouse cabins (and rightly so) but we stayed in the Sassafras cabin which is one of their standard cabins. Fantastic!! It is a true log cabin with all modern amenities. Beautiful and spotlessly clean interior with a rustic feel. Outstanding kitchen, bathroom (with claw foot tub,and shower), and living area. The upstairs contained two beds and a daybed. Each floor had ample climate control. The beds were quite comfy. Large quantity of wood nearby for fires in the firepit by the hammock and camping style chairs. Pet friendly! Extremely convenient. Truly a hassle free location. Elizabeth and her staff have thought of it all. All you have to do is show up! Bring all the food you want and cook and serve on the ware provided or drive a short distance to your favorite restaurant. I will be returning without a doubt!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank majburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins

Address: RR2 Box 34A, Near Karbers Ridge Road, Elizabethtown, IL 62931
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > Elizabethtown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Elizabethtown
Price Range: £96 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins is Illinois' 1st and only Tree House and Log Cabin resort. We are located in the Shawnee Hills/Illinois Ozarks region in southeastern Illinois. Enjoy luxurious accommodations in a pet and kid friendly resort atmosphere. Stay in an authentic Antique Log Cabin, Circa 1852 featuring a 16' x 24' TreeDeck! Come see what all the buzz is about! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Ridge Outpost & Cabins Illinois/Elizabethtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing