We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Elmhurst
Stafford, Virginia, United States
1 review
“As good as it gets”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Absolutely ZERO problems here. The staff was considerate, the room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. I had troubles navigating my way around the area so the staff memebers, Jessica and Michelle, took a lot time out to help me get to where I was going. There is something to be said about common courtesy! I recomend this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Charlene,

It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Chicago - Elmhurst. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. I'm so pleased that Jessica and Michelle were able to help you get around the area. It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    30
    19
    8
    14
See reviews for
19
15
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The rooms were very clean and comfy. All questions I had about the area were answered wonderfully by the staff. Betty was extremely knowledgeable. I loved that the rooms came with a fridge, microwave and stove top so that I was able to bring food and not have to always eat out. It was a great price and would totally recommend this hotel to my friends!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Chicago - Elmhurst. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I booked my room on Hotwire.com and this hotel offered an amazing two night rate. This hotel checkin was extremely late, 3:00PM. Once in the city I called the hotel to see if there was a early checkin, the reaponse was no. I then asked can I drop my bags off because I do not have a vehicle, the response was no and I was forced to carry my bags everywhere for 6 hours. Upon arriving to the hotel I was able to look at the website and was quite impressed with the pictures. After being allowed into my room I was so disappointed. The chair was filthy, the carpet was dirty, the bathroom sink knobs were loose, the remote control did not have a back on it and the 14in telivision color was horrible, and there was leftover food from T.G.I. Fridays in our refrigerator. This morning when I called down for fresh towels I was told to bring my used towels to the front desk and there I will receive fresh ones. I have never had this happen before!!!! I was furious because what type of service was being provided? I had no problem giving their towels back however they should have picked them up from my door and replaced those with fresh ones. I will never stay at an Extenend Stay Hotel ever again. This experience was by far the worst I have ever received staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyeshaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience. Providing for your total satisfaction, from the moment you arrive to the moment you depart, is my staff's primary duty. Hearing that we failed in your case is truly disheartening, and for that, I offer you my sincerest apology.

Please understand that maintain strict quality control standards, which demand that every room is inspected prior to making it available to our guests. Clearly there was a failure in our system during your stay. In response to your comments, I’ve personally met with all of our staff and used your review to demonstrate in which specific areas we can improve.

Let me assure you that your experience is certainly not typical, and that we have put in place measures to ensure that the type of stay you had won't be repeated. Again, I apologize and promise you that we are committed to your total satisfaction. If there is anything you would like to discuss further with me or our guest relations team, please don't hesitate to contact us by visiting our website and clicking on the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page. I do hope you will give us the honor of having you as a guest again if future travels will bring you into our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Elmhurst hotels

Madison
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Run don't walk away from this place. New manager " Jessica" and IT shows, the old manager Jim NEVER would allow this. Yellowed bedsheets, vomit in stairways left and never wiped up completely, beer bottles in elevator, burn holes in bedspreads, spilled macaroni never swept up, only swept into cracks of sidewalk, ripped up towels laying around in halls, cig. butts never picked or swept up

And to top it off some filthy old woman ( looks and smells like she is infested with lice) going through garbage.

Seedy looking guests knocking on other guests doors and asking for money, coffee, and milk.

If Joe isn't working, don't expect to find anyone at the front desk, young heavy black(?) girl too busy talking on phone with friends in back or sitting outside with guests, instead of tending to other guests needs. When she does come to the desk , very unprofessional chewing food while taking care of guest, food on front counter.

We in fact checked out and went to a different location and learned that there were several guests who thought the same as us who ended up leaving as well.

Room Tip: Marriot Residence Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherTM, Owner at Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Given our company's commitment to superior guest satisfaction, I was disheartened to read that your stay wasn't 100% satisfactory. Please understand how truly sorry I am.

The experience you described is truly regrettable. We strive to ensure that our guests have an exceptional stay. I can assure you that I have brought each of the issues you expressed to the attention of our staff.

We know that we didn’t get to be a member of America’s number one family of extended stay hotels over night; we did it by focusing on one customer at a time. We know that a totally satisfied customer is one who will come back and stay with us again. That is why we take your review so seriously. It reminds us that despite all of the regular praise we receive, we still have room to improve.

Although it is unusual for a guest to have the experience you did while staying with us, we would like to use your account to help us make our hotel even better. Again, I am deeply sorry that you did not have a completely enjoyable stay at our hotel, and I promise that we are focused on total guest satisfaction every day. I do hope that you will let me demonstrate our redoubled efforts in the future here or at any of Extended Stay Hotels(sm)' other locations throughout the U.S. and in Canada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

no frill hotel (convenient and close to where i has some business). not far from o'hare airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backtoGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

A/C froze up in the middle of the night, carpet dirty, smelled like a barn and they did not give me any compensation for the misery. Do not go here. Hotwire put me here when I asked for a 3-star NEAR O'Hare........not 10 miles away in the sticks.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ravenpac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Bedbugs in our first room and had to be moved to another room. The staff was not very accomodating about it and acted like it was our fault. They even charged us more money to move rooms. The hotel is very outdated and our feet were black from walking on the carpet. The bed was beyond horrible, the floor would be more comfortable. In all, it was a horrible experience.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mwoodil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elmhurst
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Chicago Elmhurst/Oakbrook Area
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chicago O'Hare South
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Elmhurst/Oakbrook Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Clarion Inn Waterford Convention Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Addison
4.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Chicago - Hillside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare

Property: Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare
Address: 550 W Grand Ave, Elmhurst, IL 60126-1031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Elmhurst
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Elmhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Extended Stay, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Extended Stay America - Chicago - Elmhurst - O'Hare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Elmhurst
Extended Stay Elmhurst
Elmhurst Extended Stay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing