We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Concept Great Place”
Review of The Ark

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matugama
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ark
Ranked #1 of 3 Matugama B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Concept Great Place”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Very easy drive on the new Galle Colombo Highway will bring you to the Ark. The access way was not all that great with a steep hill. But the drive is worth it. Superb view. Vey friendly staff. Great location to take great pics. There is room for 6 people at once. So you can go with friends and have the palce for yourself. I love the concept.

Food was very very good. Mr. Rajapakshe the chef was very good. If you are a person who preferes to do activities like walking around or hiking or whatever it may not be the best place. Also if you have small children it could be a bit dangerous as well.

Room Tip: The one right at the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NYSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArk_SriLanka1, Manager at The Ark, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
We thank you for your review, and are glad that you had a great time. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    7
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We booked Ark for 1 night for 4 adults in July 2012. The venue was beautiful and the views were breathtaking. Chef Rajapakse and his crew made sure we had everything we needed. We enjoyed authentic Sri Lankan food for lunch and a Western meal for dinner (Steak, Grilled Chicken with mash potatoes and veggies). In the morning we had string hoppers (yummy!). They had several types of dessert and plenty of fresh fruit (wattalapam, biscuit pudding, curd and treacle, ice cream, fruit salad, etc). The Chef has worked at the Cinnamon Lakeside Hotel in Colombo for more than 20 years, no wonder his dishes were top notch! He would ask us what we need for each meal ahead of time (we can ask for almost any type of food). The chef and the crew stays at a compound which is 100m from the ark, they bring all the meals from their compound up to the 3rd floor of the ark (dining area).

The swimming pool was clean when we arrived and the rooms were impeccable. Driving up the steep gravel road up to the ark was quite exciting, but for some people this maybe a daunting drive. There is a short hiking trail through the rubber trees. Although they say there are bugs inside the ark, we didn't have any problem with them. If we had more time, we would stay there longer. It was worth every penny. We'll definitely come back again when we visit Sri Lanka. Thanks!!!

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms (one room in each floor, the living room and pantry are in the 3rd floor). A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rose J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArk_SriLanka1, Manager at The Ark, responded to this review, 8 September 2012
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, and we are glad you enjoyed The Ark in all its completeness. We look forward to your future stay.

Thank you,
The Ark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

The only thing that was good about this place was the view and the Architecture. That I would have got from climbing a mountain.
No electricity on when we arrived. No backup Generator. No welcome drink. Dirty swimming pool, had not cleaned for along time. Did not have drinking water and had to be requested for. Drinks in minibar were not cool at all. Food was average on the first day. Breakfast was horrible on next day morning; only bread, butter & Jam and sausages. the bread was not even toast.
overall the experience was horrible. bug infested. though they have warned of insects, we did not expect it to be this worse.
Excellently built and architectured but very poorly maintained.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Madura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheArk_SriLanka1, Manager at The Ark, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Our sincere apologies on this bad experience.
Unfortunately we had a serious problem with the electricity cables been broken for three days due to heavy showers , and the back up generator also failed after three days of continous running.

We assure you the pool is cleaned on a daily basis, but as we had no power, we couldn’t operate the motors for the pool, and no electricity at The Ark to be prepared prior to arrival, as the repairs by the Electricity Board were being done on the day of arrival.

Your comments on service and food have been taken into consideration and the shortcomings addressed.

Again, our apologies for this experience, and please be assured we have taken steps to remedy the issues highlighted by you. We do value the feedback given by you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matugama
77.4 mi away
Madulkelle Tea and Eco Lodge
70.5 mi away
98 Acres Resort
98 Acres Resort
#1 of 11 in Ella
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
9.5 mi away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
104.5 mi away
Aliya Resort & Spa
Aliya Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Sigiriya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
106.5 mi away
Heritance Kandalama
Heritance Kandalama
#1 of 15 in Dambulla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,420 reviews
7.6 mi away
Dalmanuta Gardens - Ayurvedic Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ark

Property: The Ark
Address: Uthumgama | Dodampitiya, Matugama, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Region: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Matugama
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Matugama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ark is a unique 3 bedroom villa, built on the concepts of a watch hut. Located high upon a rubber estate , overlooking a deep valley it provides absolute privacy and quiet.An ideal location for a quick , relaxing get-away from the city, it is easily accessible within 45 minutes, traveling on the Southern Expressway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing