We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Mothers Day dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunedin Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Patrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mothers Day dinner”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I took my mum here for the Mothers Day 4 course champagne extravaganza and all I can say is I had one very chilled out, relaxed Mum by the end of it! She had had a really stressful time recently and this was just what she needed. The food was only half of the experience; the whole ambiance of the place is just so tranquil and beautiful and Helen and Simon and staff could not have made it a more relaxed, welcoming and wonderful experience. Four courses, preceeded with champagne and canapes to begin with in the bar £25 pp. Exceptional value. Bar prices were very very reasonable with a large glass of wine at £2.60, and diet coke at £1.20.Next time we are booking a room!!!!!!!

Room Tip: All of the 4 rooms on the net look beautiful but I think I would pick the one with the balcony to ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
57
4
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Having tried for some time to find suitable accomodation for my team in the Hull area I chanced upon Helen and the Dunedin Country House and I'm very glad i did.

Helen has been an absolutely fantastic host looking after my colleagues every need.

If you're on business in the area and looking for a home away from home then Dunedin is most definitely the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at Dunedin house for 3 nights in November 2012. The house has been lovingly restored and our room (the Pink Room), which was spotlessly clean, was no exception with every little detail considered. We loved the cast iron bath, the huge shower and the bed which was extremely comfortable - some of the best few nights sleep we've had! Helen was a brilliant host and her vegetarian breakfasts deserve a mention in particular - we were so well catered for, we couldn't have asked for more! There are some lovely places around here to visit and Helen was very informative about the local area - we spent days out in Beverley and at Spurn Point, both of which are well worth a visit and were greeted by a cosy log fire on our return, which was a great touch.
Dunedin House was like a home away from home and we would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca_Ashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at the Dunedin for 1 night 17/2/13 in the Gold room. The room was stunning just like the rest of the house. The house has been restored tastefully and with love. The cast iron bath was lush and could have happily stayed in there for hours! The room was spotlessly clean and warm. We slept very well and the bed was very comfy and the linens were good quality. Breakfast was served in a lovely bright, pretty room and the food was yummy! Helen the host and staff were all super friendly and welcoming. We had a wonderful relaxing stay and will certainly be back in the near future! Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowrache29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Simon and Helen were great hosts and added to making this stay so special. During our time there we didn't bump into or see another guest during the two days that we were there. Each morning we went down for breakfast there was a coal fire waiting for us. In the evening we retired to the study again with a lovely coal fire, selection of books and wide variety of music for us to choose from and relax too. It was just like we had the place to ourselves despite us being informed that they were fully booked. Helen gave us lots of great information about the history of the building and they've done great things with the place in the little time they have owned it. We would definitely stay there again and fully intend to bring more people with us next time.

Room Tip: The weather was very cold and as it's such a big house it's difficult to keep warm which mea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxfordMrB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Dunedin Country House, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
It was a pleasure to make your stay so enjoyable. You will be glad to hear that we are in the process of adding additional radiators and thermal blinds to the bedrooms which will ensure they are toasty warm! We also now have a fully stocked bar in the Old Dining Room with Chesterfields to relax into in front of the fire. A big thank you for the chocolates, they were a lovely, unexpected treat............ we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The building is nicely renovated with good fittings and curtains etc. Both public areas and bedroom were spotlessly clean. We had a small problem with the toilet flush, but it worked eventually. We stayed two nights and arrived at about 3pm. The room was colder than we like and we decided to eat early so that our room would be warm on our return. It wasn’t, however after a telephone call to Helen she brought an electric heater along with a couple of sloe gins to warm us up, nice touch. Shower was a little disappointing as we like a power shower, but bath was lovely. As there is no attended Reception Desk, communication with Helen is via mobile telephone, this includes on arrival if the door bell is not answered.
Good cooked breakfast, freshly cooked apart from my sausage on the second morning which had been cooked long before it was served. Very nice crockery and table linen.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Dunedin Country House, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
We were really disappointed to read your review and send you our apologies for the faults you had found. The weekend of your stay was extremely cold with minus temperatures, we work very hard to ensure rooms are as warm as possible, with original sash windows and tall ceilings it is difficult when the temperatures drop so low. We responded within 5 minutes of your call to say your were cold with a fan heater and our home made sloe gin (of which I do not part with easily!) to warm you up inside and out! We run our family home as a small bed and breakfast, therefore there is no reception desk as you would find in most hotels. Im glad you liked our crockery, its one of our favourite things, especially our Royal Albert Gold Teaspoons (I'm sure the tea tastes better stirred with these!) We would love to have you stay with us again and enjoy our freshly cooked breakfasts. Helen X
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed in this hotel in August 2012 and had a lovely time. Helen was a great host and accomdated our needs well. We travelled with a poorly 17 month old baby and as he was poorly he was particluarly picky at breakfast but nothing was too much trouble for Helen she catered to his whims and kept him very happy in turn made us happy parents. As this hotel had only been open for 4 weeks they were still experiencing teething problems. We stayed in the pink room and we had a few teething problems such as the toilet wouldnt flush and the bath hadnt been fitted with the taps, but there is a fab shower so this wasnt a problem and when the bath taps are fitted the room will be stunning. As Helen has her own children she asked if we wanted a travel cot for our little one which we accepted as this meant more room in the car, the travel cot was set up when we arrived and bedding also supplied which was well laundred and fresh. The breakfast was excellent and the grounds were stunning as we ate our breakfast over looking the garden. We will definatley be returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in the pink room was well presented and well decorated. I would opt to stay in the gold r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylou_mrtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patrington
8.9 mi away
Kingstown Hotel
Kingstown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hedon
219 reviews
13.9 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
573 reviews
18.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,068 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Haylofts
#3 of 3 in Patrington
1 reviews
8.6 mi away
Paull Holme Farm B&B
Paull Holme Farm B&B
#1 of 2 in Paull
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Country House

Property: Dunedin Country House
Address: 40 Westgate, Patrington HU12 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Patrington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Patrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunedin Country House. We offer you the warmest welcome; come and discover a hidden jewel of Holderness. Our family owned and run business is dedicated to offering you the very best experience. Set in beautifully landscaped gardens, Dunedin Country House is the perfect venue for that country break. All our bedrooms are en-suite and each is unique in character and furnished to the highest standard. Our function rooms have beautiful fireplaces to laze away the winter afternoons, teamed with original features and amazing views over the lawned Victorian garden and across the fields to the River Humber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunedin Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing