We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunedin Country House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dunedin Country House
Ranked #1 of 3 Patrington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our Wedding night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We had our whole wedding day at Dunedin country house and also stayed the night in the purple and gold room.
The room was spotless and furnished to a very high standard.
It is the best hotel room I have ever stayed in, knocks socks off a Marriott and Hilton room.!
Thank you for the perfect end to a perfect day!!
Will defiantly be coming back.
Thanks xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryAnn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
56
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Could not fault this exceptionally beautiful country house hotel with wonderful amazingly furnished spotlessly clean bedrooms. The welcome was enthusiastic and genuine. This place is the best I have ever stayed in. The breakfast was delicious and very fresh. The grounds were peaceful and beautifully landscaped. This place is perfection at its best. Helen you are a star - well done on your creation!!

Room Tip: We had the gold room it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanne082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The venue was outstanding , beautiful rooms with excellent views , Helen was helpful in every way possible adding personal touches made it worthwhile . Was one of the nicest weddings ive been to and staying overnight was a treat with all the luxuries to hand , my family and i would definately stay here again , thankyou Helen and her team .

Room Tip: We stayed in the pink room which had outstanding views looking onto the front gardens .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy290720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The beautiful newly refurbished country house was the chosen wedding venue of my brother in law and his new wife. My husband and I and four of our children had the privilege of spending two nights in the ivory room which was immaculately clean, stylishly decorated and comfortable. The wedding was perfect in every way with the house and grounds serving as an ideal luxury retreat- providing sumptuous hotel boutique chic feel rooms with traditional decor with modern conveniences. The manager Helen goes out of her way to make guests feel looked after, valued and at home. The personal touch makes guests feel at ease and Helen got to know us all by name . The Food and service was 5 star, we were not waiting at any time at all to be served and the breakfasts were hot and delicious using fine quality produce. Helen was always at hand and eager to help with anything at all. If over the stay I needed anything for my young children aged 1 and 3, I only had to ask and it would be provided as priority. The food served at the wedding was simply yummy- especially the mouthwatering white chocolate and fresh rasberry cheesecake! I'm still craving it!! I look forward to going back to Dunedin in the near future (maybe without the kids this time ) ;)

Room Tip: the red room and gold room have beautiful big bathtubs the ivory room is bigger but only has a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Shame they have no staff as we would have liked a nightcap in the cozy bar, but it was closed. It is a work in progress but the open parts are very nice, the rooms are nice but the bed we had was like a plank so sleep was bad. Never saw a dinner menu due to no one being around so we had pub grub in the hildyard inn which was fine. It is a nice place though and I am sure it will turn into great venue once the works are completed and jthey are fully up and running. Handy for local sightseeing. Nice village in a nice area. The gardens are also very nice to sit and enjoy the sunshine. Worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeCuthbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed one night at this lovely hotel,definitely wished it had been for longer. We were fortunate to be upgraded to the gold room with all its comforts especially the huge bath. Every need was catered for and Helen was really helpful with local knowledge. Excellent breakfast, will be back soon for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Dunedin was saved from the brink by the present owners and they are to be congratulated on their continuing efforts.
The country house was quiet, stylish and a great value boutique hotel. Our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and well appointed. Good quality linens and bathroom sets were provided. The ongoing expansion/refurbishment of the old building did not mean noise or inconvenience. If those refurbished areas have a similar style then the completed building will maintain its reputation to be a great place to use as base for touring the area. Other things to highlight - a lovely garden with patio chairs in the shade, a comfortable and atmospheric bar, ample parking,an excellent breakfast and low-key service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jervaulx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Patrington
13.9 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#1 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
8.9 mi away
Kingstown Hotel
Kingstown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hedon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
19.4 mi away
Lazaat
Lazaat
#1 of 1 in Cottingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hotel
Premier Inn Hull City Centre Hot...
#2 of 17 in Kingston-upon-Hull
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
21.7 mi away
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Weighton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Haylofts
#3 of 3 in Patrington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunedin Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunedin Country House

Property: Dunedin Country House
Address: 40 Westgate, Patrington HU12 0NB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Patrington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Patrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dunedin Country House. We offer you the warmest welcome; come and discover a hidden jewel of Holderness. Our family owned and run business is dedicated to offering you the very best experience. Set in beautifully landscaped gardens, Dunedin Country House is the perfect venue for that country break. All our bedrooms are en-suite and each is unique in character and furnished to the highest standard. Our function rooms have beautiful fireplaces to laze away the winter afternoons, teamed with original features and amazing views over the lawned Victorian garden and across the fields to the River Humber. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunedin Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing