We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Moreleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best steak in Devon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were recommended to go by a friend who is a regular who know we love good steaks and we werent disappointed and have been back 4 times in the last month and have taken other friends who are now hooked.

The menu is short and definately for the meat eaters with a few exceptions but everything we have tried has been top quality.
For starters I can definately recommend a prawn cocktail or scampi as a balance to the main course sirloin or fillet amazing.

All mains come with fried onions and mushrooms naughty but very nice!!!.

Also the pub has a great atmosphere and quality staff - First class great casual dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cjulie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    18
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Go for the Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We were recommended to this pub by a local shopkeeper who is a regular customer. He said "go for the steak" so we did.

As previously mentioned, the menu is very short but there is no fault in that unless you want designer food or are strictly vegetarian. They do what they do and they do it excellently.

We shared a prawn cocktail which was traditional, generous on prawns, slightly too generous on sauce for my taste but that is personal.

My partner chose the rump steak and I had the sirloin which was thickly cut, beautifully cooked medium rare as i had asked, with a delicious grilled stripey caramelisation.which added to the flavour. the accompaniments were very large portions - mushrooms, fried onions, chips and peas, i could have done with less and would certainly prefer the peas cooked without sugar which I suspect they were. It was a no frills meal but well worth it.

There was a very good selection of local ice-creams and sorbets but we shared a piece of home-made very lemony cheesecake which was creamy and delicious.

The landlord was extremely friendly as were the two waitresses.

We would certainly recommend this pub; on a wet Wednesday evening in January the place was full and we took the last table.

Carnivores should bother to make the trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our annual best meal of the year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Our family have been going to The New Inn for many years, after being recommended, while on holiday, without fail we have at least 3 or 4 meals, out of the whole fortnight, of our holiday down there. The steak is to die for, and the service is second to none, in fact all other steak restaurants cannot compare. Keep up the good work!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for steaks and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

The New Inn never fails to impress. Great simple food, never fussy, never badly prepared. The atmosphere was really good, very christmassy. If you are looking for big choice, fresh fish and veggie meals then don't bother. If you are a meal eater then it will be great for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missiemou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“traditional pub steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

the pub is quite hard to find but it is worth the journey. the menu is short, rump steak and chips was the obivious favourite. prawn cocktail or pate to start, there is a choice of about 5 or 6 items for each course. the wine list is limited but a fair range and fair prices. real real ale, the barrel is in the bar! very friendly service and a warm fire. do not sit at the table next to the fire unless you like heat. the front room has a better atmosphere than the back, but is often crowded at weekends. we will be returning.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Rowland W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Blackawton, Dartmouth
 
Blackawton, Dartmouth
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing