We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway in Portobello area”
Review of Bambu Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Lindo
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bambu Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Puerto Lindo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The guest house is lovely situated and the rooms are beautiful. The garden is huge and has a nice patio. The upstairs area is great with amazing views. There are lots of birds and we heard howler monkeys very close by. Be aware that there is hardly any phone connection and no wifi, which was not a problem for us. However the outside areas are in dire need of maintenance and a good cleaning. A lot of the wiring and lights need to be replaced, the cushions of the various couches need to be cleaned and some of the couches need to be repaired or replaced.
I would suggest the owners to supply their guests with flash lights (or bring your own) because if you go from the upstairs terrace to one of the back rooms, you hardly see anything in the dark.
Despite of the improvement needed, the place is beautiful and relaxing.
Restaurants close by and recommended are Hans' restaurant (Casa X) and Don Quixote.

Room Tip: The room with the view to the ocean has a king bed, airco and is the biggest room. It has a connecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fhr1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Very relaxing cabana type house on the edge of the rainforest, with howler monkeys in clear view, passing toucans and other wildlife..Stayed here for a week, which was a bit too long given the limited options in the area. It worked for us since we had a car and drove just about every day. There is less and less to see the further you go up the cost away from Portobello, but the area is beautiful.

The hosts were lovely and helpful, and we had breakfast made for us every morning, though after a week we were tired of the little variation. They can arrange tours for you from the village below (Puerto Lindo), but you don't want to see anything there. It is a very small squalid fishing village with really nowhere worthwhile going to, except for one little restaurant owned by an American.

We got lost in the rainforest for four hours by taking our own tour, which was very challenging, but ultimately the best part of our trip. Take the tour unless you are rugged.

No Wifi or TV, but that's why you go there. There are several restaurants back towards Portobello that you can catch up at for wireless.

Be sure to go to Isla Mamey and Isla Grande - each has very different charms.

Room Tip: Back room with two doors is the most relaxing and opens to the rainforest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very nice, secluded place, we had a great time and highly recommend it. We arrived and there was no power because a power line pole had collapsed, but we were able to shower with rain water instead. The water tank needs power to run the pump.
There are 2 rooms facing the bay and another facing the back jungle. Both have a small porch with seating. We slept well, the bed was nice.
We had issues with the wifi, we thought it was advertised with wifi but seemed to be a huge issue with the host and was only for them to run the reservations. But they were away and we were able to use it in their absence, so we had lots of privacy and quiet. They do have a small child, but we are not sure they live there all the time.
Overall a very nice option if you visit the area. We liked it a bit better than Portobello, and we think the bay was prettier here, but there are fewer services in Puerto Lindo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellingsloths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Bambu Guest House when we were in Panama. It is a beautiful place! The decor is right on the line between rustic and elegant. If you are looking for a place that is secluded and off the beaten path, this is just the solution.

The caretakers, Alex and Carla were VERY warm and helpful. We came in to Portobelo via boat. They arranged a driver to come an pick us up.

Breakfast is a real treat. The food is good, however, the atmosphere may be even better. The dining area is an open-air patio located on the second floor. From the patio, you're able to see a view of Puerto Lindo bay. While eating, we were also able to watch the howler monkeys frolic in the trees. Great experience!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We didn't actually stay overnight because we were unfortunately booked in another hotel, but just stopped by for a look for future trips. The place is situated on a beautiful bluff overlooking the sea, with a cooling breeze blowing. We stayed for something to drink and chatted with the friendly Dutch hosts and felt it would be the best choice to stay in the Portobello area. Explorations into other hotels were not so pleasing.

Room Tip: Cannot respond as we did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RudyPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The open view bar/dining upstairs overlooking the sea and 2 tropical Islands is really a view worth staying at this lovely guesthouse. Also amazing was chilling out in hammocks in the back garden seeing howler monkeys en tropical birds passing by.

The management is very helpful, make great food and have great tips on what to do in the area and in the rest of Panama.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RubenB79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We spend one night here, and arrived here from Panama City by rental car(2 hrs drive).

Being the only guests here, we had a choice of rooms.
The rooms have all the bare necessities, bathroom, A/C, double bed and fans.
We had a room at the backside, which stays cool in the afternoon(advice from the caretakers Blossom and Sean).
There was a nice veranda with hammocks and chairs in front of the room to relax.
It is a very quiet location and charmingly decorated.

In the evening we had some cold beers and good conversations with Sean and Blossom and a excellent breakfast made by Blossom in the morning.

From here you can walk to the shore where you can get a boat to Isla Mamey and Isla Grande. And some restaurants nearby, all very low key though.

Room Tip: Frontside has bigger bed, backside stays cooler and has a big veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bambu Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Guest House

Address: Calle Principal, Puerto Lindo 0507, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Puerto Lindo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lindo
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing