We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“scary”

Hostel Puerto Lindo
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Puerto Lindo
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“scary”
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I was silly to not check the date of the previous reviews before booking into this hostel.

I didn't end up staying here as first impressions scared me right off.

First of all Puerto Lindo is not a safe place and I would only recommend going if you are catching a yacht from there to Colombia. While we were there a couple got mugged at gunpoint in the middle of the day while walking between Puerto Lindo and Isla Grande.

We arrived at this hostel after a couple of interesting but fun bus rides from Panama City. After walking through the town past some very shady characters (only men sitting around the village) we were greeted by a silent, gangster looking man who politely showed us to the rooms but said next to nothing. The private room hadn't been cleaned and looked like it hadn't been used in ages. The dorm room was okay but the place was absolutely deserted. The man did not ask us for our names or any identification. There was nowhere to get food or anything and we thought it would be a depressing and scary couple of nights before we caught our yacht. We decided to leave and luckily found Wunderbar up the road, brilliant in comparison.

There are no real food options in Puerto Lindo though and no wifi - things to think about before you go.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siân E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chitre
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

The price is at 7 dollars and its near the waters edge. Cool hammock area ,the balcony is perfect for people viewing and beer drinking.The owner is a nice chap which helps as well.
Kayak rental too!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Alvaro (the owner) is a great, nice, friendly and helpfull person !
It was really nice to stay 4 days at his hostel !
It was the begining of the opening of the hostel! There were great facilities !
I had a really great time there !
Good luck Alvaro and thank you for everything :-)
Take care and see you soon !
Nath
xxx

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nath2584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cartagena, Colombia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2011

all very good, very cheap $ 7, very nice place I recommend

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mery c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hostel Puerto Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Puerto Lindo

Property: Hostel Puerto Lindo
Address: | Puertol Lindo, Puerto Lindo 507, Panama
Region: Panama > Colon Province > Puerto Lindo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Lindo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Puerto Lindo is situated in the center of Puerto Lindo town, in front of the bay, it was specifically designed to backpacker and to make a nice adventure out of your trip.We opened recently but we already offer several activities, we rent a very competitive prices kayaks and snorkel equipment .P.L.`s bay is surrounded with monkeys inhabited islands which you can reach easily by kayak or even swim for the most sportive ones.P.L. is a happy, nice peaceful Caribbean village, with some festivals that have music at every corner. People here are very friendly and educated towards tourists.The hostel is equipped with 20 beds which are distributed in dormitories and private rooms. There is also a common area and a kitchen at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Puerto Lindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing