We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party Time”
Review of Maunsel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maunsel House
Ranked #1 of 1 North Newton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Yet another fabulous party weekend thanks to a wonderful host and brilliant staff. Maunsel really is a special place, not least at 5am accompanied by a bottle of Dalwhinnie and one or two very special friends! Many thanks for a memorable and highly enjoyable occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rocketmanchich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
There are newer reviews for Maunsel House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Another great trip to Maunsel, something keeps pulling us back there. The generosity of the host and the exciting new developments all encourage a fresh view of a wonderful stay. There cannot be many stately venues where you can park a helicopter within 50 yards of the entrance door and compete with the attention given to other super marque vehicles. The food is genuinely good and the specially brewed Maunsel House beer is a real treat after a good walk across the estate grounds. It is hardly a surprise that more luxurious accommodation is currently being completed with the help of London interior designers Colefax and Fowler.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robbie520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at Maunsel House on the weekend of 10/11 May and had a 'perfect stay' . From the moment that we arrived until leaving on Sunday we were wonderfully looked after by Sir Ben and his excellent staff who went the extra mile to , seemlessly, to make the stay so rewarding. There is nowhere like it in the Westcountry, a unique experience which I could not recommend more highly . A big thank you to Sir Ben and all his team

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I returned to Maunsel for another weekend and had a fantastic time yet again. The food and drink were exceptional and if you are a real ale drinker then you have to try their own Maunsel Ale. Some expansion has been occurring and new luxury bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms should be finished quite soon. I had a quiet snoop and they look like they will be great for those who want a little more privacy, although you will have to share your garden with baby goslings, peacocks and guniea fowl. The collection of small arms in the bar still provides for some amusing photos. I will return again.

Room Tip: When they are ready, try the new rooms, or take one of the secluded cottages in the grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JWDWesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Maunsel House is such a fantastic experience, good service, good food, fine wines and an absolutely idyllic setting. All the trappings of a real traditional country house. It is a unique experience, we absolutely loved it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

You don’t need to be in The Sunday Times Rich List to feel like a Millionaire, just spend two days at Maunsel House and be treated to feel like a Millionaire. It is a unique stay in a beautiful location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Maunsel House is simply perfect as venue for weddings and other parties. Brimming with quirky character in every room and every bedroom. We had our wedding weekend there in April 2014 and there isn't one thing we would change. The number of guests who said its the best venue they have ever been to for such an event staggering. What I loved was the relaxed nature the venue management adopted with us about their venue. Kids running around with nowhere off limits, none of the amazing artefacts around the place put under scrutiny, and you are even encouraged to use the [decommissioned] guns, hats and costumes to enhance your party atmosphere.
Saskia was our wedding organiser and i can not emphasise enough just how brilliant she was. Communication, efficiency, friendliness all totally first class. Saskia also provided us with a list of some recommended suppliers for the various parts to the wedding, every single one we used performed brilliantly.
Maunsel also has 4 lodges within its vast grounds, each one them is wonderfully appointed and we had use of all them.
If you are considering a Somerset Wedding venue or a country house venue, then look no further, Maunsel is simply perfect on every level, you or your guests will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Kings Room which is the bridal suit has to be seen to be believed, its stunning. But there isn...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leeperry38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Newton
1.6 mi away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
253 reviews
6.2 mi away
Brookfield House
Brookfield House
#1 of 17 in Taunton
394 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
662 reviews
6.4 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5 Jct 25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maunsel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maunsel House

Address: Maunsel House Maunsel Road, North Newton TA7 0BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Newton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in North Newton
Price Range: £116 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maunsel House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maunsel House is a magnificent 13th-century manor set in 100 acres of stunning parkland at the heart of a sprawling 2,000 acre estate, comprising of farms, woodlands, walnut groves, orchards, Somerset wetlands, cottages and ancient barns. Maunsel is primarily a luxury weddings and events venue. Exclusively yours for the duration of your stay, with no restrictions on how you wish to celebrate. Maunsel has 13 exquisite bedrooms, all with their own story to tell and character and some with antique four poster beds. At Maunsel we also have 4 glorious cottages, all fully furnished to the highest of standards. At Maunsel you cannot book individual rooms, instead you can hire the whole house and cottages for your use. The cottages are available for mid week holiday breaks - so should you be after a relaxing getaway we have just the place for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maunsel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maunsel House Hotel Taunton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing